Wednesday 13 - Transylvania 90210 : Songs Of Death, Dying And The Dead review


20 users:
Band: Wednesday 13
Album: Transylvania 90210 : Songs Of Death, Dying And The Dead
Release date: April 2005

01. Post Mortem Boredom
02. Look What The Bats Dragged In
03. I Walked With A Zombie
04. Bad Things
05. House By The Cemetery
06. God Is A Lie
07. Haunt Me
08. Transylvania 90210
09. I Want You… Dead
10. Buried by Christmas
11. Elect Death For President
12. Rot For Me
13. The Ghost of Vincent Price
14. A Bullet Named Christ
15. Thank You Satan [Japanese bonus]

When I started using Metal Storm in the winter of 2007, Wednesday 13 did not have a profile here, but I was aware of him. It hasn't been until quite recent that someone opened this profile for him. Two years prior to that, before I got into metal, before I knew that Metal Storm existed, and before I even turned 13 years old, Wednesday 13 put out Transylvania 90210 Songs of Death, Dying, And The Dead on April 13 2005 via Roadrunner Records. I remember the video for "I Walked With A Zombie" was put out shortly before the album. I remember how the website looked like, and yes I remember almost every picture from that year's photo session. The era of Transylvania 90210 is the autumn of Wednesday 13's career.

Wednesday 13's music with Murderdolls and Frankenstein Drag's Queens From Planet 13 is known to be horror and violence themed with a twist of humor. Often this music is really immature. The project of Murderdolls was completely a joke. The theme of violence and horror does carry onto Transylvania 90210, but maturity has played a huge role in the music. A little bit of humor is found on a couple tracks, but not to a point where it is ridiculously immature. In fact, the whole album is enjoyable. Personally I would recommend it to those who are really into death metal due to the violent lyrical themes and outstanding guitar solos that take you for a zombie-watching ride around the cemetery. The only difference is obviously the vocals. Instead of deep guttural grunts and growls, Wednesday 13's vocal style is what's called heat.

Transylvania 90210 starts with the bell-chiming intro "Post Mortem Boredom". From there it kicks right into the bloody-torn gut of the album "Look At What The Bats Dragged In", a two and a half minutes bat slicing track with a great guitar solo and of course horrifying lyrics. Then it is followed by the two singles "I Walked With A Zombie" and "Bad Things". "Bad Things" has the most shocking lyrics in the whole album. These amazing guitar riffs carry on with "House By The Cemetery" and "God Is A Lie". Here the album takes a slight turn away from the fast paced guitars and goes a bit slow. A more haunting section of the cemetery. "Haunt Me" kicks in. This track contains the first bass solo on the album. After the track "Transylvania 90210", the album goes back to the fast paced guitars with "I Want You…Dead", one of the best tracks on the album. "Buried By Christmas" then goes into the humor direction of the cemetery. This section is then concluded with "Elect Death For President", a song that mocks politics (keep in mind this album was put out a few months after the American election of George W. Bush vs. John Kerry). "Rot For Me" then kicks in making a turn back to the fast paced slicing guitars section of the cemetery followed by "The Ghost Of Vincent Price". Transylvania 90210 then enters it's casket with the track "A Bullet Named Christ", the crucial track that remarks the musical maturity of Wednesday 13. The music is mostly keyboards and does consist a verse that uses the violin voice. The vocals on this track are slightly more melo but yet haunting.

Although it's not metal (it's shock rock), Transylvania 90210 is phenomenal and is worth being checked out. After listening to Bloodbath, Cannibal Corpse, Obituary, and old Cryptopsy all day, it makes sense to listen to Transylvania 90210 for a change but yet maintain the horror and death-shocking theme. "See you in the graveyard at midnight".

Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 9

Written by Vikingocalypse; | 07.07.2009


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Hits total: 2237 | This month: 5