Rating:
9.0
The Ruins Of Beverast - Unlock The Shrine
2004


01. Between Bronze Walls
02. Skeleton Coast
03. Euphoria When The Bombs Fell
04. God Sent No Sign
05. The Clockhand's Groaning Circles
06. Procession Of Pawns
07. Summer Decapitation Ritual
08. Cellartunes
09. Unlock The Shrine
10. Subterranean Homicide Lamentation
11. The Mine
12. White Abyss


From the ashes of the mighty, yet criminally underrated Nagelfar, rose the new one-man-project The Ruins Of Beverast. Musical mastermind and sole member Alexander Von Meilenwald had decided that he had nothing more to say with Nagelfar, and frankly, it was a good decision. Not only had he already released the brilliant "Srontgorrth", a highlight that cannot be reached once more anyway, but he also felt that it was time for a change in a style. Out with the bombastic Avant-Garde Black Metal filled with trumpet-tongued angels and apocalyptic electronics, in with a far more basic, dark and despairing type of Black Metal.

From the very first seconds of "Unlock The Shrine", a terrifying voice greets you with its laments. At once the haunting atmosphere is set. Seventy minutes of sheer terror and depression have started and there's no way you can escape now. My favourite aspect of the music, and the instrument on which the entire atmosphere is built on, is the guitar. There are some absolute fan-tas-tic riffs to be found on this album. Whether it are the circular saws ripping your throat open, the wailing leads or the sudden stops in "The Clockhand's Groaning Circles", they are all top-notch and worthy of every possibly praise.

His own past in Nagelfar can be clearly heard in "Summer Decapitation Ritual" and some of the eerie, ambient instrumentals that separate the 'normal' songs pay homage to the legacy of the mighty but forgotten legend. Furthermore, he also took the keyboards with him. These keyboards are clearly in the background and do their humble work. Thank god, there is at least someone alive who doesn't abuse his keyboards the common Dummy Burger keyboards style.

It must be concluded, Von Meilenwald is a pretty talented chap. He plays every instrument on this album, and he convinces with each of them. Vocalwise he has even grown out to be one of my favourites, for his great ability to shift between pained crying and incredibly impressive and overwhelming screams.

So what do I have to say about this album, apart from endless praise? The only point of criticism is that with its seventy minutes, it is a bit too long for my taste. It would have been better if Von Meilenwald would have cut off about ten minutes, despite most of the album being truly awesome. Seeing as that is pretty much the only point of criticism I have, that there is too much good music, you should be on your way to your nearest metalstore already..

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 10


Band profile: The Ruins Of Beverast
Album: Unlock The Shrine


 



Written on 07.02.2008 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 59  
Search this topic:  


!J.O.O.E.! - 24.06.2011 at 04:13  
First comment.

Seriously though, The Clockhand's Groaning Circles: Dayum.
Lucas - 24.06.2011 at 10:34  
Yep. One of the best songtitles ever, too. Fan-fucking-tastic album.
!J.O.O.E.! - 24.06.2011 at 10:44  
Speaking of track titles I've always loved the combination of words used on this one: Skeleton Coast, Summer Decapitation Ritual, Euphoria When The Bombs Fell etc. They're all very visual names and give the record that extra bit of awesome.
InnerSelf - 25.06.2011 at 01:21  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 24.06.2011 at 10:44

Summer Decapitation Ritual


Always terrifies me
also the opening words in Between Bronze Walls .
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.06.2011 at 06:37  
Written by InnerSelf on 25.06.2011 at 01:21

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 24.06.2011 at 10:44

Summer Decapitation Ritual


Always terrifies me
also the opening words in Between Bronze Walls .

Oh yeah that's from a film, I can't remember what one but it's an odd choice because it's quite a cheesy film, one which you wouldn't think suited the mood of the album. That's what I thought when I found it on IMDB anyway, I just can't recall what one exactly.

[EDIT]

It was this film: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0092632/

I thought "shield" referred to an actual shield but it's actually a police badge o.O Kinda messes with the song a bit, even though the words are taken out of context.
Troy Killjoy - 25.06.2011 at 06:48  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.06.2011 at 06:37

Oh yeah that's from a film, I can't remember what one but it's an odd choice because it's quite a cheesy film, one which you wouldn't think suited the mood of the album. That's what I thought when I found it on IMDB anyway, I just can't recall what one exactly.

