Rating:
9.1
Swallow The Sun - Hope
7 February 2007


01. Hope
02. These Hours Of Despair
03. The Justice Of Suffering [feat. Jonas Renkse]
04. Don't Fall Asleep (Horror Pt.2)
05. Too Cold For Tears
06. The Empty Skies
07. No Light, No Hope
08. Doomed To Walk The Earth
09. These Low Lands [Timo Rautiainen & Trio Niskalaukaus cover] [Digipak bonus]


Swallow The Sun's third album was probably one of the most expected returns in the Doom spectre this year, and for good reasons. After the immediate, and probably somewhat unexpected impact of "The Morning Never Came" in 2003, and the good reception of its successor, "Ghosts Of Loss", I think many were curious to know if Swallow The Sun's consistency was to be maintained, or if, instead, they'd crumble in the usually difficult third work. Thankfully, it was the first option that turned out to be the correct one.

The band gained a solid fan base with their delicate and easily listenable, if extremely cold Doom/Death Metal; that has become the characteristic sound of Swallow The Sun, and they don't abdicate of that. The title gains almost a sarcastic dimension when associated to the music, as the intention to create a dark and gloomy atmosphere remains essential. In general, there aren't many changes since 2005, no drastic changes at least. The songs stretch for many minutes, and their structures are diverse, the music is rich and well produced and there's space for both extremely calm and heavier moments.

However, I don't think we can categorically say we are getting more of the same. The bass work is more subtle. There are a lot more clean vocals. More keyboards. Less songs like "Deadly Nightshade", with riffs dominating. Overall, "Hope" sounds more relaxed and melancholic to me. Take "The Justice Of Suffering": the first verses are typical, but then you get to the chorus and the song suffers a metamorphosis, and becomes as light as Swallow The Sun has ever been. "Hope" may never reach the sheer depressiveness of "Gloom, Beauty And Despair", but it constantly follows the sad and beautiful path of a "Forgive Her", for example.

This band always seemed to want to walk its own path in the genre, certainly without aiming at revolutionizing it, but clearly adding its own personal touch, and that's always a plus, on any kind of music. If you were already following their work closely, "Hope" will not disappoint you. It's accessible, it's diverse, it's an almost one hour long journey through various tempos and emotions. In this reviewer's opinion, it's Swallow The Sun's best work to date. Now, I hope they can keep releasing an album this good every two years. I hope…


Band profile: Swallow The Sun
Album: Hope


 


written by Passenger | 01.08.2007


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 170  
Search this topic:  


Katatronik - 01.08.2007 at 19:57  
Very good album in my opinion, though I think that "The Morning Never Came" is on another PLANET! Very good "Don't Fall Asleep"...
W-Lash - 01.09.2007 at 01:24  
I would say that this is miserable crap.
I listened it twice and i still don't remember anything.
crap.

The Morning Never Came and even Ghost Of Loss are much better.
ScabbeD'~ - 22.09.2007 at 02:21  
Still choose the first album...spe "Silence of the Womb"...s.th floating in his voice(Mikko )
but,they know where they go & its good to follow their path...
Infurnace - 23.09.2007 at 17:33  
I think this is one of the best Doom/Death Metal albums of the year. I really enjoy listening to it, although the first 2 albums are good as well. "Don't Fall Asleep" is one of the highlights, IMO.
Kinetic - 02.12.2007 at 12:03  
compared to their 2 previous efforts, this one is too monotomous...
Marcel Hubregtse - 02.12.2007 at 17:08  
Written by Infurnace on 23.09.2007 at 17:33

I think this is one of the best Doom/Death Metal albums of the year. I really enjoy listening to it, although the first 2 albums are good as well. "Don't Fall Asleep" is one of the highlights, IMO.


I actually think it is one of the MOST overrated doom/death releases of the year. Soooooo broing, overproduced, almost emo-doom for the masses. Really, I still don't understand the hype about this band.
MetalManic_Joel - 10.12.2007 at 13:14  
Great review. This is one of my Top albums of 2007. Perfect.
STSlover - 21.11.2008 at 16:59  
U need to understand this type of doom first.........then u will see how amaizing this album is
for my....im addected to this album......listening to it all day & night
unbelievable
BestMetalstormer - 27.11.2008 at 17:01  
I love almost songs in this album, as through my journey being into it until now. Lyric is excellent, beautiful clean vocal, solid grunt , and melancholy beautiful melody
Prisoner - 11.07.2009 at 16:59  
I Love The Whole Album. I Think It Is A Great Job. well there is only one song that is bothering me - Too Cold For Fears
InnerSelf - 16.07.2009 at 19:28  
Written by Guest on 11.07.2009 at 16:59

I Love The Whole Album. I Think It Is A Great Job. well there is only one song that is bothering me - Too Cold For Fears


Try reading the lyrics
Prisoner - 04.08.2009 at 00:56  
Written by InnerSelf on 16.07.2009 at 19:28

Written by Guest on 11.07.2009 at 16:59

I Love The Whole Album. I Think It Is A Great Job. well there is only one song that is bothering me - Too Cold For Fears


Try reading the lyrics


I Tried...A little better though but still not my type of song:noidea:
MELANCOHOLIC - 06.11.2009 at 14:55  
Great cd. I prefer their 2 first albums though, but this is another fuckingtastic piece of melancholic melodic death/doom at its best.
Swallow the Sun fucking rules!!!
Stay Metal ,Stay Dark!
Uirapuru - 14.11.2009 at 04:59  
Quote:
In general, there aren't many changes since 2005, no drastic changes at least. The songs stretch for many minutes, and their structures are diverse, the music is rich and well produced and there's space for both extremely calm and heavier moments.


The lack of change is bad news for me... since I did not liked ''Ghosts of loss''. This part of the review kinda made me question my possible likes on this album.

But it turn out better than the previous, lots of catchy passages, pretty accessible for non-doom fans.

Good enough for me.
INÆRIS - 13.01.2011 at 17:43  
Justice of Suffering is one of the greatest songs ever written. I love Jonas Renkse's voice. It's so perfect for this song. It's a beautiful contrast from the amazing growls. So much emotion. I love what these guys are doing, regardless of what you try and classify them as. That doesn't matter. This is good music.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Articles Swallow The Sun: "Hope" - impressions from the premiere 7.5 31.10.2006 by
News Swallow The Sun - "Hope" Website, With Live Video 7.5 01.11.2006 by Lovely Psycho
Albums Swallow The Sun - Hope 7.5 24.04.2012 by Nightfall
News Swallow The Sun - Announce European Tour Dates With Paradise Lost 6 08.03.2012 by
News Swallow The Sun - New Album Recording Completed 6 14.10.2006 by CyGuy6587



Hits total: 4695 | This month: 44