Iron Maiden - Somewhere In Time review



Reviewer:
8.7

1671 users:
8.83
Band: Iron Maiden
Album: Somewhere In Time
Release date: September 1986


Disc I
01. Caught Somewhere In Time
02. Wasted Years
03. Sea Of Madness
04. Heaven Can Wait
05. The Loneliness Of The Long Distance Runner
06. Stranger In A Strange Land
07. Deja-Vu
08. Alexander The Great

Disc II [1995 reissue bonus CD]
01. Reach Out [Dave Colwell cover]
02. Juanita [Marshall Fury cover]
03. Sheriff of Huddersfield
04. That Girl


I wouldn't really like to talk about underrating when it comes to a band like Iron Maiden, but a band with such a wealthy discography full of classics will unavoidably have overlooked albums. I would say 'Somewhere In Time' is one of those for sure.

And yes, this album really is a jewel in Iron Maiden's discography, and the only reason it's not a classic is probably that the songs are not that stunning, and tend to fall in the shadows of the great amount of famous Maiden songs. Which is strange, because in my opinion some songs from this album are better then a lot of songs considered as mandatory live tracks. The problem might be that the material is not complex enough compared to the follower 'Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son' and not catchy enough compared to its predecessor 'Powerslave' if you want to split the material of Iron Maiden in those two categories.

But even if the album might lack classics and complexity, it still gives me a very special atmosphere that the other considered 'filler albums' by Maiden lack. I can't really explain this atmosphere with words but it has a lot to do with the keyboards and the production. It actually feels very spacey, and it makes me think of starlight and vast nothingness, which probably is the purpose according to the theme of the album. But if you aren't a sci-fi fan I won't scare you away, barely any song on this album has lyrics on that theme. I don't even know if I need to mention the originality, the great songwriting and the perfect performance - as we are used to from Iron Maiden.

There are lots of unknown but great songs here like the beautiful 'Sea Of Madness' or the fast 'Déjà Vu'. Unavoidably though, as on every Maiden album there is one filler - 'Loneliness Of A Long Distance Runner' isn't really a track that would fit on a best of album. Still I'm sure a lot of people like it. I don't have much more to say, especially nothing negative - a great album worth checking out if you missed it. And if it had had one or two more songs I would've rated it even higher.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 9

Written by Spyroid | 24.07.2008


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 29   Visited by: 153 users
30.08.2008 - 02:37
pdepmcp
nice, this record deserved such a review.
too bad I am one of those who like The Loneliness Of The Long Distance Runner

this is the first record with noticable keyboards, and they sound a bit too '80s (electro-pop,you know) for my taste. that's the only thing I personally don't like in SIT.
Loading...
30.08.2008 - 15:26
Elio
Red Nightmare
This is a great album! All of the songs are good...and yes, I like the Loneliness...:D
----
IntoPlighT said: "Slipknot is 15 years old how the fuck is that Nu metal?"

BEST. QUOTE. EVER.
Loading...
30.08.2008 - 15:29
Spyroid
Rosetta Stoned
Written by Elio on 30.08.2008 at 15:26

This is a great album! All of the songs are good...and yes, I like the Loneliness...:D


I've realised that a lot of people like it After their last show in Sweden, I read a review of the concert in one of the biggest Swedish newspapers. The reviewer was mad because they hadn't played "'Loneliness of a Long Distance Runner' or some other unknown surprise"
Loading...
30.08.2008 - 15:33
Elio
Red Nightmare
Written by Spyroid on 30.08.2008 at 15:29

Written by Elio on 30.08.2008 at 15:26

This is a great album! All of the songs are good...and yes, I like the Loneliness...:D


I've realised that a lot of people like it After their last show in Sweden, I read a review of the concert in one of the biggest Swedish newspapers. The reviewer was mad because they hadn't played "'Loneliness of a Long Distance Runner' or some other unknown surprise"


Yeah...very underrated song.
----
IntoPlighT said: "Slipknot is 15 years old how the fuck is that Nu metal?"

BEST. QUOTE. EVER.
Loading...
30.08.2008 - 15:35
Baz Anderson
Very underrated album in general I think - this is one of my favourites.
Loading...
30.08.2008 - 15:44
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Absolutely. Actually, this might be my favourite, but it's hard to pick just one, naturally.

