Rating:
7.3
Artillery - My Blood
9 March 2011


01. Mi Sangre (The Blood Song)
02. Monster
03. Dark Days
04. Death Is An Illusion
05. Ain't Giving In
06. Prelude To Madness
07. Thrasher
08. Warrior Blood
09. Concealed In The Dark
10. End Of Eternity
11. The Great
12. The Almighty [2011 version][Japanese bonus]
13. Show Your Hate [2011 version][digipak bonus]
14. Eternal War [2011 version][digipak bonus]


Artillery is one of those classic second/third-tier 80's thrash bands that took the better part of nearly two decades off ('99's B.A.C.K. is their only release between 1990 and 2009), before re-launching with the thrash-revival movement and pumping out some albums.

My Blood kicks off on all cylinders, with "Mi Sangre" (The Blood Song) , a blazing track with a middle-Eastern sound in the vein of the By Inheritance openers "7:00 From Tashkent/Khomaniac". The momentum carries forward the next couple songs, "Monster" and "Dark Days". It's a rapid-fire thrash assault, excellent production, driving beat, and lots of blazing solos.

By the time they hit the 5th track, they are starting to follow the trajectory that Heathen did with their latest. "Ain't Giving In" just felt cheesy. The song was decent, the ballady bits lost some of the momentum of the opening tracks and the lyrics just had me rolling my eyes. It sounded a bit like someone tried to work some of Charlie Sheen's more lucid ranting into a thrash anthem.

"I ain't giving in/to all your goddamn rules/I'm gonna (duh) win/ I don't listen to fools"

Swell, seeing as they don't listen to fools, I'm sure they won't lose sleep over the rest of the review.

The remainder of the album just doesn't quite hold up to the blazing tracks that opened it. The music is still pretty good, fast, with lots of solos just begging for metalheads to air guitar along with. They just don't seem to be quite as strong as Side 1.

And the lyrics seems to wander too close to Manowar territory… or for old school wrestling fans, like one of Ultimate Warrior's tangents. Climbing mountains alone and fighting like lions, side-by-side before crawling into Satan's armpit (no shit) in an effort to end the world.

I guess lyrics don't really matter for the most part. I generally don't look to metal bands for deep philosophy or anything, but when the vocalist sings as cleanly and clearly as Søren does, one but cannot help but consider them as part of the overall package. At least when black metal frontmen named after obscure Tolkien characters shriek about burrowing into Satan's armpit to exact vengeance for grade school slights, I'm at least oblivious to all but the basic spite of the message.

So all in all it's a fast-paced ripping affair that rages along at double time with technical riffs and fun solos. I enjoyed it well enough, but not quite as much as I did the 2010 releases by other 80's Thrash stalwarts Exodus, Heathen, or even their own 2009 release, When Death Comes.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 8


Band profile: Artillery
Album: My Blood


 



Written on 05.04.2011 by
Xnoybis
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by Xnoybis ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 346  
Search this topic:  


Ozman - 05.04.2011 at 23:11  
"crawling into Satan's armpit"? How sweet. So they curl up put thumb in mouth and fall asleep in satan's armpit like a todler.
Troy Killjoy - 05.04.2011 at 23:34  
I found this to be a very hit-and-miss album. The catchy riffs really caught my attention, but the vocals were off-putting and sometimes the harmonies went a little overboard. This is of course coming from someone who didn't really enjoy When Death Comes either. By Inheritance is still one of my favorite thrash metal albums of all time though.
Chainer - 06.04.2011 at 00:25  
Hey whats wrong with climbing mountains/fighting like lions? Personally I enjoy Satan's armpit. Its pretty cozy and it doesn't smell half as bad as you would think.
Otherwise solid review, o and congrats on finishing your dissertation Dr. COld
Et Ermit - 06.04.2011 at 02:46  
This cover artwork remembers me somehow of Dance of death cover
K†ulu - 06.04.2011 at 10:49  
"I am gonna (duh) win" I'd say the description is quite accurate overall. Good job.
Xnoybis - 06.04.2011 at 11:02  
Written by K†ulu on 06.04.2011 at 10:49

"I am gonna (duh) win" I'd say the description is quite accurate overall. Good job.


Thanks. incidentally, i have a lot of reviews on queue for now... like another 8 more or something. (first label assigned to me has shown me nothing but love and disks in the last 30 days) some point after that I might do a counter-review to yours for Dark Angel. haha.
K†ulu - 06.04.2011 at 16:03  
Written by Xnoybis on 06.04.2011 at 11:02

Written by K†ulu on 06.04.2011 at 10:49

"I am gonna (duh) win" I'd say the description is quite accurate overall. Good job.


