Metal Storm logo
Korpelarörelsen - Är Du Av Den Rätta Tron? review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
9.0

8 users:
7.88
Band: Korpelarörelsen
Album: Är Du Av Den Rätta Tron?
Release date: April 2022


01. Profas
02. Metafas
03. Anafas
04. Telofas


This is the definition of a challenging listen (and review), but if you’ve got 80 minutes to spare, of which half are post-cum-avant-black metal passages, and half are acoustic folk ambiance and menacing drones with deeply disquieting Swedish Satanic suicide UFO paedophile sex cult evangelical preaching based on a true story, there’s only one thing to do: join the Korpela movement.

It is entirely necessary to understand the concept behind this album, and for all you non-Swedes out there who might enjoy this, some translation couldn’t hurt, so excuse the verbose dialogue excerpts, and feel free to skip over them in case you don’t care (although I really think you should). Korpelarörelsen, not unlike Vainaja, have based their music on the high-concept of Toivo Korpela’s Korpela movement (or Siikavaara sect), an infamous and honest-to-god Satanic apocalypse cult grown out of the conservative, abstinence-preaching Laestadian Christian denomination in Swedish Norrland. Having been banned from Finland due to their profane beliefs, they grew into a proper sect in northern Sweden in the 1930s, that after Korpela’s exit was taken over by Sigurd Siikavaara. After being institutionalised in a mental asylum for two months in 1935, he made the sect go off the rails in the most extreme counter-reaction to Laestadianism, preaching debauchery, intoxication, and pederasty, in ecstatic ritual preparation for the return of God upon which only the 666 chosen ones would be allowed a place in… hell. Jesus perkele... Society eventually caught on to this as the sect grew to 600 people, and 60 people were incarcerated for acts of varying inappropriateness, including sex rituals with minors.

The thud of a drum, and a massive burst of static distortion washes over you, a desolate cello growls as if from the depths of hell, and a ghostly voice starts preaching to you in Swedish:

“Something is not as it is supposed to be. Like a broken lyre, the feeling in my breast chimes falsely, and no matter how I twist and tune the strings, I hear no clear tone. Why am I so terrified, and why does doubt rise up from my heart? Like the wave of the sea that is driven by the winds, thrown hither and dither, I am seeking Your answer. Everything I have done, everything I have seen, everything I have heard, is for naught. All of these sacrifices, were they not Your intention? Consistently, I am meeting the spite and scorn of the elders when I proclaim Your word, but the people thirst for Your word, and You speak through me. The youth are diligently listening and await for You, Lord, to guide them through me. Your word is the truth, Your way is the pure, You are a doctrine and can carry us forth through times like these. Oh, great God, I am waking up. Lord, let your glory enlighten me. Let the light of the lamb guide me through the shed of ignorance.”

The cello continues to growl at you, as a menacing bass guitar throws ominous lines at you. A glitch, then the chime of an eldritch church bell calls you to the congregation. Another burst of static distortion washes over you, and the preacher returns. This time in a spoken-word growl:

“Have we not waited long enough now, Lord, for You to come? And always have we been prepared, but cannot bear to wait any amount of time for You to come without being granted clearer promises. And are we not now doing what the Lord desires when we gather also new faces to our meeting, that His coming is near now. And who are those elders who say that what I preach are against the word of the scripture, when we are two and yet more who have gathered here in Your name? Are they not only afraid that they will no longer get to rule, now that You have revealed to me Your thoughts? But how can it really be my responsibility that I now am to lead the chosen ones, so that they also may reach their home?”

Searing guitar drones rape your eardrums, a melody sounding as if made by a dying animal shortly appears, and the anguished whispers that follow soon intensify into perverse screams. The preacher then returns, in a voice so distorted you cannot make out what he is no longer saying. The ambience increases steadily in intensity, the screams turn from perverse into blood-chilling, it is no longer possible to make out the words of the demented preaching. At the point the music turns into something vaguely familiar, you have been listening to “Profas” (Prophase) for exactly 15 minutes. Then, an avant-thrash black metal tremolo, the blast beats, and a gruff, baritone blackened death singing enter to scream about how we have all been waiting, and after a few minutes more, the song devolves into a mantra chanting “till helvete” (to hell), and “Profas” is over.

