Rating:
7.4
Ghost B.C. - Opus Eponymous
18 October 2010


01. Deus Culpa
02. Con Clavi Con Dio
03. Ritual
04. Elizabeth
05. Stand By Him
06. Satan Prayer
07. Death Knell
08. Prime Mover
09. Genesis
10. Here Comes The Sun [The Beatles cover] [Japanese bonus]


The album art to this release does a pretty decent job at grabbing your attention and teasing you with what is to come. The cover, featuring an evil, blue skeletal ghost necro-pope looming massively over a large, creepy mansion, is an homage to Salem's Lot.

Stylistically it could best be described as a homage to the late 60's proto-metal "evil" psychedelic rock bands crossbred with evil early 80's bands. Think Mercyful Oyster Sabbath. Largely catchy retro-psychedelic rock based with the occasional foray into post-Priest metal riffing patterns. Aside from the guitars, groovy bass, and drums there is also an organ that helps with intros and permeates the songs, providing the tracks with a cloaking, sinister fog. The vocals are clean and sung. No shouting, nor growling, or King Diamond falsetto… they're a bit iffy, but clean and catchy enough that they wouldn't seem out of place on your local classic rock station.

Well, you might hear these guys on your FM dial if not for the lyrics. This band is obsessed with the devil. If you were to take a swig of beer each time they reference Satam, you would likely go into full-blown liver failure before the album ends.

So circling back to the artwork, given what has been discussed, the first listen through the album made me think this would fit seamlessly as a soundtrack to a 40-year-old horror flick. The first proper song, "Con Clavi Con Dio" left me with Dario Argente-esque visions of the teen American female exchange student running through the halls of a centuries old coven-turned-ballet academy at night, during a thunderstorm, after having discovered the academy madam is plotting to kill her.

Specific? Sure. But that's the impression I got.

So these six strangers (like Spiderman, nobody knows who they are) can write catchy tunes, but have yet to figure out how to write an ending. Some of the songs use the old Bolt Thrower fade, whereas on others the band are jamming along and the track abruptly comes to an

Sounds trivial, but it is an annoyance.

So it is definitely worth checking out if you find yourself drawn to the cover art, or find yourself vaguely interested in Black Oyster Fate stylee tracks with 668 references to the devil (they couldn't stop themselves at 666…) that jam along before

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Ghost B.C.
Album: Opus Eponymous


 



Written on 28.02.2011 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››

Guest review by
s7mon

Rating:
8.3
Ghost are a young band from Stockholm, Sweden formed merely three years ago. I think it won't hurt their feelings to say that they are a part of the let's-go-back-to-the-70s-hard-rock movement. I'm sure that the vast majority of you have heard of these lads before and are wondering about what it is that makes Ghost different, or maybe even better, than The Devil's Blood, Graveyard or In Solitude?

Read more ››
published 07.11.2011 | Comments (8)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 17  
Users visited: 533  
Search this topic:  


Marcel Hubregtse - 28.02.2011 at 02:41  
Love the "abruptly comes to an " part. That and the fades outs annoyed me as well.
Although I have an immense soft dpot for this band ever since their Elizabeth 7" I think it's the Mercyful Fate vibe and at times vocal lines that draw me in.
Wonder how they are live. Will be seeing them supporting Paradise Lost on March 29.
personally I would rate it between 7.4 and 7.7 myself depending on my mood.
Ag Fox - 28.02.2011 at 03:26  
Fantastically written XD
I love this album so much I voted for them in the HM category (thank you MS awards for letting me discover them)
Troy Killjoy - 28.02.2011 at 06:10  
One of the better reviews I've read in a while. That being said, I don't think I'll be looking into this, at least not any time soon. I'm trying to catch up with some missed 2010 releases and getting around to more 2011 releases, so retro-sounding heavy metal really isn't on my radar.
Mr. Doctor - 28.02.2011 at 09:20  
Lmao at the "abruptly comes to an " part. Great review man, have me a couple of smiles!

I really like this stuff, not for everyday use but when you're in the mood for this kind of protpo-metal it really feels like there's nothing better than this. I like how the production is clean, it fits perfectly for this album in particular.
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 28.02.2011 at 02:41

Wonder how they are live. Will be seeing them supporting Paradise Lost on March 29.

When I crash your house I'll ask you about it, I'm thinking about seeing them in Roadburn
Mikyz - 28.02.2011 at 09:23  
I liked this album, I even bought it. It's solid, and successfully passes on their message, also I quite enjoy the sinister vibe, I'd give around an 8/10.
BudDa - 28.02.2011 at 09:44  
Love them too. Actually this album is one of my top releases of the year
!J.O.O.E.! - 28.02.2011 at 12:34  
Short and gimmicky but quite addictive. Nice review too.
Yojimbo - 28.02.2011 at 13:13  
Decent album. Got more recognition than it deserved around the web. Only one song really stood out for me.
Fat & Sassy! - 28.02.2011 at 22:25  
Mercyful Oyster Sabbath?

BEST. BAND. EVER.
drunkenhulk - 01.03.2011 at 19:49  
Love Mercyful Fate, but this one is just mediocre
doomy - 03.03.2011 at 10:50  
I really like this album
Slayer666 - 04.03.2011 at 23:41  
Man, hardcore devil-worshiping lyrics feel out of place with these poppy choruses and vocals so much that it really gets awkward. Kinda like reciting "Our Father" in church while wearing Marduk's "Fuck Me, Jesus!" shirt.
Cool review, many lols to be had.
Passenger - 05.03.2011 at 21:20  
Good album, but somehow sounds too soft and not heavy or "crispy" enough
WickedBuddhi - 06.03.2011 at 04:59  
The perfect album for Halloween. I usually dig out Type O Negative- World Coming Down, but this album came out at the right time and just made my Halloween.
Herrjames - 07.03.2011 at 15:38  
This album is pretty addictive
Sonic MrSumo - 18.03.2013 at 07:35  
Best album cover of all time!
4look4rd - 20.09.2013 at 21:14  
If only I could get this album without the vocals or with slighly less cheesy lyrics.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Ghost - Opus Eponymous 7 07.11.2011 by The Galactican
Albums Ghost B.C. - Opus Eponymous 6 21.02.2011 by Whoblehwah
Reviews Jex Thoth - Jex Thoth 3 25.08.2009 by Ag Fox
Reviews Rising - EP 2009 3 04.03.2010 by Ellrohir
Reviews Landmine Marathon - Rusted Eyes Awake 3 20.02.2009 by Herzebeth



Hits total: 7762 | This month: 53