Metal Storm logo
Turmion Kätilöt - Omen X review



Reviewer:
8.0

29 users:
7.38
Band: Turmion Kätilöt
Album: Omen X
Release date: January 2023


01. Totuus
02. Gabriel
03. Vie Se Pois
04. Pyhä Kolminaisuus
05. Puoli Valtakuntaa
06. Verestä Sokea
07. Isä Meidän
08. Sormenjälki
09. Käy Tanssiin
10. Kun Kesä Kuoli
11. Kuolettavia Vammoja


The Midwives Of Doom continue on their victory streak started two albums ago, and Omen X stands out as a manifest of everything this band is about: industrial riffs, heavy beats, 90s Eurodance, and anthemic, harsh vocals. It is equally headbangable and danceable, and a sheer blast to listen to. Turmion Kätilöt’s previous album Global Warning (their first release on Nuclear Blast) was one of the few albums I guest reviewed before being invited to the Metal Storm contributor team, and the fact that I chose to write about this particular band back then should tell you everything you need to know about how big a fan I am. After a stint of less-than-great albums, they introduced new secondary vocalist Shag-U into the band for 2018’s Universal Satan, which properly revitalised their sound, and they show no signs of slowing down anytime soon.

A thudding disco beat and wavering trance arpeggio opens up the album, before we hear the words “motherfuckers, drop the bass”, and “Totuus” (The Truth) starts blasting away. It builds, like most songs on Omen X, on a straight disco-like beat provided by drummer DQ, who sounds somewhere between electronic and metal; especially the kick has an unmistakable disco thud to it. It is the perfect opener for the album, with singers MC Raaka Pee and Shag-U duelling each other’s fast-paced, grunted/screamed vocals in the verses and then coming together in the rhythmic chorus. Having two vocalists who both employ harsh vocals might seem like a strange idea in theory, but their different styles are very easy to tell apart and it just provides a much more upbeat, energising feel to the vocal delivery.

A catchy Eurodance synth hook courtesy by RunQ (Janne Tolsa from Tarot and Eternal Tears Of Sorrow - in case you're wondering, his alias alludes to the Finnish word for "wanker") then introduces “Gabriel”, which properly showcases how damn catchy Turmion Kätilöt can be. While the previous album started with one of the catchiest songs, here they wait with it for a while, to very good effect. In fact, the third song, “Vie Se Pois” (Take It Away) somehow manages to be even catchier, with a groovy riff and some clean vocals in the chorus, and this pattern even continues afterwards; this is a masterfully designed tracklist that piecewise introduces all of the band’s elements in spectacular fashion, and it all comes together perfectly on the depraved joyride that is the anthemic chorus of the fourth track:

”Viha, raivo ja katkeruus, pyhä kolminaisuus (Hate, anger and vitriol, the holy trinity)
Heräsin sähkötuolista, ei ollut tarkoitus nähdä huomista (I woke up from the electric chair, was not supposed to see tomorrow)
Viha, raivo ja katkeruus, pyhä kolminaisuus (Hate, anger and vitriol, the holy trinity)
Pelko nielee kokonaisena ja kaikki vannovat syyttömyyttään (Fear swallows them whole and everyone swears their innocence)”


One of the gripes I had about Global Warning was that the slower tracks after a while started seeing themselves skipped over as I replayed the album, and there are fewer of them on Omen X, and the ones that exist are more dynamic and spread out across the tracklist in a smarter way. “Verestä Sokea” (Blinded By Blood), for instance, contains a verse that is basically just drums and vocals (supported by a subtle synth pad) but then explodes into one of the most memorable choruses on the album, complete with “Hey! Hey!” gang shouts reinforcing the lyrics about beating your face against the wall until you cannot see through all the blood. Yes, Turmion Kätilöt is the sort of band that puts a smile to your face, then makes you seriously question what you're smiling at (this, of course, is a compliment).

Omen X continues in this fashion, and there are no bad songs on the album. They all have a recognisable identity, with their own memorable beats, hooks, and other quirks that keep them from blending together too much. Sure, after over half an hour of what I in 2020 dubbed “extreme disco metal”, you might find your headbanging get weaker, but the foot-tapping will doubtlessly remain all the way to the fantastic closer “Kuolettavia Vammoja” (Fatal Wounds). It is the calmest song on the album, but the house/EDM piano hook it builds on will echo in your head until you play the album all over again. Omen X is a slight improvement on an already great formula, a manifest from a band that now has 10 albums behind them, but most of all, it’s simply one hell of a fun ride.



Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 8





Written on 15.01.2023 by 100% objective opinions. Integer ratings only. 7.0 means it's a good album.


Comments

Comments: 7   Visited by: 59 users
15.01.2023 - 19:55
Rating: 10
prnzokoshiroltra

And wow, my most recent LP spin - and on cue, here is Netzach's review of it.

I even agree with this one. Inexplicably so. I'm not even on last.fm anymore... how are you streaming my playlist, Netzach?? o_O
----
No one can fend off 100 multi-colored Draculas
Loading...
15.01.2023 - 20:14
Rating: 8
Netzach
Planewalker
Written by prnzokoshiroltra on 15.01.2023 at 19:55

And wow, my most recent LP spin - and on cue, here is Netzach's review of it.