“Metafas” (Metaphase) starts with the black metal, and ends with over eight minutes of screamed preaching and screeching drones, before a final black metal burst, which makes it easily the most accessible track. My favourite track, “Anafas” (Anaphase), has more of a folky feeling, with some truly creepy preaching ("He lets her inner eye be observed..."), reaching ever more sexual overtones, as the whispers quote the famous quote from Revelation 13:18 “it is the number of man, and it is 666”... It is just that in Swedish, the words for “six” and “sex” are both “sex”, and instead of saying “sexhundrasextiosex” (six hundred and sixty-six), he goes “sex, sex, sex”... You get the point. After about nine minutes, a sort of Wolves In The Throne Room riff enters to the sound of war drums, and it blasts off into a beautiful folk-tinged post-black melody that remains for ten more minutes (and it works so well) before breaking down in ecstatic screaming and glitchy production tricks. “Telofas” (Telophase) is even more challenging. Evil laughter, moaning children, various sex-implying noise, and following rumbling drones for 15 minutes, a short black metal assault, and then a true curveball as it ends in a swinging folk song cleanly sung in Finnish and a final black metal assault (also in Finnish).

It is so difficult to describe this album that I run out of space to say what I really think about it. Hell, it is such a fucked up beyond comprehension album I don't even know what to think, but it really got under my skin, and I am very impressed. One of the best albums I've heard this year, for sure. Against all odds, I find myself returning for the full stay, and it sounds more powerful each time. The production is roomy yet raw. The metal sections are badass, because the varied riffs and vocals really work and are of the kind where they’re moody and blistering enough to actually deserve to be churned out for nearly 10 minutes at times. The ambience mostly works, and is really well-made, slicing itself into the subconscious effortlessly, and never gets boring, always being dynamic.

It is a very ambitious work, bloated by intention, and the concept is as sick as it is sickening. Oh, and I can't for the life of me believe this is a debut album. Holy hell. So, we have four tracks averaging 20 minutes each, of which not even half is actually black metal, but uncanny ambience, folk drones, and Swedish preaching. This is truly avant-garde, not for the faint-hearted, and it is here that you have to ask yourself: Är Du Av Den Rätta Tron? (Are You Of The Right Faith?).



Big thanks to Nejde for recommending this album to me!


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 10
Production: 9





Written on 08.09.2022 by 100% objective opinions.


Comments

Comments: 21   Visited by: 186 users
08.09.2022 - 12:12
Sand

Another sect, another review by Joel
----
Non serviam
Loading...
08.09.2022 - 12:21
Sand

Lol people in this sect really lost their shit. Delusional from the beginning but at least at one point they started doing what they really wanted to, and showed yet again the nature of a man. Nice review, thanks for the translations. Minute 16 in the second song I got a headache
----
Non serviam
Loading...
08.09.2022 - 12:23
Rating: 9
Netzach
Planewalker
Written by Sand on 08.09.2022 at 12:21

Lol people in this sect really lost their shit. Delusional from the beginning but at least at one point they started doing what they really wanted to, and showed yet again the nature of a man. Nice review, thanks for the translations. Minute 16 in the second song I got a headache

The translations begin quite innocent enough, but the further the album goes, the less I even want to translate what's being said, because some of it is truly fucked up. But the atmosphere and beautiful music really welds together, and 80 minutes feel like 40. Thanks for reading!
----
"I swore I would scratch and crawl my way back into the world of the living, and I have DONE IT!"
- Sarevok Anchev
Loading...
08.09.2022 - 13:42
Nargeus

Holy shit sign me up for a spin. Laestadianism is abundant here in my region of Finland, but I wasnt aware of this Korpela sect. Excellent review as always, keep them coming!
Loading...
08.09.2022 - 13:48
Rating: 9
Netzach
Planewalker
Written by Nargeus on 08.09.2022 at 13:42

Holy shit sign me up for a spin. Laestadianism is abundant here in my region of Finland, but I wasnt aware of this Korpela sect. Excellent review as always, keep them coming!

Ah, home city of Sentenced, I see. Yeah, the sect was based in Tornio Valley after they got expelled from Finland, and then turned immensely wrong after a while. Laestadianism seems like the kind of doctrine that would make people rebel extremely like this, however. It's quite prominent in north-eastern Sweden too. This is a really unnerving album at times, but it's pretty amazing. Kiitos ystävällisistä sanoistasi
----
"I swore I would scratch and crawl my way back into the world of the living, and I have DONE IT!"
- Sarevok Anchev
Loading...
08.09.2022 - 15:02
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
This us cool Sabbath and worship the Norrbotten
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
08.09.2022 - 15:18
Rage10000

You lost me at "sex rituals with minors."
Loading...
08.09.2022 - 15:32
Rating: 9
Netzach
Planewalker
Written by Bad English on 08.09.2022 at 15:02

This us cool Sabbath and worship the Norrbotten

Wait... What do you mean Sabbath?

Written by Rage10000 on 08.09.2022 at 15:18

You lost me at "sex rituals with minors."

