Necro - Death Rap review



Reviewer:
N/A

7 users:
5.00
Band: Necro
Album: Death Rap
Release date: September 2007


01. Creepy Crawl
02. No Remorse
03. Some Get Back (Revenge)
04. Belligerent Gangsters
05. Suffocated to Death by God's Shadow
06. Mutilate the Beat
07. Keep on Driving
08. Technician of Execution
09. Keeping it Real
10. Exploitation
11. As Deadly as Can Be
12. Evil Rules
13. Forensic Pathology
14. Portrait of a Death Rapper


Mixing rap with all kinds of metal isn't exactly a pioneering practice these days, although I still think a really talented band could do a lot with such a hybrid. Sadly, Necro is not very talented at all, which makes "Death Rap" an entirely forgettable record, even if it does include guest performances from such acclaimed metal musicians as Scott Ian, Steve DiGiorgio, Dave Ellefson, Mike Smith and Ray Adler.

As far as rap/metal hybrids go, this one is decidedly closer to the rap end of the spectrum. In fact, only about one third of the album includes any sounds that can be considered remotely metal and they are all extremely disappointing, considering the calibre of metal musicians playing in them. "Suffocated To Death By God's Shadow" has a fun title making references to all of the guests on it, however, that is the most interesting thing about it. "Evil Rules" is marginally better, contains humorous lyrics that reveal a fair amount of metal knowledge and has vocals that work quite well. Still, believe me, this is nothing to write home about.

The rest of the album is all rap, although with lyrics that sound a little bit like Cannibal Corpse "from da hood". So yeah, we get a lot of rants about abdominal cavities and other such appetizing things but goregrind fans need not hunt for this album because it is all very tame in comparison. The rap itself is also very mediocre, with sloppy rhymes, very basic and primitive beats and inappropriate samples.

Frankly, I can't really think of anything else interesting to say about this album because, well, it's just not very interesting to begin with. Music like this is what makes so many people opposed to the idea of mixing rap and metal. Avoid.


 



Written on 06.04.2008 by With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. He lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he does his best to avoid prosecution for being so cool.


Comments

Comments: 12   Visited by: 180 users
06.04.2008 - 05:46
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Quote:
Avoid.

Can do, when I first heard about this I was curious but a bit doubtful, I guess this is all I need.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
06.04.2008 - 08:07
insanity.peppers
Watched a youtube vid of their song "Mutilate the Beat" and they actually say "Kill you like Euronymous". Isn't rap trying to associate with Black Metal one of the five signs of the oncoming apocalypse?
Loading...
06.04.2008 - 10:08
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by insanity.peppers on 06.04.2008 at 08:07

Watched a youtube vid of their song "Mutilate the Beat" and they actually say "Kill you like Euronymous". Isn't rap trying to associate with Black Metal one of the five signs of the oncoming apocalypse?

Wow, Im just a casual black metal fan, not a big elitist or anything, but even I was insulted by that video/song.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
06.04.2008 - 10:27
Clintagräm
Dopesmoker
Written by Doc Godin on 06.04.2008 at 10:08

Written by insanity.peppers on 06.04.2008 at 08:07

Watched a youtube vid of their song "Mutilate the Beat" and they actually say "Kill you like Euronymous". Isn't rap trying to associate with Black Metal one of the five signs of the oncoming apocalypse?

Wow, Im just a casual black metal fan, not a big elitist or anything, but even I was insulted by that video/song.


Ha. I thought it was great. Not musically, but the whole line.
----
The force will be with you, always.
Loading...
06.04.2008 - 20:05
Stigma
Account deleted
Couple of interesting guest musicians there, David Ellefson, Steve DiGiorgio...
Loading...
07.04.2008 - 12:13
Jigoku Shoujo
Account deleted
Written by Doc Godin on 06.04.2008 at 05:46

Quote:
Avoid.

Can do, when I first heard about this I was curious but a bit doubtful, I guess this is all I need.

Same goes for me.
Loading...
07.04.2008 - 19:32
Introspekrieg
Totemic Lust
From No Remorse:
"Blast you with a Metallica, rip your head to shreds like Gallagher, sledge hammer you dead like space shuttle challenger"
"Blood splashes on the brow of Onassis, killing you is sweet like a jar of molasses."

From Portrait Of A Death Rapper:
"Scrape off the pavement; disintegrate you like the laser in a light-saber
You'll hit the street like a movie-dummy, you dummy
Now you're a numb moving mummy with the removable tummy"

P.O.D. has better rhymes...
Loading...
08.04.2008 - 12:40
GraMortis
Necro ain't good, I agree. Necro's brother's Ill Bill's last album "Black Metal" is in my opinion much better.
----
Fruere hora.
Loading...
22.11.2008 - 16:09
Frankenchrist
Yeah, avoid's right. this dude blows
----
Blat Blat
Loading...
12.11.2010 - 21:19
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Introspekrieg on 07.04.2008 at 19:32

P.O.D. has better rhymes...

then you know its bad...
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
13.11.2010 - 05:34
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
^ this. (though I kinda like P.O.D.)

The fact this is closer to rap than metal is totally irrelevant; It's rubbish rap at best and pales so very badly with the best of rap/hop-hop I've heard (dalek, Sole, Sage Francis etc.)
Loading...
13.11.2010 - 07:31
Valentin B
Iconoclast
Written by Introspekrieg on 07.04.2008 at 19:32

P.O.D. has better rhymes...

that's like saying you write worse lyrics than Warrel Dane, imo.

if you swapped P.O.D. with Limp Bizkit though i'd agree all the way. onassis/molasses is probably the most random rhyme ever..
----
Sing me a song, you're a singer
Do me a wrong, you're a bringer of evil.
Loading...

Hits total: 7573 | This month: 32