Rating:
6.5
Sargeist - Feeding The Crawling Shadows
31 March 2014


01. Feeding The Crawling Shadows
02. In Charnel Dreams
03. Unto The Undead Temple
04. Snares Of Impurity
05. Return Of The Rats
06. The Unspoken Ones
07. The Shunned Angel
08. Inside The Demon's Maze
09. Kingdom Below
10. Funerary Descent


Oh Sargeist, where art thou?

Seriously though. Is this not the same band that released Let the Devil In? Where are all the riffs? And what happened to those catchy hooks? Don't even get me started on the production. No, this can't be the latest Sargeist album. There must be some mistake.

You're expecting the rest of the review to be negative, which is understandable given that introduction. But there's something about Feeding the Crawling Shadows that refuses to go down as a failure. It's unoriginal and formulaic and a little bit amateurish, but that's exactly how it's supposed to be. Evidently Sargeist have moved on from that "evolving" band so many grew fond of 4 years ago, opting instead to embrace the true nature of raw black metal. These aren't inexperienced musicians. They know how to write a black metal album - even if said album is somewhat of a drastic departure from what is arguably their most well-rounded release to date. There are subtle hints of melody throughout to help with that headache, but don't expect any acoustic breakdowns or clean vocal passages.

The real question is, what makes this album worth your precious time? The songs blend together with very little identity, the poor production doesn't do any single element of the sound any particular favor, and the cold-but-fuzzy atmosphere isn't enveloping enough to make up for the overall lack of ideas. But that's precisely what makes Feeding the Crawling Shadows a success. These guys take pride in their most abrasive release to date, pummeling the listener into the depths of Hell itself with relentless simplicity and brutality. I'm not calling this a masterpiece - I'm hardly even calling it "good". It's simply cut-and-dry, tried-and-true, horse-beaten-to-death-and-summoned-back-to-life-only-to-be-beaten-back-to-death-again black metal. If that isn't your thing, then take a page out of Darkthrone's book.

Behexen, Horna, Sargeist - all projects with shared members and musical ideologies. If that mindlessly raw style of black metal gets your goat, then this album won't have any reason to wind up on your playlist. However, if that mindlessly raw style of black metal is what you use to get off while sacrificing a goat (for the glory of Satan of course), then by all means give in to the shadow.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 5
Production: 6


Band profile: Sargeist
Album: Feeding The Crawling Shadows


 



Written on 14.04.2014 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 140  
Search this topic:  


Cynic Metalhead - 14.04.2014 at 18:55  
Troy Killjoy must be a nightmare for all leading labels.

Nah, nothing to do with this review. Your reviews has always been spot-on but I guess you must be developing bitter relationship with leading labels.
Malignar - 14.04.2014 at 19:29  
I had to check to make sure this wasn't an old release after I listened to part of it. I thought I had stumbled on something from their early poorly produced days lol. Also the new vocal style on some of the songs was really not something I enjoyed. I won't be returning to this often, if ever. Sad as their previous couple releases were very good and had great replay value.
Troy Killjoy - 14.04.2014 at 23:14  
Written by Malignar on 14.04.2014 at 19:29
I had to check to make sure this wasn't an old release after I listened to part of it. I thought I had stumbled on something from their early poorly produced days lol. Also the new vocal style on some of the songs was really not something I enjoyed. I won't be returning to this often, if ever. Sad as their previous couple releases were very good and had great replay value.

That was my biggest issue - for a band that had clearly mad an effort to release some quality black metal (that was both raw and accessible), it seemed like this is a purposeful step back. I mean if that's the intention then so be it, but just because that's what the band wanted to do doesn't necessarily make it good, at least in my eyes. But I guarantee there are plenty of people (specifically those who are into the raw stuff) who will find this a return to form (in the best way possible).
Troy Killjoy - 14.04.2014 at 23:16  
Written by Cynic Metalhead on 14.04.2014 at 18:55
Troy Killjoy must be a nightmare for all leading labels.

Nah, these days I don't do much by way of negative reviews - and even then I try to keep it civil since I managed to get myself in too much hot water back in the day with shit like Burzum/Norther/etc. This may not be the best album in the world but it has its qualities that some might enjoy.
Alex Fenger - 15.04.2014 at 15:44  
Wow, unfortunately i completely agree with you. The catchy hooks from the last album really tied it together, and when I listened to Let The Devil In, Empire of Suffering would be stuck in my head for days. With this album, simply nothing is memorable. Massive step down.
Erik M. - 15.04.2014 at 18:18  
Written by Alex Fenger on 15.04.2014 at 15:44

Empire of Suffering would be stuck in my head for days


Funny you consider this a positive thing. To me it's very annoying when a song gets stuck in my head for a long time.
Alex Fenger - 15.04.2014 at 21:04  
Written by Erik M. on 15.04.2014 at 18:18

Funny you consider this a positive thing. To me it's very annoying when a song gets stuck in my head for a long time.

It's not that it's a good or bad thing, just that, for me, it shows the quality of the music. The only songs that can get stuck in my head are ones that I can connect with on an emotional level. Makes the music much more memorable
Erik M. - 15.04.2014 at 21:11  
Written by Alex Fenger on 15.04.2014 at 21:04

It's not that it's a good or bad thing, just that, for me, it shows the quality of the music. The only songs that can get stuck in my head are ones that I can connect with on an emotional level. Makes the music much more memorable


I disagree completely. Music that gets stuck in your head easily if often very generic and/or repetitive music. Best example would be pop music: 30 seconds is enough to get an annoying melody stuck in your head for quite a while, even if you have never heard that particular song before.
Alex Fenger - 15.04.2014 at 21:14  
Written by Erik M. on 15.04.2014 at 21:11

I disagree completely. Music that gets stuck in your head easily if often very generic and/or repetitive music. Best example would be pop music: 30 seconds is enough to get an annoying melody stuck in your head for quite a while, even if you have never heard that particular song before.

I can honestly say that music I dislike will never get stuck in my head. I guess it differs from person to person
Erik M. - 15.04.2014 at 21:18  
Written by Alex Fenger on 15.04.2014 at 21:14

I can honestly say that music I dislike will never get stuck in my head. I guess it differs from person to person


That's unfortunately not the case at all for me. And yes, it's probably safe to conclude it indeed differs from person to person then.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Sargeist - Feeding The Crawling Shadows 9 14.04.2014 by mz
Reviews Sargeist - Let The Devil In 7 12.01.2011 by Array
Reviews Benevolent - The Covenant 6 22.03.2014 by mz
Reviews Scar Symmetry - The Unseen Empire 6 14.11.2011 by J. N.
Reviews Kommandant - The Draconian Archetype 6 30.03.2012 by Narterath



Hits total: 2192 | This month: 52