Rating:
10
Iron Maiden - Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son
11 April 1988


Disc I
01. Moonchild
02. Infinite Dreams
03. Can I Play With Madness
04. The Evil That Men Do
05. Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son
06. The Prophecy
07. The Clairvoyant
08. Only The Good Die Young

Disc II [1995 reissue bonus CD]
01. Black Bart Blues
02. Massacre
03. Prowler 88
04. Charlotte The Harlot 88
05. Infinite Dreams [live]
06. The Clairvoyant [live]
07. The Prisoner [live]
08. Killers [live]
09. Still Life [live]


You're probably wondering why I wrote a review of an almost twenty year old album; the answer is quite simple: because it is my absolute favourite album and one of the best Heavy-Metal-albums of all time. "Seventh Son..." was the last album that was recorded with Adrian Smith until 2000's "Brave New World." It's a concept album telling the story of a gifted child, a so called "seventh son of a seventh son," and how his gift carries with it many burdens and problems. The concept itself is not what carries the album but it adds a different touch to the lyrics and surely the music as well.

In my opinion this is the band in its finest moment and everyone is performing at the top of their abilities. The vocals are Mr. Dickinson's absolute best and he showcases his wide spectrum very well during the eight songs. We've got the aggressive tone in "Moonchild," the rockier voice in "Can I Play With Madness" and his operatic vocal style is of course present in pretty much every song. As for the guitarists, they've written some of their most memorable riffs and solo's and it is all classic Maiden. Expect some really fast guitar-harmonies and melodic solo's to get stuck in your head for some time. Every single song on the album is worth a 10 compared to any other music out there though "The Prophecy" is worth a 9 by Maiden-standards.

Steve Harris is as always the main writer on the album. His bass-playing is at a perfect level in the mix and it really adds a new dimension when the bass is as distinguishable as it is with Maiden. You can always hear his regular galloping-rythm in the background. Nicko plays tight as always and finishes off the slight progressive touch of the album with his varied drumming, just listen to "Infinite Dreams" and you'll see what I mean.

I rate the lyrics on "Seventh Son..." as their best ever not only because of the thoughtful, deep and uplifting meaning but also because of how they are put together. Everything is very poetic and it's very easy to relate to for anyone. I have to hand it to Bruce for his wonderful effort of delivering every vocal-line in such a convincing manner that you get chills down your spine whenever listening to the album. This pretty much sums up my thoughts on their song writing. It's varied with a lot of different tunes; everything from ballads and rockers to heavier mid-paced songs all done in the kind of way that never gets boring. The song writing overall is their best and this album features more well-known songs than any other they have ever released.

The production, too, is perfect and leaves you nothing more to wish for. The bass is, as mentioned, always very present, the vocals are clear and everything else is in order. There is nothing to dislike about it and it always sounds very alive and not anything near the sterile production of "Dance of Death." I wouldn't say it is much different from preceeding Maiden albums but as the production of all those albums are worth 10's this is no different. When judging the originality of "Seventh Son..." I don't have to compare it to other bands of the era because although it lands in the same genre as a lot of bands not many of those bands can say they've come near to the quality of this masterpiece. This is the kind of album you can play until the end of time, I couldn't be more serious about this. I do not care if you are a Maiden fan or not - if you like metal you have to own this album!

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 10


Band profile: Iron Maiden
Album: Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son


 


written by Storchillarn | 12.05.2007


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Staff review by
Pierre Tombale

Rating:
10
Among Iron Maiden's studio albums 'Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son' to me is the second best. It has the most famous songs of the band on one album. Of most albums you might know (if you're not a fan!) two or three songs, this album contains at least 6 songs that you should know, if not you have never lived.

Read more ››
published 24.12.2003 | Comments (25)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 19  
Users visited: 137  
Search this topic:  


