Rating:
9.0
Ahab - The Divinity Of Oceans
22 July 2009


01. Yet Another Raft Of The Medusa (Pollard's Weakness)
02. The Divinity Of Oceans
03. O Father Sea
04. Redemption Lost
05. Tombstone Carousal
06. Gnawing Bones (Coffin's Lot)
07. Nickerson's Theme


Way back in 2006 Ahab released The Call Of The Wretched Sea, a crushing funeral doom album based on Herman Melville's novel "Moby Dick". The album went on to win the Metal Storm Award in the Extreme Doom Metal category.

So how would 2009's follow up, The Divinity Of Oceans stack up?

For starters, the nautical theme continues with this album. The Divinity Of Oceans is based on "The Loss Of The Ship Essex, Sunk By A Whale" by Owen Chase and Thomas Nickerson. The book is about the horrors suffered by the crew of the Essex after the ship was sunk by a whale… some 20 sailors spent 90 days floating around the South Pacific, thousands of miles from home and hundreds of miles from land in small wooden boats. The book was also the inspiration for the climactic scene of "Moby Dick".

The album kicks off treading the same musical water as its precursor. A nice quiet, serene clean piece slowly ushers in the album until a tsunami-sized riff slams home and consigns you to a watery musical grave.

But whereas their initial offering was fairly one dimensional (albeit a fantastic album within that dimension), The Divinity Of Oceans has more depth to it, primarily in the vocal department. You aren't more than a couple minutes in to the album, with familiar riffs and growls before vocalist Daniel Droste switches to a clean tone, which is every bit as mournful as the growls are menacing. He alternates between both clean and guttural through-out the record.

The music itself has a bit more to offer as well. Aside from just crushing, slow riffs that seem to ebb and flow with the tide, there are some great melodic and melancholic guitar leads over the riffs adding to the atmosphere. At another point during a calm break around the four minute mark of "Tombstone Carousal" a nice clean, almost optimistic, guitar comes in for a few seconds that reminded me of acoustic wizard Adrian Legg's Guitar For Mortals and conjures images of the crew languishing in their little life boats during a light rain… Of course the peace is very short lived. It's as if they added a couple shots of darkwave to their own brand of nautic funeral doom.

The nutshell version? They took the same formula that spawned the immense The Call Of The Wretched Sea and built upon it, resulting in an album that surpasses their initial, award-winning offering.

Doom ahoy, mateys.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Ahab
Album: The Divinity Of Oceans


 



Written on 25.08.2009 by
Xnoybis
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by Xnoybis ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 31  
Users visited: 324  
Search this topic:  


Ozman - 25.08.2009 at 18:48  
An utterly brilliant album this is.
Can't wait to see them live in October.
Odium - 26.08.2009 at 00:29  
Mmmm I have to listen this band...
Talvi - 26.08.2009 at 00:33  
I liked the debut better, but both are really good fuenral doom albums.
ylside - 26.08.2009 at 01:36  
Great debut, will definitly check this one.
Southern Wind - 26.08.2009 at 03:48  
As Marcel said, this is utterly brilliant stuff... I would had rate it with a 10 without shame
Ask - 26.08.2009 at 12:33  
One of my favorite releases this year. I liked this a bit more than their debut.
Elio - 26.08.2009 at 12:48  
Album is good, even if I'm not that much into funeral doom.

Also, since BitterCOld, caught the literary referencies, I'll add that the cover is a painting from the Romantic French painter Theodore Gericault, called The raft of the Medusa, with the story behind this being similar to the one already told by the reviewer.
Njord - 26.08.2009 at 14:03  
Along with Yob's "Great Cessation", "Divinity of Oceans" is the best doom album I listened lately. Clearly deserves a 9.

About the review, I like the way you write, it's very fluid and nice to read. The metaphor you used to define the music "Tombstone Carousal" was brilliant. Keep them coming
ScanDoppelganger - 26.08.2009 at 23:28  
I really enjoyed this and agree its an improvement from their last. I know nothing of doom, but this album makes me feel like ive been listening to it all along..
Super_Greg - 27.08.2009 at 08:00  
Sounds interesting. I was never too into doom, but I'd like to check this out
Daggon - 27.08.2009 at 09:09  
As many people know, I'm not very much into doom metal, so obviously I don't know a shit about funeral doom, but I listened to some samples they have on myspace and I really liked their stuff seems like I've been missing very good material out there, It feels so good when you discover something new.
Mr. Doctor - 27.08.2009 at 12:14  
Written by Daggon on 27.08.2009 at 09:09

As many people know, I'm not very much into doom metal, so obviously I don't know a shit about funeral doom, but I listened to some samples they have on myspace and I really liked their stuff seems like I've been missing very good material out there, It feels so good when you discover something new.


