Rating:
10
Slayer - Reign In Blood
7 October 1986


01. Angel Of Death
02. Piece By Piece
03. Necrophobic
04. Altar Of Sacrifice
05. Jesus Saves
06. Criminally Insane
07. Reborn
08. Epidemic
09. Postmortem
10. Raining Blood
11. Aggressive Perfector [1998 Re-release bonus]
12. Criminally Insane [remix version] [1998 Re-release bonus]


The greatest metal record of all time. This topic is often debated upon in the Metal Kingdom and to most there is no definite answer. A worthy contender for this title is Slayer's 1986 masterpiece, Reign In Blood. Few albums withstand the test of time as well and even fewer have had such a huge impact on the metal world as this one.

The opening track is the legendary 'Angel of Death' and starts things off with a scream. Tom Araya's voice is at it venomous peak having shed the "I have no testicles" sound of their earlier releases. He shouts gruesome lyrics, song after song with such serial killer conviction it sends chills down your spine upon first listening. The speed in which the vocals are delivered makes for a fun along with the lyric book, that is of course until you learn all the songs word for word.

Kerry King and Jeff Hanneman have crafted some of the most brutal guitar riffs in history. These riffs reach super-sonic speeds while never compromising their heaviness. King and Hanneman may not be the most technically dazzling players in the world, but their solos in Reign In Blood are nothing short of awesome. In 'Necrophobic', 'Jesus Saves', and 'Raining Blood' you would swear you were hearing animals being slaughtered in front of you and can practically feel King's fingers stabbing your skull each time he hits the fret board, not typical metal solos by any means.

The key element to Slayer has always been Dave Lombardo's stellar drum work. His amazing drum fills had already been demonstrated in the past ['Chemical Warfare'] but Reign In Blood shows that Lombardo is the double bass pedal master! Look no further than his spectacular drum solo at the end of 'Angel of Death' as proof. His uncanny ability to garner such pummeling momentum, and then slow down and create such a groove on the cymbals [the breakdown of 'Altar of Sacrifice' and intro of 'Criminally Insane'] is remarkable. Not to mention he is FAST AS HELL......I pity his snare.

With a running time of 28 minutes, listening to Reign In Blood is like a quick kick in the nuts and is guaranteed to knock the wind out of you. While it may not be the greatest metal record of all time, it is without a doubt the greatest Thrash record. Reign In Blood's content and brutality shocked the world in 1986 and is the basis for what would become Death Metal. ALL bands in extreme music today owe something to Slayer and this album.


Band profile: Slayer
Album: Reign In Blood


 


written by Edible Autopsy | 24.09.2003


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Stuart

Rating:
9.2
Where does one begin reviewing an album with as much hype and influence as this? An album branded as revolutionary and with such a fanatical following. It is always going to be a difficult task, so I ask that for a moment we forget the hype surrounding this album and we look at the musical value it holds.

Reign in Blood was in many ways a brave new world for Slayer. It had a completely different sound to anything before it; they abandoned all the pretentiousness of the long, drawn out, complex song structures they had experimented with on Haunting the Chapel and Hell Awaits. In this, it was far more accessible, yet they didn't sacrifice any of their integrity or alienate any of their core fan base. Their intention was quite clear, that this was to be the fastest, heaviest, angriest music ever to be unleashed on human ears.

Read more ››
published 04.04.2008 | Comments (17)

Guest review by
Mindheist

Rating:
4.5
For more than a decade, Slayer has proudly fused thrash and speed metal into loud, offering doomish dirges, voraciously boisterous and blasphemous songs groaning over lyrics that depict madness, suicide and murder in excess, a style which should definetly suit a ten-year-old metalhead. On October 7, 1986, Slayer released what was to become their masterpiece, "Reign In Blood". An album discribed by Kerrang! Magazine as "the heaviest album of all time" and peaked at number 22 on Metal Storm's "top 100 albums of all time" survey, a position that only "the crème de la crème" bands could get. Believe me, reviewing a very popular album from a very popular band isn't easy at all, but sometimes justice must be done.

Read more ››
published 14.08.2008 | Comments (186)



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 59  
Users visited: 217  
Search this topic:  


Timelord - 08.10.2008 at 13:15  
I remember picking up Reign in Blood about 2 weeks after it was released. I already owned Haunting the Chapel,Live Undead and Hell Awaits. I was eagerly waiting for the new Slayer album. First time I played it I was hooked. Angel of Death was the ultimate metal song I had ever heard. From that day forward RIB has never been absent from my playlists.