Katatronik - 12.05.2007 at 14:12  
Yes, rating: 10. Right. Everything is great here, I'd say perfect. No other words to explain a similar masterpiece, just 10!
__Az__ - 12.05.2007 at 17:45  
Hmmmmm.... I think 10 for everything is a tad too much.
Storchillarn - 12.05.2007 at 23:06  
That is my opinion, yes. Favourite album of all time. =)
Forest Corm - 30.05.2007 at 17:54  
I really dont see what this album offers that other earlier Maiden albums dont. Sure, its good but whats so special about it? Anyone care explaining it to me?
Grey_Dandelion - 12.06.2007 at 18:56  
one of the best album of Maiden along with Number and Somewhere in Time!All the tracks are perfect,the use of keyboards gives a futuristic feeling and the production is astonishing!The band is in great shape and inspiration..and the cover art very nice too!the rating is fine...justice is served i think!and seventh son oh what an epic track!!!!!!!
Tron - 28.06.2007 at 04:30  
I didn't use to like Iron Maiden back in the day...yet a couple of months ago I decided to give 'em another try and bought this album for about 5 ...and oh god!...how could have I ignored them totally all these years? THIS ALBUM IS PERFECT, GUYS! Now I have all their albums from 80s and their latest one. Watch out "Master Of Puppets", "Seventh Son..."'s really going to beat you in my own personal "best albums from the 80s" list!
Smurfophagist - 12.12.2007 at 14:41  
I rate it a 9, but that's because of my certain taste in music, I still think this is an amazing piece of work. A Maiden masterpiece
IronBlackZepp - 31.03.2008 at 07:32  
One of the most complex and best metal albums ever. I cant tell you how great this album is. Good review here for a metal masterpeice!
gerrard888 - 20.07.2008 at 18:45  
this album should be given the nobel prize of music , the best album ever 20/10 from begining to the end up the irons:banger:
Elio - 16.08.2008 at 15:24  
this album deserves fully 10. enough said
BloodTears - 16.08.2008 at 20:43  
The question here is, what is the best song? Can't decide

This album does pose a lot of questions.
Elio - 17.08.2008 at 20:28  
Written by BloodTears on 16.08.2008 at 20:43

The question here is, what is the best song? Can't decide

This album does pose a lot of questions.


to me, Infinte Dreams.
Uirapuru - 29.10.2008 at 05:58  
Well.. i dont think it deserves a 10 because im not very into Heavy metal, but to me thats the best Iron Maiden album so far. It has one of my favorites heavy metal songs: i love ''Can I Play With Madness''.. another song ''The Clairvoyant'', also has catch my attention, very good. To me a 8.9 is a perfect rate.
Powerslavex - 28.11.2008 at 12:12  
My favourite album of all time, great from start to end the intro Moonchild is the best intro i've ever heard
Lord_Regnier - 18.04.2009 at 14:29  
A great album. Masterpiece of classic heavy metal. It's a pity Maiden lost the touch after it.

Nothing they have done since Dickinson's comeback can be compared to their 80s stuff.
Paradox0 - 26.04.2009 at 19:52  
I used to not like this album but it's bveen growing on me. I think my disdain for it can be linked to a low quality version I got from a friend but I've been listening to it quite a bit now. By far their most ambitious album. They really didin't attempt to be heavy as so much as just writing something pretty mature. The album may be a little dated (in my opinion anyways), but for an album of its time, its pretty damn epic.
Ellrohir - 25.09.2009 at 14:07  
Right now i am also about to claim this album best work by Iron Maiden ever
BeastOfMetal456 - 26.07.2011 at 02:55  
Written by Powerslavex on 28.11.2008 at 12:12

My favourite album of all time, great from start to end the intro Moonchild is the best intro i've ever heard

Moonchild is very good, all the songs are good. But I think the best part of the album is the "Even though it's reached new heights" part in Infinite Dreams. Epic.
Powerslavex - 31.07.2011 at 21:52  
Written by Guest on 26.07.2011 at 02:55

Written by Powerslavex on 28.11.2008 at 12:12

My favourite album of all time, great from start to end the intro Moonchild is the best intro i've ever heard

Moonchild is very good, all the songs are good. But I think the best part of the album is the "Even though it's reached new heights" part in Infinite Dreams. Epic.

yes infinite dreams is one the best songs ever man the lyrics are amazing i really relate to them anyway i meant that moonchild is the best intro ever not song

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Iron Maiden - Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son 8.5 06.10.2006 by
Albums Iron Maiden - Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son 7.5 22.04.2011 by rise447
News Iron Maiden - To Release New Best Of Album 4.5 16.03.2011 by Dark Cornatus
Albums Iron Maiden - Piece Of Mind 4.5 07.03.2010 by metalgemini
Metal arena Favorite Iron Maiden Instrumental? 4.5 14.08.2012 by Dentura



Hits total: 5816 | This month: 46