Metal Storm logo
Disturbed - Divisive review



Reviewer:
5.0

69 users:
6.14
Band: Disturbed
Album: Divisive
Release date: November 2022


01. Hey You
02. Bad Man
03. Divisive
04. Unstoppable
05. Love To Hate
06. Feeding The Fire
07. Don’t Tell Me [featuring Ann Wilson]
08. Take Back Your Life
09. Part Of Me
10. Won’t Back Down


Nana nana nana nana bad-man.

Since their reunion in 2015, Disturbed haven't been very disturbing, both either sound or style, shifting far from their past sound and into bland radio rock. Divisive is a poor choice of an album name, given that the record will likely unite people beneath a banner declaring it a boring album.

I can appreciate Disturbed wanting to distance themselves from their past; not only were they running on fumes by the time 2010's Asylum came out, but they had long hit the glass ceiling with a loud thud. What I object to is that the band have become so unthreatening and banal that they've turned into what they railed against back on 2000's The Sickness.

Divisive is a bland, inoffensive formulaic romp through ten mid-tempo tracks that wouldn't feel out of place on mainstream rock radio. Many of the songs feel interchangeable save for their choruses, which at least help to differentiate them from one another ("Love To Hate" and "Divisive" other meld together into an indistinguishable blob). As a result, you could save yourself some time by listening to one or two tracks and binning off the rest of the album if you don't have time or patience to endure a full playthrough.

The few songs that escape this monotonous fate do so only because they are on a whole other level of terrible. "Bad Man" (or Batman, as I often mistake it for) is perhaps the worst track Disturbed have ever unleashed, sounding like baby's first protest song with bland riffage to boot. When you consider the band have written songs about challenging topics, nor been afraid to tackle similar issues before, "Bad Man" is a steep drop off the quality cliff.

The positives aspects of Divisive revolve around the band rather than the songs for the most part. Disturbed still sound powerful and on point even if they don't bring it to bear on the album. Draiman's powerful voice is still there, though he has few moments to really elevate himself; the same is the case with Donegan and Wengren, who have their trademark tone, but don't take advantage of it.

The few passable tracks on the album include "Hey You", which, while the lyrics are facepalm-worthy, at least sounds like the band had some enthusiasm the day they recorded it. "Unstoppable" and "Won't Back Down" also have enough of a twist so as to emerge from the blandness with some defining moments scattered around.

While I understand the band don't want to return to their prior sound, they could at least meet fans halfway and produce some interesting material in their new style, rather than giving them Divisive and expecting them to jump on board a sinking ship.

Disturbed have become Mr Rodgers to their prior Freddy Krueger, not so much getting down with the sickness as easing themselves into an armchair for a cup of tea and a biscuit.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 7
Songwriting: 5
Originality: 5
Production: 8





Written on 29.11.2022 by Just because I don't care doesn't mean I'm not listening.


Comments

Comments: 11   Visited by: 208 users
29.11.2022 - 09:53
Rating: 4
ThomasBryant

Great review also if you want a good laugh look up Vinny from Vinesauce and the clip where he talks about Disturbed it's hilarious.
Loading...
29.11.2022 - 12:43
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Does folk still listen to this band?
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
29.11.2022 - 14:38
Rating: 4
ThomasBryant

Written by Bad English on 29.11.2022 at 12:43

Does folk still listen to this band?


Some for nostalgic reasons. Or just to have a good laugh.
Loading...
30.11.2022 - 05:41
WorpeX
Made of Metal
Heard Bad Man on the radio on my way home from work the other day... it is indeed really bad, man. Hey You is pretty bland but passable. Great review, found it pretty funny but also completely true! I still have a soft spot for Disturbed but Asylum is the last album of theirs I've enjoyed and The Vengeful One is really the only track I've liked on the last 3 records.
Loading...
30.11.2022 - 09:49
Rating: 4
ThomasBryant

Written by WorpeX on 30.11.2022 at 05:41

Heard Bad Man on the radio on my way home from work the other day... it is indeed really bad, man. Hey You is pretty bland but passable. Great review, found it pretty funny but also completely true! I still have a soft spot for Disturbed but Asylum is the last album of theirs I've enjoyed and The Vengeful One is really the only track I've liked on the last 3 records.


Yea Vengeful One is the last really good Disturbed song.
Loading...
30.11.2022 - 11:01
24emd

I know one of their songs - Stricken. This is one of the bands that is making it hard to want to check out more of their stuff. Is there anything decent or is it just like everyone says?
----
"Perception and fact, all the same: the truth's what you feel..."

Unpopular opinions is my middle name.
Loading...
30.11.2022 - 18:08
Rating: 4
ThomasBryant

Written by 24emd on 30.11.2022 at 11:01

I know one of their songs - Stricken. This is one of the bands that is making it hard to want to check out more of their stuff. Is there anything decent or is it just like everyone says?


Just like what everyone says
Loading...
30.11.2022 - 18:50
WorpeX
Made of Metal
Written by 24emd on 30.11.2022 at 11:01

I know one of their songs - Stricken. This is one of the bands that is making it hard to want to check out more of their stuff. Is there anything decent or is it just like everyone says?


Did you like Stricken? if not, then don't bother. But if you did and you like mainstream/radio hard rock/metal, Ten Thousand Fists or Believe are absolutely worth a listen. If you like Nu Metal, The Sickness is one of the best albums ever released in the genre. Metalstorm typically hates those particular genres though. Outside of those albums its just more of the same and getting progressively worse.
Loading...
01.12.2022 - 20:56
Valentin B
Iconoclast
I am still a fan of this band but yeah lately they haven't really impressed me. I like to joke that they need to rename themselves to "Normal" or something lol.
Loading...
11.12.2022 - 17:02
theFIST

Written by Valentin B on 01.12.2022 at 20:56

I am still a fan of this band but yeah lately they haven't really impressed me. I like to joke that they need to rename themselves to "Normal" or something lol.

"Undisturbed"
----
http://metalstormmusicianscorner.bandcamp.com
Written by Warman on 07.11.2007 at 22:39
Haha, that's like saying "compose your own Metal album and upload it here, instead of writing a review of an album". :lol:
Loading...
12.01.2023 - 17:18
Rating: 6
metalbrat

Written by WorpeX on 30.11.2022 at 18:50

Written by 24emd on 30.11.2022 at 11:01

I know one of their songs - Stricken. This is one of the bands that is making it hard to want to check out more of their stuff. Is there anything decent or is it just like everyone says?


Did you like Stricken? if not, then don't bother. But if you did and you like mainstream/radio hard rock/metal, Ten Thousand Fists or Believe are absolutely worth a listen. If you like Nu Metal, The Sickness is one of the best albums ever released in the genre. Metalstorm typically hates those particular genres though. Outside of those albums its just more of the same and getting progressively worse.

You quoted exactly what was there on my mind. I was a fan before the last two albums and i know they are getting worse quality wise. They really make it worser here in the middle of the genre haters of Metal storm.
----
In the beginning I was made of clay. Then I bit the apple and they changed me to metal 🤘
Loading...

Hits total: 1634 | This month: 227