The songs are more intricate in a way, they are more complex.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
31.08.2008 - 14:37
Spyroid
Rosetta Stoned
Written by Baz Anderson on 30.08.2008 at 15:35

Very underrated album in general I think - this is one of my favourites.


I've always claimed it as one of my favourites since the first time I heard it. I remember nobody agreed with me except from a friend of mine's mother I easily think this album is better than 'Number of the Beast' - much more even and simply better atmosphere.
Loading...
31.08.2008 - 14:57
Elio
Red Nightmare
Written by Spyroid on 31.08.2008 at 14:37

I easily think this album is better than 'Number of the Beast'


Definitely. TNOFT is fuckin overrated.
----
IntoPlighT said: "Slipknot is 15 years old how the fuck is that Nu metal?"

BEST. QUOTE. EVER.
Loading...
31.08.2008 - 19:46
Spyroid
Rosetta Stoned
Written by Elio on 31.08.2008 at 14:57

Written by Spyroid on 31.08.2008 at 14:37

I easily think this album is better than 'Number of the Beast'


Definitely. TNOFT is fuckin overrated.


Well, Run to the Hills and the title track isn't bad although I'm bored to death by them. And there's a couple of fillers. But I really like Children of the Damned and Halloweed be Thy Name, some of my favourite Maiden songs. Anyhow, not as even as this album and not as good either
Loading...
31.08.2008 - 22:49
Elio
Red Nightmare
Written by Spyroid on 31.08.2008 at 19:46

Written by Elio on 31.08.2008 at 14:57

Written by Spyroid on 31.08.2008 at 14:37

I easily think this album is better than 'Number of the Beast'


Definitely. TNOFT is fuckin overrated.


Well, Run to the Hills and the title track isn't bad although I'm bored to death by them. And there's a couple of fillers. But I really like Children of the Damned and Halloweed be Thy Name, some of my favourite Maiden songs. Anyhow, not as even as this album and not as good either


I've always considered TNOTB made of 4 masterpieces and 4 fillers...the masterpieces are 22 Acacia Avenue, Children Of The Damned, Hallowed Be Thy Name and the titletrack...the rest is forgettable.
----
IntoPlighT said: "Slipknot is 15 years old how the fuck is that Nu metal?"

BEST. QUOTE. EVER.
Loading...
31.08.2008 - 23:06
Spyroid
Rosetta Stoned
Written by Elio on 31.08.2008 at 22:49

Written by Spyroid on 31.08.2008 at 19:46

Written by Elio on 31.08.2008 at 14:57

Written by Spyroid on 31.08.2008 at 14:37

I easily think this album is better than 'Number of the Beast'


Definitely. TNOFT is fuckin overrated.


Well, Run to the Hills and the title track isn't bad although I'm bored to death by them. And there's a couple of fillers. But I really like Children of the Damned and Halloweed be Thy Name, some of my favourite Maiden songs. Anyhow, not as even as this album and not as good either


I've always considered TNOTB made of 4 masterpieces and 4 fillers...the masterpieces are 22 Acacia Avenue, Children Of The Damned, Hallowed Be Thy Name and the titletrack...the rest is forgettable.


Aah, totally forgot about 22 AA... but I agree. Invaders is quite okay aswell. Anyway, masterpieces don't have fillers!
Loading...
31.08.2008 - 23:13
Elio
Red Nightmare
Written by Spyroid on 31.08.2008 at 23:06

Anyway, masterpieces don't have fillers!


Exactly, in fact I don't consider that album a masterpiece. Well, stop now, we are off topic
----
IntoPlighT said: "Slipknot is 15 years old how the fuck is that Nu metal?"

BEST. QUOTE. EVER.
Loading...
01.09.2008 - 23:18
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Well, I like The Prisoner. So I think that is arguable
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
01.09.2008 - 23:33
Spyroid
Rosetta Stoned
Written by BloodTears on 01.09.2008 at 23:18

Well, I like The Prisoner. So I think that is arguable


Haha really of topic, somebody should start a thread in the forum if there isn't one already
TNOTB is a very good album, but it doesn't qualify to my favourite Maiden album top 5.
Loading...
02.09.2008 - 11:03
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Written by Spyroid on 01.09.2008 at 23:33

Written by BloodTears on 01.09.2008 at 23:18

Well, I like The Prisoner. So I think that is arguable


Haha really of topic, somebody should start a thread in the forum if there isn't one already
TNOTB is a very good album, but it doesn't qualify to my favourite Maiden album top 5.