Well, that's the official story, deal with it. How is a cult like this not a powerful concept for a black metal album?
----
"I swore I would scratch and crawl my way back into the world of the living, and I have DONE IT!"
- Sarevok Anchev
Loading...
08.09.2022 - 17:55
nikarg
Mod
Yeah , Nejde recommended this to me too and he added that he would also mention it to you since it is clearly more up your alley. Very interesting album on all levels. Superb review, but that's no surprise.
Loading...
08.09.2022 - 17:58
Rage10000

Quote:
Written by Rage10000 on 08.09.2022 at 15:18

You lost me at "sex rituals with minors."

Well, that's the official story, deal with it. How is a cult like this not a powerful concept for a black metal album?


I guess. But what if they like what the cult stood for? It doesn't matter. Part of the problem for me, is that I didn't really care for what I was hearing. That wasn't meant to be a slight against your well written article. I'm always testing my Metal horizons, and when I see both high reviewer and fan scores, I tend to check it out. Nothing personal.
Loading...
08.09.2022 - 18:20
Rating: 9
Netzach
Planewalker
Written by nikarg on 08.09.2022 at 17:55

Yeah , Nejde recommended this to me too and he added that he would also mention it to you since it is clearly more up your alley. Very interesting album on all levels. Superb review, bit that's no surprise.

He mentioned that! I think there's a bit of a language barrier to this album, what with all the spoken word sections. The band could stand to gain from releasing lyrics with translations if they want to reach an international crowd, as the story is a major aspect of the album. Then again, I wish I hadn't heard some of it, yet I still listen once more. Thanks for your kind words!

Written by Rage10000 on 08.09.2022 at 17:58

I guess. But what if they like what the cult stood for? It doesn't matter. Part of the problem for me, is that I didn't really care for what I was hearing. That wasn't meant to be a slight against your well written article. I'm always testing my Metal horizons, and when I see both high reviewer and fan scores, I tend to check it out. Nothing personal.

No offence taken, don't worry! Reading their Facebook posts, I am certain they are using it as a concept, nothing more... Like so many other bands The only user score as yet is my own, so it's no surprise it's as high as the review rating, hah!
----
"I swore I would scratch and crawl my way back into the world of the living, and I have DONE IT!"
- Sarevok Anchev
Loading...
08.09.2022 - 18:34
Nejde
Philosoraptor
At your service
----
"You have the right to believe in what you want. I have the right to believe it's ridiculous." - Ricky Gervais
Loading...
08.09.2022 - 18:36
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Written by Netzach on 08.09.2022 at 15:32

Written by Bad English on 08.09.2022 at 15:02

This us cool Sabbath and worship the Norrbotten

Wait... What do you mean Sabbath?




I was trying to say fly to Blåkulla, but then I think type wrong on mobile.
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
10.09.2022 - 16:30
Rating: 9
Netzach
Planewalker
Written by Nejde on 08.09.2022 at 18:34

At your service

Your service is most appreciated!
----
"I swore I would scratch and crawl my way back into the world of the living, and I have DONE IT!"
- Sarevok Anchev
Loading...
12.09.2022 - 22:00
Rating: 8
Enissa

Holy hell this was an interesting, albeit slightly fucked up, read. Thank you for another great review! Will listen and get back with my thoughts
Loading...
13.09.2022 - 22:11
X-Ray Rod
Skandino
This is mighty interesting. I'm even considering purchasing this for a full experience with the lyrics. I do think that the concept and the language are so cool that it sadly results in a barrier for others. Definitely worth the google translate for the rest. Perhaps I feel depraved curiosity due to me understanding the lyrics but also having a background in catholic schools in a catholic country where fucked up things happened more often than in the secular Scandinavia of today. So it's basically a marriage of things that interest me.

The seriousness brought by the lyrics and the excellent performance gives a very blood-chilling vibe that I would compare to Reverorum Ib Malacht but musically more structured.

Thanks a bunch for writing this review! This could very well be the black metal discovery of this year for me.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
13.09.2022 - 22:27
Rating: 9
Netzach
Planewalker
Written by X-Ray Rod on 13.09.2022 at 22:11

This is mighty interesting. I'm even considering purchasing this for a full experience with the lyrics. I do think that the concept and the language are so cool that it sadly results in a barrier for others. Definitely worth the google translate for the rest. Perhaps I feel depraved curiosity due to me understanding the lyrics but also having a background in catholic schools in a catholic country where fucked up things happened more often than in the secular Scandinavia of today. So it's basically a marriage of things that interest me.

The seriousness brought by the lyrics and the excellent performance gives a very blood-chilling vibe that I would compare to Reverorum Ib Malacht but musically more structured.

Thanks a bunch for writing this review! This could very well be the black metal discovery of this year for me.

I also want the lyrics, and would definitely translate them myself for the site if I could only find them somewhere. Some of it is pretty hard to make out due to the distortion and growls and stuff.

I think morbid curiosity is definitely a selling point of the entire album, and the concept manages to feel depraved and disturbing for real, for once. Not many bands manage that, I think, in a genre so saturated with darkness as black metal.

