Obscura - Cosmogenesis review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.5

506 users:
8.61
Band: Obscura
Album: Cosmogenesis
Release date: February 2009


01. Anticosmic Overload
02. Choir Of Spirits
03. Universe Momentum
04. Incarnated
05. Orbital Elements
06. Desolate Spheres
07. Infinite Rotation
08. Noospheres
09. Cosmogenesis
10. Centric Flow


Got the cd in my hands and the bandname tips its hat to a classic Gorguts album, the logo is reminiscent of the classic Obituary logo and the cover art is futuristic depicting something cosmological. Conclusion: This must be a technical death metal band. And, lo and behold, it is. What band and album am I talking about? Obscura's sophomore album Cosmogenesis, of course.

First off, it is almost impossible to compare Cosmogenesis to the band's debut Retribution because only guitarist/vocalist Steffen Kummerer is stilll present in the current line-up. But just looking at the line-up that recorded Cosmogenesis will be enough to make your average tech death metal drool. Because what have we here? Christian Muenzer on guitars and Hannes Grossmann on drums, both ex-Necrophagist and, damn, are my eyes deceiving me? Nope, they aren't. Cosmogenesis sees the return of fretless bass master Jeroen Paul Thesseling to the realms of metal. How have I missed that man's bass playing ever since he starred on Pestilence's Spheres

Such a line-up can, of course, turn out utterly brilliant or a complete failure. For me a failure would be an album sounding like Necrophagist's technical death metal wankery for showing-off sake where the focus on proper song-writing has been totally lost. But thank God they have been merciful on me, cause one thing Cosmogenesis does feature is proper songs that consist of a head and a tail.

Proceedings do start off with, what can be regarded as, the weakest song of the album. "Anticosmic Overload" is a quite generic death metal tune which is full of shredding and is only lifted above average by JPT's incredible fretless bass playing. His bass playing, is without a doubt, the highlight of the album. DiGiorgio, Webster et. al. move over for the one and only true master of death metal bass. Jeroen utilises his bass in most cases as a solo instrument and not just as a rhythmic device. The production really does accentuate that as well placing it nice and prominently in the mix.

Come track number two "Choir Of Spirits" Obscura starts to show more of an own identity although it keeps on reminding me of Cynic's "Veil Of Maya". But that must certainly be due to the use of a vocoder here. And checking the liner notes it shows that Tymon Kruidenier of Cynic is featured on this song. Being a young (except Jeoren that is) band some influences are bound to shine through. As is also the case with "Incarnated" which comes across as a tribute to later era Death.
Apart from Tymon guesting on this album we also see Ron Jarzombek of Spastic Ink fame guest. His guitar skills can be admired in the title track "Cosmosgenesis".

Cosmogenesis is over before the listener notices it. That is a major strength of the album cause it makes you play it again immediately upon termination. Ten songs in all and all short enough to keep you focused. And a total sigh of relief on my part for it not containing any pointless showing off and wankery. Every single instrument plays in service of the song proper.

In conclusion one can say this is one mighty impressive album which any self-respecting fan of technical death metal should get, or at least give a fair try. But beware... if you prefer instrumental wankery where all sight of a proper song is lost such as Necrophagist lets loose upon the world then Cosmogenesis is most probably lost on you.

The strong point of Cosmogenesis are its songs which flow naturally and have a cool groove to them. And the major highlight of the album is totally Jeroen's incredible bass playing. A minor setback, to this otherwise wonderful album, is that it clearly showcases the band's influences thus taking away from its originality. But I am sure that come next album the influences will have diminished almost totally.