Sorry I know we should be talking about somewhere in time.

I was just saying that I don't think the prisoner and run to the hills are fillers at all. But other than that I agree, it's not perfect. And it's not on my top 5 eihter.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
12.09.2008 - 06:51
IronBlackZepp
This is a great album, I love the entire theme of it, its very chilling. All of the songs are great, no filler. It is hard to say that any of the albums from Number of the beast all the way to Seventh Son are any better then one another. They all have great themes and are filled with great songs.
Loading...
30.09.2008 - 03:29
Nicko's Nose
Best. Album. Ever.

and yeah, TNOTB is a bit overrated...
Loading...
27.10.2008 - 06:43
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
What a cool song ''Alexander the great'', an epic.. and amazing lyrics on Heaven can wait.. very good album.
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
28.11.2008 - 12:08
Powerslavex
Alexskywalker
This album is underrated allof the 8 songs listed are unique my favourite is Caught Somewhere In Time the way bruce screams it is great
Loading...
09.04.2009 - 04:46
Greydan
Account deleted
Great review, man. Very true, indeed. My favorite Maiden album, TBH. And "Loneliness...." I can honestly say is my favorite Maiden tune.
Loading...
25.07.2009 - 00:19
Nosurper
Stinky Lips
Pretty much spot on rating and a great review to boot. Underrated is right, "Caught Somewhere In Time" is probably my second favorite Iron Maiden song behind the almighty "Hallowed By Thy Name". Personally, I find "Stranger in a Strange Land" the ONLY weak song on this album. The synthesizers give the songs extra depth and atmosphere. The album cover is great with the "computer" font spelling out Somewhere In Time. Not to mention the lyrical focus on themes relating to time in nearly each and every song...AHH such a great album.
----
Loading...
25.07.2009 - 01:00
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight
I think i really gotta pay more attention to this album...
----
So behold the flight of the sapphire dragon
soaring through the skies once again


Loading...
26.07.2009 - 18:32
tea[m]ster
Au Pays Natal
This is my favorite Maiden album...seriously. Maybe it has alot to do with the introduction of guitar synths in Maidens music.
----
rekt
Loading...
26.07.2009 - 18:55
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight
Well i paid more attention, but still i prefer other albums more (SSOSS and Powerslave from 80ties)
----
So behold the flight of the sapphire dragon
soaring through the skies once again


Loading...
06.12.2009 - 20:28
BORT
Omg The Loneliness Of The Long Distance Runner is soooo good. One of my favorites on this album. Not filler at all
Loading...
19.02.2010 - 20:58
x-avier
The atmosphere of this album is just amazing. Each song is incredible and fits perfect to to albums theme. Sea of madness and alexander the great are my favorite ones. The riff guitars are just so catchy so 80´s. Is the best Steve Harris album performing the bass. Is just not just the typical galoping, you have riffs that goes with the guitars, solos, some good scales I mean is just a masterpiece. The syntheziser is just the perfect way to complement the atmosphere not only SPACE TRAVEL but also a lot 80´s which is a combination with the heavy metal they are performing just amazing. My favorite Iron Maiden album, far away from any other.
Loading...
19.02.2010 - 22:55
Lord_Regnier
Probably my favorite Maiden album. Though I've never been really able to decide between Powerslave, SIT and SSOASS.
----
"Why would we fear death, when life is so much more frightening?"
Loading...
26.07.2011 - 02:52
BeastOfMetal456
Account deleted
Loneliness is no way filler. The chorus is kinda weak, but overally, it's a very decent song.
Loading...
26.07.2015 - 16:44
Bad English
Masterchief
Only Maiden can pull this one, in some way its different, some say let down, you put it on, start listen ehh, when its end, you cant get enough... I like ebery Maiden albums, unless latest what does suck ,...
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...

Hits total: 7341 | This month: 29