Reminds me of when Shining quoted a scene from She's So Lovely.
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.06.2011 at 06:50  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.06.2011 at 06:48

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.06.2011 at 06:37

Oh yeah that's from a film, I can't remember what one but it's an odd choice because it's quite a cheesy film, one which you wouldn't think suited the mood of the album. That's what I thought when I found it on IMDB anyway, I just can't recall what one exactly.

Reminds me of when Shining quoted a scene from She's So Lovely.

I haven't seen it but it just looks wrong.
InnerSelf - 25.06.2011 at 22:03  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.06.2011 at 06:37


Oh yeah that's from a film, I can't remember what one but it's an odd choice because it's quite a cheesy film, one which you wouldn't think suited the mood of the album. That's what I thought when I found it on IMDB anyway, I just can't recall what one exactly.

[EDIT]

It was this film: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0092632/

I thought "shield" referred to an actual shield but it's actually a police badge o.O Kinda messes with the song a bit, even though the words are taken out of context.


thinking about the police thing now , you can hear some police sirens in the last ambient song.I still can't connect anything in the album from the ritualistic approach to the mystic lyrics with the cop's stuff

Another thing , the uttered words in the intro to "Arcane Pharmakon Messiah" in his last album , are they also a movie quote ?
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.06.2011 at 22:35  
Written by InnerSelf on 25.06.2011 at 22:03


thinking about the police thing now , you can hear some police sirens in the last ambient song.I still can't connect anything in the album from the ritualistic approach to the mystic lyrics with the cop's stuff

Another thing , the uttered words in the intro to "Arcane Pharmakon Messiah" in his last album , are they also a movie quote ?

I'd say it probably is but Google reveals nothing about it so it's hard to be sure.
InnerSelf - 25.06.2011 at 22:44  
I also tried to google them but got nothing
3rdWorld - 23.04.2012 at 14:02  
Makes Xasthur, Leviathan, LoC and other one man BM bands look like novice kids. What a brilliant guy Meilenwald is! The interludes need special mention, they are indeed darker than a coal miner's arsehole!!!
Mr. Doctor - 23.04.2012 at 14:44  
Written by 3rdWorld on 23.04.2012 at 14:02

Makes Xasthur, Leviathan, LoC and other one man BM bands look like novice kids. What a brilliant guy Meilenwald is! The interludes need special mention, they are indeed darker than a coal miner's arsehole!!!


You might be right about some Xasthur and Leviathan but definitely not Lurker Of Chalice.
Troy Killjoy - 23.04.2012 at 18:16  
Well Xasthur and Leviathan are more entrenched in the depressive black metal scene... so comparing them to The Ruins seems rather strange.
Mr. Doctor - 23.04.2012 at 18:44  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 23.04.2012 at 18:16

Well Xasthur and Leviathan are more entrenched in the depressive black metal scene... so comparing them to The Ruins seems rather strange.


Even comparing TROB to LoC is weird considering how the later sometimes goes out of the black metal sound many times.
Troy Killjoy - 23.04.2012 at 18:45  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 23.04.2012 at 18:44
Even comparing TROB to LoC is weird considering how the later sometimes goes out of the black metal sound many times.

I think he's probably just going through someone's list of suggestions or top black metal albums or something and compared them all because they're fresh in his mind.
3rdWorld - 24.04.2012 at 23:56  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 23.04.2012 at 18:45

I think he's probably just going through someone's list of suggestions or top black metal albums or something and compared them all because they're fresh in his mind.

Now, that's news to me.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums The Ruins Of Beverast - Unlock The Shrine 9 10.05.2010 by ₣rost Giant
Reviews The Ruins Of Beverast - Rain Upon The Impure 9 24.07.2009 by Thanntos
Reviews The Ruins Of Beverast - Foulest Semen Of A Sheltered Elite 9 04.10.2009 by TheBigRossowski
Reviews The Ruins Of Beverast - Blood Vaults (The Blazing Gospel Of Heinrich Kramer) 7 30.08.2013 by Daniell
Albums The Ruins Of Beverast - Echanted By Gravemould 6 25.09.2011 by Lucas



Hits total: 3017 | This month: 26