Rating:
9.0
Finntroll - Nifelvind
17 February 2010


Disc I
01. Blodmarsch (Intro)
02. Solsagan
03. Den Frusna Munnen
04. Ett Norrskensdåd
05. I Trädens Sång
06. Tiden Utan Tid
07. Galgasång
08. Mot Skuggornas Värld
09. Under Bergets Rot
10. Fornfamnad
11. Dråp
12. Under Dvärgens Fot [limited edition bonus]

Disc II [Limited tour edition]
01. Insects [Oingo Boingo cover]
02. Can You Forgive Her? [Pet Shop Boys cover]
03. The God That Failed [Metallica cover]


The trolls are back and have never sounded so comfortable in their own skin. Nifelvind is album number five, and once again shows another step in the direction of complete musical freedom. This is an album where chaos is summoned and fit into place to form a well-rounded and quirky piece of work to remember.

Nifelvind is one of those kitchen sink albums where every idea, no matter how weird was kept and used in some way. Each song on the album has it's own separate identity, be it an up-beat, sing-along folk metal classic such as "Under Bergets Rot", acoustic troll encounter "Galgasång", or Finntroll almost oriental style with "Ett Norrskensdåd". Slower, heavier songs meet with black metal pandemonium, but whatever the style, you're always going to find some weird and wonderful instrument accompanying it somewhere along the line.

This album is more Finntroll than ever before, and you're never going to be short of material to sing, drink, chant or headbang to. This is extreme folk metal with a difference, Nifelvind is extremely varied and diverse, and is enjoyable in a far more gratifying and indulgent way than the majority of bands in the now stale and unimaginative folk metal scene. Nifelvind is an extremely earthy album, you'll feel filthy by the end but will have enjoyed it all the same. This is the soundtrack to troll life; you can almost imagine a maddening journey through an endless cave to the brilliant "I Trädens Sang".

The band are on top form, and Vreth has come into his own element now sounding a vital and intrinsic part of the band. With Nifelvind, Finntroll have released an album that is not immediately catchy or gimmicky, but given time to get your head your head around, this more than puts Finntroll back on the genre's throne with an extremely rewarding album to enjoy. More than ever, Finntroll have evolved into a band playing their own unique form of extreme folk metal music, as opposed to a band simply playing a style of music.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 9


Band profile: Finntroll
Album: Nifelvind


 



Written on 25.02.2010 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 30  
Users visited: 408  
Search this topic:  


Valaskjalf - 25.02.2010 at 15:42  
Pretty good album, quite similar to Ur Jordens Djup but in my view not as strong with less killer songs. I feel 9/10 is probably a little high I dont consider it a brilliant album, would probably give it around 7.5/10
Overlord_PT - 25.02.2010 at 16:01  
Indeed, the album is very good, only one not so good song (the third one)
arj - 25.02.2010 at 16:11  
The album rules. Back to the old form. Love it
Uirapuru - 25.02.2010 at 17:13  
Not that good at all.

Its an ok folk metal work, not even close to some of Finntroll early works... a less catchy album, which is definetly what im NOT looking in a folk metal album.
Valaskjalf - 25.02.2010 at 17:34  
Written by Uirapuru on 25.02.2010 at 17:13

Not that good at all.

Its an ok folk metal work, not even close to some of Finntroll early works... a less catchy album, which is definetly what im NOT looking in a folk metal album.


Yeah I must agree. It really isnt very catchy thats why I think 9/10 is perhaps a bit high.
ApocalypticaMax3 - 25.02.2010 at 20:02  
There has been a style change in Finntroll's sound, and I think you have to see them as folkish black metal more than pure folk metal. I think that therefore, it could justify their songs not being as catchy as Jakten tid or Trollhammaren, for example. Yet, it still has this whole Humppa feeling to it.

Still, I agree with the review that they have attained a pretty mature sound that makes them stand out from the massive Folk metal scene. There's a LOT more diversity on this album than the last ones, in my opinion, and every song got their own "personality".

I guess it's a question of taste, I'm okay with their sound not being as catchy as they were before, because I find what they do now a whole lot better. ^^'
Vitriolic Hate - 25.02.2010 at 20:02  
I haven't listened it yet,so I don't know if it's good as the review says or not
Marcus - 25.02.2010 at 20:46  
Only thing I'm worried about is the vocals on this album, their new vocalist is pretty bad.
Valaskjalf - 25.02.2010 at 21:13  
Written by ApocalypticaMax3 on 25.02.2010 at 20:02

There has been a style change in Finntroll's sound, and I think you have to see them as folkish black metal more than pure folk metal. I think that therefore, it could justify their songs not being as catchy as Jakten tid or Trollhammaren, for example. Yet, it still has this whole Humppa feeling to it.

Still, I agree with the review that they have attained a pretty mature sound that makes them stand out from the massive Folk metal scene. There's a LOT more diversity on this album than the last ones, in my opinion, and every song got their own "personality".