Written by Marcel Hubregtse | 16.06.2009


 


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 44   Visited by: 505 users
16.09.2009 - 06:02
Galar
Wicked Mung
Good music is good music
----
YOUR ARGUMENT IS INVALID, SUCK A DICK
Loading...
24.09.2009 - 08:34
Daggon
Underpaid M.D.
Today I listened a lot of tech death metal, so I gave a try to this album and I found it very enjoyable, not all songs are good, but the lyrics are cool and as Marcel said, the bass guitar plays a nice role and it's not just a secondary instrument. I think that with 8 songs it could be a great listen. I didnt't find it perfect, but maybe the next album will kickass even more than this one.
----
"Les vers savent qu'ils n'ont pas d'ailes, c'est pour cela qu'ils se cachent sous terre"

Loading...
03.10.2009 - 04:42
wormdrink414
Album of the year so far.
Loading...
10.12.2009 - 13:49
InnerSelf
proofread free
For me it is the best Death metal album for this year and NOT Nile's overrated FWTGD
the bass playing captured my attention and the way the instrument put is in the production is perfect
not an average album it is something realy beyond
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
05.02.2010 - 20:32
Maxx666
Meshuggahian
Such a great album. The atmosphere sometimes reminds me of Decrepit Birth-Diminishing between worlds.
Loading...
19.02.2010 - 15:31
₣rost Giant
One of my favorite albums.
Loading...
02.03.2010 - 23:22
StratoDan1990
What can I say about this album? It's full of energy, just what you need in a fucking good metal album. The bass is second to none, and the vocalist is great! This CD sums up exactly how I like my metal. Fast, heavy and full of pure energy!! If they continue to make better releases than this, then this band are guna do seriously well. This band is capable of a lot !
Loading...
13.03.2010 - 18:22
I_Die_Often
It's one of the best!
----
Old enough to be your Daddy... speaking of which... you look familiar... do I know your mother???
Loading...
14.03.2010 - 04:01
Lord_Regnier
Written by Mr. Doctor on 17.06.2009 at 14:19

In any case... I see Tech Death pretty much as prog metal... good music but not a single drop of emotions.


That's how I see Death Metal in general. And the reason why I prefer Thrash and Black Metal a hundred times over Death Metal. I never liked DM, apart from a few very rare exceptions. The fact that I hate growls in general really doesn't help either.
----
"Why would we fear death, when life is so much more frightening?"
Loading...
11.04.2010 - 01:52
MetalDoomMaster
My only problem with this album the the lack of creating any sort of brutal sound, which is why I think Retribution is a little bit better, some of the guitar riffs from the previous album sound similar to something Death would do, which is cool too. Both Retribution and Cosmogenesis are amazing albums though.
Loading...
25.02.2011 - 10:56
wormdrink414
Curious to know if any of you still listen to this. I burnt out on it early last year and haven't put it on since.
Loading...
26.02.2011 - 00:52
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by wormdrink414 on 25.02.2011 at 10:56

Curious to know if any of you still listen to this. I burnt out on it early last year and haven't put it on since.

I think I only listened to it once or twice in 2010. Sometimes if I shuffle my Zune a song will come on and I usually listen to it right to the end - for me the songs still have a lot of energy and aggressiveness. I remember when I first listened to it, I was floored. I'd probably give it an 8/10 as opposed to a 8.5 now.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
27.02.2011 - 11:45
Deadmeat
Necrobutcher
"But I am sure that come next album the influences will have diminished almost totally."

i feel that this is the best thing said on this review as i am listening to the new songs and comparing them with the songs of the previous album...
----
Υou've sold your human essence to the cold world of dead and empty things... You're SOLD!
Loading...
12.03.2011 - 08:57
Grody2themax
"But beware... if you prefer instrumental wankery where all sight of a proper song is lost such as Necrophagist" Lol, my favorite part of the review because I've always thought this and could rarely find anyone else who agreed with me. Its not that Necrophagist plays "bad" music, its just that I could never really listen to it. Yea, it has a lot of notes, but in Necrophagist's case, it doesnt really compliment the music very much. At least in my opinion.

I really disagreed with some of the comments on this haha. Prog/Tech Death not having enough emotion? Necrophagist or mathcore may have very little emotion, but real prog/tech death bands I would completely disagree.
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 11851 | This month: 28