Rating:
8.0
Anti - The Insignificance Of Life
18 January 2006


01. Nothing
02. Landscape In Minor
03. Invocation
04. Farewell (Escape Into Beyond)
05. Zero Point
06. Mourning Soul [Absurd cover]


With the bandname Anti, the title of the release being The Insignificance Of Life, song tracks such as "Nothing", "Zero Point" and "Mourning Soul" and as a last thing, album art in black and blue on the front and blood splattered stairs on the back, there can be no doubt about it: this is going to be heavily depressing. And heavily depressing usually, in the realm of Metal, means either Doom or Depressive Black Metal. Luckily, after the first couple of seconds, that riddle is also solved. Depressive Black Metal to the maximum!

Most people will hear a certain resemblance of Darkspace, and that would not be an erronous thought. The Insignificance Of Life sounds as if you are floating in the bleak void of the Universe. The atmospheric riffing, as of the aforementioned band, sounds just as 'straight' and are going on and on. Pounding drums and pulsing guitars are the rushing blood, the lifeforce of this album, often echoing over and through each other, taking you away to higher, darker places. Every once in a while a bit of catchiness or an acoustic interlude will be thrown in, or the occasional midtempo and spacey solo, but overall this is a fest of repetivity.

Production-wise it is also pushed in the 'space' direction. An immense wall of sound and harsh, very long and open vocals screaming out in utter torment. Try listening to this at night with your window opened and the cold winter air clasping it's white frosted fingers around your throat. You shall realize the insignificace of life!

One rather negative feature of this album is the length. Not even reaching the thirty minutes mark it is over before you know it. The optimistic misanthropist under us might view this as a positive thing though. At least death will be quick and sharp, and this record can easily be played over and over again.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Anti
Album: The Insignificance Of Life


 



Written on 01.12.2007 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 70  
Search this topic:  


jupitreas - 01.12.2007 at 10:49  
It might not be the best black metal release this year but I quite like this record. There is just something really 'nice' about a title like "The Insignificance Of Life", which attracts cynical misanthropes like myself.
Lucas - 01.12.2007 at 13:28  
Written by jupitreas on 01.12.2007 at 10:49

It might not be the best black metal release this year but I quite like this record. There is just something really 'nice' about a title like "The Insignificance Of Life", which attracts cynical misanthropes like myself.


For sure not the best of the year, but indeed pretty enjoyable.
Sunioj - 01.12.2007 at 16:43  
I really like the organic production on this album, it took me some patience to get into it, but in the end definetly worthwhile and enjoyable.
Dangerboner - 02.12.2007 at 02:34  
Seeing how they are described as raw black metal I wasn't really looking forward to it, but after I downloaded it I was surprised at how good it is. Everything blends together so nicely
I_Die_Often - 04.04.2010 at 21:26  
This popped up in random album (or staff pick, can't remember). Gave the MySpace a listen, not bad!
I am trying to explore more BM artists, and this one I could listen to.
BreadGod - 06.06.2010 at 23:03  
I didn't really like the programmed drums, but other than that, the music was pretty good.
InnerSelf - 08.06.2010 at 13:45  
Written by BreadGod on 06.06.2010 at 23:03

I didn't really like the programmed drums, but other than that, the music was pretty good.


+1
I was bored a bit with the drumwork but the guitars and vocals were nice
!J.O.O.E.! - 04.03.2011 at 14:02  
For a DSBM record this is surprisingly pleasing.
Troy Killjoy - 04.03.2011 at 18:05  
I really enjoyed this when I first heard it, and I still listen to it on a regular basis. I'd say closer to 8.5-9 from me, but that's also because I get a major kick out of Depressive BM.
Marcus - 15.06.2011 at 04:22  
I enjoyed this album but at the same time it sort of just ends. Doesn't seem like there's much direction in the album as a whole unfortunately.
Boxcar Willy - 16.03.2013 at 00:20  
Awesome album, like previously said, everything blends well. Just wish the drums were a little quieter.
Mr. Doctor - 16.03.2013 at 00:25  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 16.03.2013 at 00:20
Just wish the drums were a little quieter.

Same here, the beginning of the album is like "BAM!"... But when there aren't blastbeats it's fine. Other than that the production is nice. Lovely guitar sound and vocals.

"Invocation" must have been one of the first Black Metal tracks I got addicted to back when I was a newbie.
Boxcar Willy - 16.03.2013 at 00:28  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 16.03.2013 at 00:25

Written by Boxcar Willy on 16.03.2013 at 00:20
Just wish the drums were a little quieter.

Same here, the beginning of the album is like "BAM!"... But when there aren't blastbeats it's fine. Other than that the production is nice. Lovely guitar sound and vocals.

"Invocation" must have been one of the first Black Metal tracks I got addicted to back when I was a newbie.

I really like the length too. I'm a big fan of shorter albums.

"Nothing" isn probably my favourite.
Mr. Doctor - 16.03.2013 at 00:32  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 16.03.2013 at 00:28

I really like the length too. I'm a big fan of shorter albums.
"Nothing" isn probably my favourite.

Hmmm I'm a big fan of any length that suits an album best. In this case it works. No filler at all and to the point. Man I can't believe I've heard this album 5 years ago. Definitely one of the albums that got me hooked to the genre in the beginning. Time sure flies like a motherfucker...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Austere - Only The Wind Remembers / Ending The Circle Of Life 6 10.11.2008 by BestMetalstormer
Reviews Foudre Noire - The Dark Gods 4.5 25.10.2010 by Ag Fox
Reviews Minsk - With Echoes In The Movement Of Stone 4.5 14.11.2009 by Troy Killjoy
Albums Dodsferd - Spitting With Hatred The Insignificance Of Life 4.5 27.01.2013 by nille
Reviews Jumalhämärä - Slaughter The Messenger 4.5 23.10.2009 by Bas



Hits total: 4679 | This month: 31