Profetus - Saturnine review



Reviewer:
N/A

5 users:
7.80
Band: Profetus
Album: Saturnine
Release date: 2007


01. The Skull of Silence [12:31]
02. Winter Solstice [15:49]


Since this demo was released in 2007 in a limited edition of 200 cassettes and was sent to magazines and webzines as cdr for reviewing purposes in 2008 it is about time that I get round to reviewing it.


All of you are probably wondering what kept me this long… first off I am not one of the quickest around when it comes to reviewing stuff. Actually Mr. Procrastination would be a name well-suited to yours truly. At times I am slower than the music on this demo. Another reason for my procrastination concerning the review of this demo is that upon first listen I was so blown away by it, and also upon subsequent listens, that I thought that I was missing some sort of element which would make it less impressive. After having had this 28 minute disc for about half a year now it is safe to say… it is still as impressive as the first time I heard it.

Enough small talk, on to the music itself now; Profetus are a Finnish funeral doom band in the bleakest sense of the word. For those people seeking references to other bands; think some sort of divine mix of Skepticism, Thergothon, Unholy, Tyranny for Finnish influences and a bit of Worship as foreign ingredient thrown in there as well.
The funeral doom connoisseur knows what to expect now; like I just said, bleak funeral doom.

Saturnine consists of two tracks clocking in at 28:20. No intro or outro no filler interlude just two killer tracks, namely The Skull Of Silence and Winter Solstice. Both funeral dirges are characterised by its solemn built up and all enveloping cold blanket of snow, just plodding forth and building up to a sudden demise.

Funeral doom fans will do well by trying to track this beautiful ditty down. I have it from hearsay that Profetus will be releasing their debut full-length album later this year. And mark my words; that debut will leave quite a mark on the funeral doom world not witnessed since a long long time.

Now it's time for these guys to leave the shores of Finland and play some gigs near me… Might I suggest Bredadoom, Dutch Doom Days or just a tour with a likeminded band such as Tyranny?

Since this is a demo I will not award a score to it. But rest assured I will be running to the store to get their debut album once it is released.

Written by Marcel Hubregtse | 23.03.2009


 


Comments

Comments: 9   Visited by: 82 users
24.03.2009 - 00:28
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Be sure to check this gem out.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
24.03.2009 - 06:19
Daggon
Underpaid M.D.
I'm not that much into doom metal, but some albums you have recommended on your reviews are very good, so I'll check their myspace for now. Nice review.
----
"Les vers savent qu'ils n'ont pas d'ailes, c'est pour cela qu'ils se cachent sous terre"
Loading...
24.03.2009 - 19:16
Shadowcross
The Summoner
Sounds intriguing
Loading...
31.03.2009 - 02:56
BitterCOld
Gringo
I checked out their myspace page and really liked what i heard. thanks for the pointer.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
14.05.2009 - 14:12
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Okay the full-length has been released now. Just recieved the promo of it today. SO rest assured a review will be up some time soon (or not so soon knowing me )
Had one listen up to now and it promises everything I thought it would.
THE extreme doom release of the year up to now (fafter just one listen) for me.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
31.12.2009 - 15:50
kaoskrew
Yes it's a very good album from what I've listened to. Shame they don't link making connections with the on myspace!
----
John
Kaos Krew Promotions
"Metal Music Facilitators"
Sponsors of Black Winter Day http://www.blackwinterday.co.uk
Loading...
31.12.2009 - 15:58
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by kaoskrew on 31.12.2009 at 15:50

Shame they don't link making connections with the on myspace!


Maybe I am totally thick today, which of course is a huge possibility But I don't get what you're trying to get across here.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
08.01.2010 - 17:06
kaoskrew
I was trying to get in touch with them on myspace but they don't accept friend requests or you can't e-mail then unless a friend. A bit of a catch 22...like I said sounds like they don't want people to make friends with them.
----
John
Kaos Krew Promotions
"Metal Music Facilitators"
Sponsors of Black Winter Day http://www.blackwinterday.co.uk
Loading...
08.01.2010 - 17:17
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by kaoskrew on 08.01.2010 at 17:06

I was trying to get in touch with them on myspace but they don't accept friend requests or you can't e-mail then unless a friend. A bit of a catch 22...like I said sounds like they don't want people to make friends with them.



Strange.
I know that http://www.psychedoomelic.com still sells this demo (but on cassette, I think the cd version was only for reviewing purposes)
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...

Hits total: 4707 | This month: 19