This band's profile is 'invisible', meaning that it's much less prominent on the site - either because it's incomplete, or maybe doesn't entirely fit MS format.





Bellfast was formed in 1993 in Nagoya, Japan under the leadership of bass player, Shuji Matsumoto. The band focused on progressive hard rock with the additional important element of Irish celtic music.

In 1999, all the members departed except Shuji who resolved to continue the band and make an album. Assisted by many guest musicians on vocals, fiddle, piano, and many ethnic instruments, the recording was completed in one year and nine months, and in December 2001 the six-song debut CD, Faraway Prayers, was released by Mustang Records. The album was regarded as highly original and received a strong positive response from both fans and the media. However, for various reasons, the band's activity decreased suddenly after the release.

Years passed… and in 2006, Bellfast was resurrected, taking advantage of an offer to take part in a compilation album. Shuji invited his old friends Makoto Kano (guitar) and Koh Nishino (vocals) to join the band. Their song Celtic Drum was recorded with several talented support musicians and was featured on the compilation album Samurai Metal vol.2. Celtic Drum is a traditional metal song featuring flute and violin, and the special folk-vibe of this song imprinted the name of Bellfast strongly upon many Japanese metal fans. Through this recording, Bellfast became active again with very capable members as a solid seven-piece folk metal band.

The band performed gigs, continued to work on songs, and started the recording of their 1st full-length album from the early summer of 2009. All tracks were recorded in Japan, and mixed and mastered by Andy La Rocque (guitar for King Diamond) at his Sonic Train Studios in Sweden. The album Insula Sacra was completed in March, 2010.

This album was given the mysterious title, Insula Sacra, (an old Latin name that signifies Ireland, meaning "Holy Island") and the well-known artist/designer Thomas Ewerhard (Therion, Avantasia, Rage, etc.) took charge of the beautiful cover artwork to match this name and the sound of the band. Eleven songs appear on the album, both old and new songs from the band's repertoire. They combine the aggressive sound of traditional heavy metal like Iron Maiden, an ethnic and progressive atmosphere influenced by Kansas and Thin Lizzy, and the brave energy of Viking metal -a unique combination that makes the highly original sound of Bellfast instantly recognizable.

Plus d'infos :