I'm happy you like it, so do I, obviously, and thanks for reading! One of the most memorable albums of the year, indeed. Would be really cool to see this performed live.
----
"I swore I would scratch and crawl my way back into the world of the living, and I have DONE IT!"
- Sarevok Anchev
Loading...
16.09.2022 - 10:59
Rating: 8
Enissa

So I was at the office the other day, 10 am in the morning listening to this, which sounded like someone getting grabbed and hanged slowly by the balls probably. Honestly, this threw my expectations out the window, even after reading your review, as it sounds more depraved than I expected, and I kinda like that The growls, the distortion, the static, the church bells. However, I expected the actual playing part to be bigger, but that's not an issue.

And no matter how much I searched, couldn't find the lyrics anywhere. I considered buying the actual vinyl, but I don't think it has a lyrics sheet - at least I expect the band to not include one on purpose to keep some kind of mystery to it. As disturbing and trauma-inducing some of the subject matters are, I am super curious and need to read the whole thing!

Anyways, a great finding for sure, and thanks for putting out this review and letting the people here find about it.
Loading...
16.09.2022 - 12:49
Rating: 9
Netzach
Planewalker
Written by Enissa on 16.09.2022 at 10:59

So I was at the office the other day, 10 am in the morning listening to this, which sounded like someone getting grabbed and hanged slowly by the balls probably. Honestly, this threw my expectations out the window, even after reading your review, as it sounds more depraved than I expected, and I kinda like that The growls, the distortion, the static, the church bells. However, I expected the actual playing part to be bigger, but that's not an issue.

And no matter how much I searched, couldn't find the lyrics anywhere. I considered buying the actual vinyl, but I don't think it has a lyrics sheet - at least I expect the band to not include one on purpose to keep some kind of mystery to it. As disturbing and trauma-inducing some of the subject matters are, I am super curious and need to read the whole thing!

Anyways, a great finding for sure, and thanks for putting out this review and letting the people here find about it.

I wouldn't want to get grabbed and hanged slowly by the balls, but the musical equivalent to it is quite pleasurable, indeed. The depravity makes for a great, moody, story, and I'd wish non-Swedes could follow along with the words better.

I could try transcribing and translating it but it wouldn't be the same and some of it I can't hear properly. I don't see the point in having it be a mystery when the story and concept is sort of the main selling point here. The music is fantastic, but the words are what sort of gel it all together.

All in all it's hard to find music that really gets under your skin like this, and I love it for that. The review is mine, but the finding was Nejde's, so thank him as well I'm glad you're enjoying it!
----
"I swore I would scratch and crawl my way back into the world of the living, and I have DONE IT!"
- Sarevok Anchev
Loading...
17.09.2022 - 01:08
Desha
delicious dish
This was pretty great. The ambient/drone parts are phenomenal throughout, the black metal parts however I found a bit hit or miss. Especially when it hits the first time I found the transition to be super jarring (same with the folk song out of nowhere at the end, it's like there's a hard cut in the audio). That has its own charm, of course, but I can't help but think I would've preferred if the two parts were woven together a bit better. Similar to what was done on the later tracks. Some of the black metal parts on the other hand are great though. Half/half I'd say.

I can't comment much on the lyrics (or the subject matter) as I don't speak swedish, but the whole thing has a pretty nice atmosphere that befits a "satanist UFO cult", as you described it (though the wikipedia page for the thing made it seem way less interesting hahaha)

Definitely one of the best albums I listened to this year.
----
You are the hammer, I am the nail
building a house in the fire on the hill
Loading...
22.09.2022 - 09:25
Rating: 9
RazMan

Holy. Fucking. Shit. I gave this a chance because of the concept and the good words in the review about the actual black metal parts. I usually hate albums with too much nonsense in between the actual music, but this one is different. Very different.

This album truly makes me feel physically and mentally ill. And I fucking love it!

I honestly listened to this every chance I had the last 4-5 days without skipping any parts. The way the atmosphere is built up on this thing is something else. It portrays trauma from religious oppression and how that is transformed into a mental illness and sociopathic narcissistic behaviour from the point of view of a cult leader. That is not easy to do in a convincing way. It takes some imagination to come up with the concept also. Hats of to the band for that! The storyline grips hard, and the distorted preaching is intense. That combined with the ambient/drone parts builds up nicely towards the actual black/thrash metal parts, which in turn are awesome.

Thanks for bringing this to my attention. I also would like to see the lyrics of the inaudible parts. I speak Finnish and Swedish so what can be understood I understood, but would be interesting to see the rest in written format.

Oh, and as for live shows. I'm there if I get the chance!

Thanks for the awesome review Netzach!
Loading...

Hits total: 1679 | This month: 1679