For those of you who were not around in 86 there was nothing to compare RIB to. Some folks now think the record is overrated. That 1 release changed the face of metal and separated the true headbangers from the posers.(threw that word in for nostalgia purposes)Now there are thousands of releases to choose from. RIB is rip roaring good. It influenced alot of the bands most of you listen to nowadays. Lets not forget that thrash/speed metal was still in its infancy stage. I know some folks won't like it and thats cool. People have different opinions and they should. But give credit where its do. RIB is the sperm that fertilized the Death Metal egg. Slayer is still going strong!!
ioannisk - 30.10.2008 at 23:01  
I was vote number 666!!!!!
dreammetal - 08.03.2009 at 03:47  
Way too overrated. It's not better than real masterpieces like Master of Puppets, Ride the lightning, Powerslave, Painkiller and Paranoid. Not even close to be the best
Deadmeat - 09.03.2009 at 13:00  
Written by dreammetal on 08.03.2009 at 03:47

Way too overrated. It's not better than real masterpieces like Master of Puppets, Ride the lightning, Powerslave, Painkiller and Paranoid. Not even close to be the best

Reign In Blood is a thrash metal album, those you've mentioned are heavy except Metallica which albums are also heavy but have 3-4 thrash songs! So Reign In Blood in THRASH is a great album!
dreammetal - 15.03.2009 at 07:04  
Written by Deadmeat on 09.03.2009 at 13:00

Written by dreammetal on 08.03.2009 at 03:47

Way too overrated. It's not better than real masterpieces like Master of Puppets, Ride the lightning, Powerslave, Painkiller and Paranoid. Not even close to be the best

Reign In Blood is a thrash metal album, those you've mentioned are heavy except Metallica which albums are also heavy but have 3-4 thrash songs! So Reign In Blood in THRASH is a great album!


I understand your point but i was referring to the review. It says
"The greatest metal record of all time." Of course it is not. There are many other trash metal album e.g. Rust In Peace that are much much better than Reign in blood, Actually I agree with the 3rd review which says it has only 2 good songs jaja
Deadmeat - 15.03.2009 at 09:06  
Written by dreammetal on 15.03.2009 at 07:04

Written by Deadmeat on 09.03.2009 at 13:00

Written by dreammetal on 08.03.2009 at 03:47

Way too overrated. It's not better than real masterpieces like Master of Puppets, Ride the lightning, Powerslave, Painkiller and Paranoid. Not even close to be the best

Reign In Blood is a thrash metal album, those you've mentioned are heavy except Metallica which albums are also heavy but have 3-4 thrash songs! So Reign In Blood in THRASH is a great album!


I understand your point but i was referring to the review. It says
"The greatest metal record of all time." Of course it is not. There are many other trash metal album e.g. Rust In Peace that are much much better than Reign in blood, Actually I agree with the 3rd review which says it has only 2 good songs jaja

the "before 90's" thrash metal wasn't melodic. i find metallica in some albums heavier than megadeth. megadeth are very melodic or at least much more than slayer, kreator, destruction etc. i dont call them thrash. they may sometimes play a bit fast, but the feeling of their music is not aggressive as thrash should be...
K†ulu - 15.03.2009 at 09:22  
Written by dreammetal on 08.03.2009 at 03:47

the "before 90's" thrash metal wasn't melodic. i find metallica in some albums heavier than megadeth. megadeth are very melodic or at least much more than slayer, kreator, destruction etc. i dont call them thrash. they may sometimes play a bit fast, but the feeling of their music is not aggressive as thrash should be...

you mean Megadeth are not thrash, right? Cause I have the same feeling. KIMB was thrash, but then Peace Sells... heavy metal for me, So Far So Good... heavy metal, then Rust in Peace is thrash... and then you know.
Deadmeat - 15.03.2009 at 11:59  
Written by K†ulu on 15.03.2009 at 09:22

Written by dreammetal on 08.03.2009 at 03:47

the "before 90's" thrash metal wasn't melodic. i find metallica in some albums heavier than megadeth. megadeth are very melodic or at least much more than slayer, kreator, destruction etc. i dont call them thrash. they may sometimes play a bit fast, but the feeling of their music is not aggressive as thrash should be...

you mean Megadeth are not thrash, right? Cause I have the same feeling. KIMB was thrash, but then Peace Sells... heavy metal for me, So Far So Good... heavy metal, then Rust in Peace is thrash... and then you know.

even rust in peace imo cannot be called "pure thrash".. also the vocals of megadeth remind me much more some heavy metal vocals than thrash.

pm: you did a wrong quote
K†ulu - 15.03.2009 at 12:14  
Written by Deadmeat on 15.03.2009 at 11:59

Written by K†ulu on 15.03.2009 at 09:22

Written by dreammetal on 08.03.2009 at 03:47

the "before 90's" thrash metal wasn't melodic. i find metallica in some albums heavier than megadeth. megadeth are very melodic or at least much more than slayer, kreator, destruction etc. i dont call them thrash. they may sometimes play a bit fast, but the feeling of their music is not aggressive as thrash should be...

you mean Megadeth are not thrash, right? Cause I have the same feeling. KIMB was thrash, but then Peace Sells... heavy metal for me, So Far So Good... heavy metal, then Rust in Peace is thrash... and then you know.

even rust in peace imo cannot be called "pure thrash".. also the vocals of megadeth remind me much more some heavy metal vocals than thrash.

pm: you did a wrong quote

I'm abusing the system

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Slayer - Reign In Blood Live: Still Reigning 7 29.06.2006 by
Reviews Slayer - Reign In Blood 7 06.04.2008 by Doc Godin
Reviews Slayer - Reign In Blood 7 18.08.2008 by pdepmcp
Albums Slayer - Reign In Blood 6 11.05.2010 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Slayer - World Painted Blood 5.5 11.11.2009 by iMorphball



Hits total: 14152 | This month: 155