I even agree with this one. Inexplicably so. I'm not even on last.fm anymore... how are you streaming my playlist, Netzach?? o_O

I know everything about you and even things you don't know about yourself. Just because you're not paranoid doesn't mean they're not out to get you. Keep your doors locked and windows barred.
----
"I swore I would scratch and crawl my way back into the world of the living, and I have DONE IT!"
- Sarevok Anchev
Loading...
16.01.2023 - 03:46
Rating: 8
zykloncrawaxx

I haven't heard this album yet, it's still in the mail, but I too think Shag-U has been one hell of an addition and helped give the last two a lot more life. I love their older albums but it's a shame that Spellgoth did so little in the studio to provide the vocal variety of their live performances.

I enjoyed their last two albums a lot so I'm eager to hear Omen X. I think Global Warning was a little too good in that I don't think they can do one that good again right afterwards, but I'm sure I'll find enough to like. This band rarely disappoints to provide at least a considerable effort even if an overall album isn't their best.
Loading...
16.01.2023 - 22:06
Rating: 8
Netzach
Planewalker
Written by zykloncrawaxx on 16.01.2023 at 03:46

I haven't heard this album yet, it's still in the mail, but I too think Shag-U has been one hell of an addition and helped give the last two a lot more life. I love their older albums but it's a shame that Spellgoth did so little in the studio to provide the vocal variety of their live performances.

I enjoyed their last two albums a lot so I'm eager to hear Omen X. I think Global Warning was a little too good in that I don't think they can do one that good again right afterwards, but I'm sure I'll find enough to like. This band rarely disappoints to provide at least a considerable effort even if an overall album isn't their best.

I love the first three albums, but from Perstechnique onwards it started getting a bit stale. They've only gotten better and better with the addition of Shag-U and this album is easily on par with Global Warning if not even a notch better.
----
"I swore I would scratch and crawl my way back into the world of the living, and I have DONE IT!"
- Sarevok Anchev
Loading...
17.01.2023 - 02:32
Rating: 8
zykloncrawaxx

Written by Netzach on 16.01.2023 at 22:06



I love the first three albums, but from Perstechnique onwards it started getting a bit stale. They've only gotten better and better with the addition of Shag-U and this album is easily on par with Global Warning if not even a notch better.



I still liked Perstechnique but otherwise I'm right there with you, things got to be very hit and miss for a while starting around then. I'm glad they came back strong the way they have, they're too much fun to lose.
Loading...
18.01.2023 - 19:44
Rating: 10
prnzokoshiroltra

Written by Netzach on 15.01.2023 at 20:14

Written by prnzokoshiroltra on 15.01.2023 at 19:55

And wow, my most recent LP spin - and on cue, here is Netzach's review of it.

I even agree with this one. Inexplicably so. I'm not even on last.fm anymore... how are you streaming my playlist, Netzach?? o_O

I know everything about you and even things you don't know about yourself. Just because you're not paranoid doesn't mean they're not out to get you. Keep your doors locked and windows barred.


dude, I was bein chased by helicopters full of alien monster revenant - fearful they would impregnate my favorite couch - so, I barely dodged the couch's anti-rape-oid karate chop spread laser... my headless clone locked itself in my room... so I walked on the ceiling due to the bathroom floor tripwire mines were decayed-bloodthirsty n also lousy NeoElvis evangelists who torture me from great distances due to unwanted bathroom acoustics at ungodly hours. so I dropped all the baggies of sparkling crystal glass shards but they fell into the shower/tub - it's fire-hose feature blasted my out the nearest window - then a bonus window for no reason. and suddenly I'm in alien jail where they play cruel pranks with a playlist out of huge speakers that had discogs of Godsmack, Michael Bolton, Billy Squire, Kenny G, Right Said Fred, and recent Aborym albums - ultimately, I pulled off my ears n used them as flesh shurikens to defeat enemies A, B & C (I haaate C n his bad hygiene jamborees)... then the layyyerrsss bro woah u don't understand or oversit, bruh thheeee laaaaayyyyeerrrs - then the planet blew up. thank fuck, cuz fuck the midair DMV locations.

Edit: see, Netzach? no replies lol you'd think there'd be more ppl utilizing bizarre humor by 2023... almost seems there's more swayin to conventional humor than ever... cuz of course weird jokes are 'tryhard' or 'pretentious' xP what a cop-out from the imaginationless flocks conforming to the herding directions all in the name of desperate loneliness/need to belong and/or lettin internet think for them... no I'm not callin anyone out here lol but it is relatively ubiquitous these days, seemingly
----
No one can fend off 100 multi-colored Draculas
Loading...
01.02.2023 - 23:25
Rating: 8
Netzach
Planewalker
Written by prnzokoshiroltra on 18.01.2023 at 19:44

Edit: see, Netzach? no replies lol you'd think there'd be more ppl utilizing bizarre humor by 2023... almost seems there's more swayin to conventional humor than ever... cuz of course weird jokes are 'tryhard' or 'pretentious' xP what a cop-out from the imaginationless flocks conforming to the herding directions all in the name of desperate loneliness/need to belong and/or lettin internet think for them... no I'm not callin anyone out here lol but it is relatively ubiquitous these days, seemingly

I could play along with your insanity but I'm on too few drugs at the moment to keep up. Besides, I try to keep my insanity to my review content
----
"I swore I would scratch and crawl my way back into the world of the living, and I have DONE IT!"
- Sarevok Anchev
Loading...

Hits total: 1024 | This month: 52