I guess it's a question of taste, I'm okay with their sound not being as catchy as they were before, because I find what they do now a whole lot better. ^^'


Well yeah I agree that their new direction isnt out and out folk metal and the darker sound is actually quite refreshing, the way it was done on Ur Jorden Djup on which they started the whole "dark folk" vibe. Yet even though that album was very different from the earlier album it still had some seriously catchy songs on there. The new album is kinda dark but the catchy portions of the songs are weak.
fade - 25.02.2010 at 21:15  
A true fresh breath of Trollish air....
visiblenoise - 25.02.2010 at 21:30  
Written by Marcus on 25.02.2010 at 20:46

Only thing I'm worried about is the vocals on this album, their new vocalist is pretty bad.


new vocalist has a powerful voice! it's not as nuanced as the previous, but he is very far from sucking.
Aeox - 25.02.2010 at 21:32  
Great album! Definitely 8.8/10... also a good review.
EarlHaakon - 26.02.2010 at 00:32  
Nifelvind is awesome. I didn't find it that good at the first listening but after listening it throught couple of times it opened up and it's just awesome. And Vreth is a great vocalist!
Uller - 26.02.2010 at 08:20  
Written by EarlHaakon on 26.02.2010 at 00:32

Nifelvind is awesome. I didn't find it that good at the first listening but after listening it throught couple of times it opened up and it's just awesome. And Vreth is a great vocalist!


Same to me, the first time that i listen to it, i said meeh ok..., but after a couple of times i culdnt stop laughing and dancing to this awesome album, specially the last 4 songs makes me thing about a haunted house in a swamp or so.

Great album, but im agree 9(brilliant) is to much, i gave it an 8 (very good)
schwanderen - 26.02.2010 at 12:07  
Considering a 6 is a low score here on metalstorm i think that a 9 for Nifelvind is a fair score. It's the most solid album the trolls have come out with since Jagtens tid. Nice too see artist that are able to breath life in their own niche, even aften 5 albums.
MétalNoir - 26.02.2010 at 18:28  
This sucks, I can't even find this album anywhere... I've been waiting for so long, damn. Anyway, I agree their dark era is very good, IMO much better than pre-Ur Jordens Djup albums, which were mostly bad (Nattfod fucking sucks). And Vreth is definitely their best vocalist to date. The original one sounded weird and Tapio was just bad.
Marcus - 26.02.2010 at 22:07  
Written by visiblenoise on 25.02.2010 at 21:30

Written by Marcus on 25.02.2010 at 20:46

Only thing I'm worried about is the vocals on this album, their new vocalist is pretty bad.


new vocalist has a powerful voice! it's not as nuanced as the previous, but he is very far from sucking.


I dunno, I'm going to have to politely disagree. I think their vocalist lacks the fun attributes in his voice while i also don't think his more blackened style fits with their music, at least from Ur Jordens Djup, havent listened to Nifelvind yet though.
regallmigthy - 27.02.2010 at 17:12  
Very good review, i agree with a 9/10
deathead - 01.03.2010 at 22:57  
I think its a great album. Took about 4 or 5 listens before i really got into it.

9/10 for me
the stranger - 02.03.2010 at 22:28  
Never been a Finntroll fan, but this album is really good, not excellent or great.
Skatmat - 25.03.2010 at 14:20  
Absolutely one of their bests. I was very happy to hear this refreshing sound, i think it would've been boring if they would have sounded just like before. And Mathias' voice has developed so much. This is a masterpiece. It takes a bit longer time to get into the songs than before, and I love that, it makes it much more interesting.
White Winter Sun - 01.04.2010 at 01:16  
Finally I bought it, and I have no regrets. Nifelvind is a pretty solid album.

By the way, nice review Barry.
Jiri - 06.05.2010 at 03:24  
Another Finntroll album. Solid, but nothing special.
Necrodamus - 02.07.2010 at 21:05  
Great review, good album. My personal fav will always be Nattfodd, though.
akvan - 18.07.2010 at 04:34  
Nifelvind is my god
Mitch0002 - 04.08.2010 at 11:11  
This was my 1st Folk Metal cd and not gonna lie, I belive this deserves Album of the Year, at least in my opinion, i love this album
elseif - 11.08.2010 at 05:08  
Feels good to be a troll
Growing - 22.02.2011 at 21:40  
This is like folk-metal made experimental.Cool.
Grody2themax - 04.07.2011 at 08:21  
When I first listened to this album last year, I was wondering why I had even bought it. However, ever since Ive always been perplexed at why I didn't see anything in it the first time I listened to it. It took me a little while to fully understand it and see the creativity in it.

In terms of folk metal, its definitely one of my favorites.
Parasomnia - 14.12.2011 at 21:44  
Written by ApocalypticaMax3 on 25.02.2010 at 20:02

There has been a style change in Finntroll's sound, and I think you have to see them as folkish black metal more than pure folk metal. I think that therefore, it could justify their songs not being as catchy as Jakten tid or Trollhammaren, for example. Yet, it still has this whole Humppa feeling to it.

Still, I agree with the review that they have attained a pretty mature sound that makes them stand out from the massive Folk metal scene. There's a LOT more diversity on this album than the last ones, in my opinion, and every song got their own "personality".

I guess it's a question of taste, I'm okay with their sound not being as catchy as they were before, because I find what they do now a whole lot better. ^^'


+1

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Finntroll - Ur Jordens Djup 7.5 10.04.2007 by Jeff
Articles Finntroll, Battlelore - Nottingham, England, 25th September 2009 6.5 27.09.2009 by Ellrohir
Articles Amon Amarth, Finntroll - Nottingham, England, 14th April 2007 5 15.04.2007 by Baz Anderson
Reviews Mithras - Time Never Lasts 4.5 19.10.2011 by Baz Anderson
Reviews Joop Wolters - Out Of Order 4.5 11.06.2007 by Walter Iego



Hits total: 7150 | This month: 45