Rating:
N/A
Necro - Death Rap
11 September 2007


01. Creepy Crawl
02. No Remorse
03. Some Get Back (Revenge)
04. Belligerent Gangsters
05. Suffocated to Death by God's Shadow
06. Mutilate the Beat
07. Keep on Driving
08. Technician of Execution
09. Keeping it Real
10. Exploitation
11. As Deadly as Can Be
12. Evil Rules
13. Forensic Pathology
14. Portrait of a Death Rapper


Hardcore Hip Hop / "Horrorcore"
2007 Psycho+Logical+Records

Necro - vocals, arranging, composing, writing, production, recording, mixing

Guests:
Harley Flanagan - guest vocals
Brian Fair - guest vocals
Mark Morton - guest guitar
Mike Smith - guest drums
Steve DiGiorgio - guest bass
Adam Jackson - guest vocals
Mr. Hyde - guest vocals
Ill Bill - guest vocals
Scott Ian - guest guitar
Dave Ellefson - guest bass
Ray Alder - guest vocals


Mixing rap with all kinds of metal isn't exactly a pioneering practice these days, although I still think a really talented band could do a lot with such a hybrid. Sadly, Necro is not very talented at all, which makes "Death Rap" an entirely forgettable record, even if it does include guest performances from such acclaimed metal musicians as Scott Ian, Steve DiGiorgio, Dave Ellefson, Mike Smith and Ray Adler.

As far as rap/metal hybrids go, this one is decidedly closer to the rap end of the spectrum. In fact, only about one third of the album includes any sounds that can be considered remotely metal and they are all extremely disappointing, considering the calibre of metal musicians playing in them. "Suffocated To Death By God's Shadow" has a fun title making references to all of the guests on it, however, that is the most interesting thing about it. "Evil Rules" is marginally better, contains humorous lyrics that reveal a fair amount of metal knowledge and has vocals that work quite well. Still, believe me, this is nothing to write home about.

The rest of the album is all rap, although with lyrics that sound a little bit like Cannibal Corpse "from da hood". So yeah, we get a lot of rants about abdominal cavities and other such appetizing things but goregrind fans need not hunt for this album because it is all very tame in comparison. The rap itself is also very mediocre, with sloppy rhymes, very basic and primitive beats and inappropriate samples.

Frankly, I can't really think of anything else interesting to say about this album because, well, it's just not very interesting to begin with. Music like this is what makes so many people opposed to the idea of mixing rap and metal. Avoid.


Website: http://www.necrohiphop.com/


 



Written on 06.04.2008 by
jupitreas
With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. Privately not actually an asshole, he lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he runs his small graphic and web design business.
More reviews by jupitreas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 179  
Search this topic:  


Doc Godin - 06.04.2008 at 05:46  
Quote:
Avoid.

Can do, when I first heard about this I was curious but a bit doubtful, I guess this is all I need.
insanity.peppers - 06.04.2008 at 08:07  
Watched a youtube vid of their song "Mutilate the Beat" and they actually say "Kill you like Euronymous". Isn't rap trying to associate with Black Metal one of the five signs of the oncoming apocalypse?
Doc Godin - 06.04.2008 at 10:08  
Written by insanity.peppers on 06.04.2008 at 08:07

Watched a youtube vid of their song "Mutilate the Beat" and they actually say "Kill you like Euronymous". Isn't rap trying to associate with Black Metal one of the five signs of the oncoming apocalypse?

Wow, Im just a casual black metal fan, not a big elitist or anything, but even I was insulted by that video/song.
Clintagram - 06.04.2008 at 10:27  
Written by Doc Godin on 06.04.2008 at 10:08

Written by insanity.peppers on 06.04.2008 at 08:07

Watched a youtube vid of their song "Mutilate the Beat" and they actually say "Kill you like Euronymous". Isn't rap trying to associate with Black Metal one of the five signs of the oncoming apocalypse?

Wow, Im just a casual black metal fan, not a big elitist or anything, but even I was insulted by that video/song.


Ha. I thought it was great. Not musically, but the whole line.
Stigma - 06.04.2008 at 20:05  
Couple of interesting guest musicians there, David Ellefson, Steve DiGiorgio...
Jigoku Shoujo - 07.04.2008 at 12:13  
Written by Doc Godin on 06.04.2008 at 05:46

Quote:
Avoid.

Can do, when I first heard about this I was curious but a bit doubtful, I guess this is all I need.

Same goes for me.
Introspekrieg - 07.04.2008 at 19:32  
From No Remorse:
"Blast you with a Metallica, rip your head to shreds like Gallagher, sledge hammer you dead like space shuttle challenger"
"Blood splashes on the brow of Onassis, killing you is sweet like a jar of molasses."

From Portrait Of A Death Rapper:
"Scrape off the pavement; disintegrate you like the laser in a light-saber
You'll hit the street like a movie-dummy, you dummy
Now you're a numb moving mummy with the removable tummy"

P.O.D. has better rhymes...
GraMortis - 08.04.2008 at 12:40  
Necro ain't good, I agree. Necro's brother's Ill Bill's last album "Black Metal" is in my opinion much better.
Frankenchrist - 22.11.2008 at 16:09  
Yeah, avoid's right. this dude blows
Boxcar Willy - 12.11.2010 at 21:19  
Written by Introspekrieg on 07.04.2008 at 19:32

P.O.D. has better rhymes...

then you know its bad...
!J.O.O.E.! - 13.11.2010 at 05:34  
^ this. (though I kinda like P.O.D.)

The fact this is closer to rap than metal is totally irrelevant; It's rubbish rap at best and pales so very badly with the best of rap/hop-hop I've heard (dalek, Sole, Sage Francis etc.)
Valentin B - 13.11.2010 at 07:31  
Written by Introspekrieg on 07.04.2008 at 19:32

P.O.D. has better rhymes...

that's like saying you write worse lyrics than Warrel Dane, imo.

if you swapped P.O.D. with Limp Bizkit though i'd agree all the way. onassis/molasses is probably the most random rhyme ever..

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Necro - Death Rap 6 01.09.2011 by fucku4life90
Reviews Inswarm - Surely Death Is No Dream 4.5 28.07.2009 by Thought.
Reviews Noctiferia - Death Culture 4.5 24.06.2010 by Derwood
Articles A Rant About Death 3.5 29.12.2009 by jupitreas
Articles Napalm Death @ Progresja, Warsaw 3.5 19.02.2009 by Bad English



Hits total: 6269 | This month: 50