Thanks. incidentally, i have a lot of reviews on queue for now... like another 8 more or something. (first label assigned to me has shown me nothing but love and disks in the last 30 days) some point after that I might do a counter-review to yours for Dark Angel. haha.


Oh no. That review suxx. I didn't know what I was writing. One could say that those were my tastes at the time. Now I appreciate that album more but still my rating wouldn't be much higher than the original one although the review would be different.

As far as My Blood, as I state in the album thread, it is more of the same thing, seriously. I am tired of "oriental" tunes. They are now ripping themselves off? Gosh... I was listening the other day to a band called Essence (their latest album), and their intro riff sounded like "7:00 From Tashkent." And they are from DENMARK... F****ck... And Heathen did basically the same thing on The Evolution of Chaos.

And none of those attempts sound as cool as "7:00 From Tashkent" because that riff sounds almost genuinely oriental and then is changed by some other cool structure. It is no longer original to do that (but only because it doesn't sounds too much the same). Mind that I am a huge fan of oriental elements in any sort of music, but not of cliches. I think Melechesh's main man was talking about something like a "Hollywood" version of oriental music. This to me is what all these intros sound like.

They kind of make use of the new production possibilities and the sound is fuller and stuff, but still those 2011 versions of old songs to me are pussified, ball-less interpretations if you ask me; no 80's bite, and the magic of those times' recording and production plays a huge role: it seems like it is simply impossible to emulate that sound (or feel) in modern conditions.

Besides, a lot of the material is just cheesy just like When Death Comes was.
Xnoybis - 06.04.2011 at 20:14  
Written by K†ulu on 06.04.2011 at 16:03


They kind of make use of the new production possibilities and the sound is fuller and stuff, but still those 2011 versions of old songs to me are pussified, ball-less interpretations if you ask me; no 80's bite, and the magic of those times' recording and production plays a huge role: it seems like it is simply impossible to emulate that sound (or feel) in modern conditions.

Besides, a lot of the material is just cheesy just like When Death Comes was.


the production thing is an issue which to my mind plagues both modern thrash and dm music. the new stuff sounds great and powerful, but missing some vital spark that made the 'old stuff' so awesome in the first place.
Balthazine - 17.04.2011 at 07:15  
Artillery was the band that got me into metal, and By Inheritance was and forever will be a thrash masterpiece. But When Death Comes and B.A.C.K., after they reunited were pretty disappointing albums. WDC was ok at first and I really liked it, but I grew to dislike it after several listens.

This album though, I thought was very good, of course not as good as the famed Terror Squad or By Inheritance, but certainly better then When Death Comes and B.A.C.K.

IMO, I give this album a 7.5/10

It's better then their previous two albums for sure, but not as good as By Inheritance. Soren is alright and he does fit the band, but he is no Flemming. And I think the change in vocal styles are one of the turnoffs about their new albums. They're famous for creating some pretty sick riffs though, and still hold to that reputation on every one of their albums, so there's no disappointment there.
jimmy - 30.10.2011 at 06:08  
Totally digging this album. the beats and rythms make me want to kick ass! i honestly think it's a pretty badass album all the way through. i know some might not like the ballad but i dont mind it. the album (even with it's cheesy lyrics at times) is a true ass kicker and well worth repeated listens. and i actually like the guys voice, i like the way it meshes with the music. but this is coming from someone who has never heard any of artillery's older albums, but still, i like the guys voice with the music. it works for me. he's certainly better than hetfield's been the last 10 years.
strade - 17.01.2012 at 07:57  
Yeah, nothing offensive, but not really anywhere near the league of their best releases.
Southern Wind - 27.02.2012 at 22:44  
The first four songs are pretty good, everything else is worthless... besides, there are few things I hate more in life than a thrash ballad, but Ain't Givin In is just beyond crappy
Haiwaan Das - 22.06.2012 at 17:15  
This is Kickass Stuff.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Artillery - My Blood 4.5 20.02.2011 by terror squad
Events LAT, Rīga - Fresh Blood / Cold Flesh 3 22.12.2007 by Bad English
News Bonded By Blood - To Enter The Studio 1.5 06.02.2012 by Cynic Metalhead
Albums Alkonost - Stone Heart Blood 1.5 29.06.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Albums Putrid Pile - Blood Fetish 1.5 01.06.2012 by OBR420



Hits total: 5641 | This month: 43