Well, the best thing with Doom is that there are a lot of subgenres of it. So you have indeed missed a lot of different stuff. But we will take care of you

Welcome to the doomed family
Lucas - 27.08.2009 at 12:30  
Written by Daggon on 27.08.2009 at 09:09

As many people know, I'm not very much into doom metal, so obviously I don't know a shit about funeral doom, but I listened to some samples they have on myspace and I really liked their stuff seems like I've been missing very good material out there, It feels so good when you discover something new.


Try my article.

@Bitter

Nice review. Due to holidays and whatnot I haven't been able to fully drench myself in this album, but it does sound at least as good as The Call.
Mr. Doctor - 27.08.2009 at 16:49  
Written by Lucas on 27.08.2009 at 12:30

Written by Daggon on 27.08.2009 at 09:09

As many people know, I'm not very much into doom metal, so obviously I don't know a shit about funeral doom, but I listened to some samples they have on myspace and I really liked their stuff seems like I've been missing very good material out there, It feels so good when you discover something new.


Try my article.


But wouldn't that be a difficult start? It's not like the dude has to start with My Dying Bride, but most of the albums in the list are difficult to get into o.o

But yeah... If one person don't get the stuff from your list, then he's/she's not a doomer
Daggon - 28.08.2009 at 04:14  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 27.08.2009 at 16:49

Written by Lucas on 27.08.2009 at 12:30

Written by Daggon on 27.08.2009 at 09:09

As many people know, I'm not very much into doom metal, so obviously I don't know a shit about funeral doom, but I listened to some samples they have on myspace and I really liked their stuff seems like I've been missing very good material out there, It feels so good when you discover something new.


Try my article.


But wouldn't that be a difficult start? It's not like the dude has to start with My Dying Bride, but most of the albums in the list are difficult to get into o.o

But yeah... If one person don't get the stuff from your list, then he's/she's not a doomer


@Mr.Doctor: Then that means I will give it a try for sure

@Lucas: I once read your article and made me feel curious about those albums, I've heard only "Ordo Ad Chao" from your list, and I love it so, I guess I'll listen to more of your sick stuff.

Thanks!
InnerSelf - 29.08.2009 at 14:51  
This is truely a masterpiece , loved it even more than their debut
the way the album flows is wonderful and as you said the vocals are great
"Redemption Lost" just gives me the chils
nice review
advent - 09.10.2009 at 15:37  
Yup it's a masterpiece....the doom/gothic genre made me into metalhead in first place and this album just proof my point of view ....and i think they will compete well with shape of despair in this genre.
Mr. Doctor - 09.10.2009 at 15:42  
Written by advent on 09.10.2009 at 15:37

Yup it's a masterpiece....the doom/gothic genre made me into metalhead in first place and this album just proof my point of view ....and i think they will compete well with shape of despair in this genre.


I'm sorry, but I fail to compare Shape Of Despair with Ahab and I can't see a trace of gothic in Ahab's music.
Ozman - 09.10.2009 at 16:57  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 09.10.2009 at 15:42

Written by advent on 09.10.2009 at 15:37

Yup it's a masterpiece....the doom/gothic genre made me into metalhead in first place and this album just proof my point of view ....and i think they will compete well with shape of despair in this genre.


I'm sorry, but I fail to compare Shape Of Despair with Ahab and I can't see a trace of gothic in Ahab's music.


More or less the answer I wanted to give. But I also don't see a trace of gothic in Shape Of Despair's music.
InnerSelf - 09.10.2009 at 19:23  
Maybe he was just saying that Doom AND Gothic got him into metal and not that AhabSahpe of despair are Gothic
but I do agree that there is no room for comparement between the two bands , cuz each one of them has it's own style of Funeral doom
Got Mayhem? - 05.12.2009 at 05:56  
Great theme. The tale of the Essex was the main story which inspired Moby Dick. The true test is to come up with a 3rd Nautik theme for another album!
Powerslavex - 15.10.2010 at 02:34  
Actually i like it more than The Call Of The Wretched Sea, 9/10 my favorite song redemption lost
Xnoybis - 12.04.2011 at 23:20  
Written by Elio on 26.08.2009 at 12:48

Album is good, even if I'm not that much into funeral doom.

Also, since BitterCOld, caught the literary referencies, I'll add that the cover is a painting from the Romantic French painter Theodore Gericault, called The raft of the Medusa, with the story behind this being similar to the one already told by the reviewer.


incidentally, i made a point of checking out the painting at the Louvre last fall. really glad i did... although navigating the museum on almost no sleep and just fueled by coffee and adrenaline was a tad difficult.
Elio - 13.04.2011 at 00:18  
Written by Xnoybis on 12.04.2011 at 23:20

Written by Elio on 26.08.2009 at 12:48

Album is good, even if I'm not that much into funeral doom.

Also, since BitterCOld, caught the literary referencies, I'll add that the cover is a painting from the Romantic French painter Theodore Gericault, called The raft of the Medusa, with the story behind this being similar to the one already told by the reviewer.


incidentally, i made a point of checking out the painting at the Louvre last fall. really glad i did... although navigating the museum on almost no sleep and just fueled by coffee and adrenaline was a tad difficult.


did you graduate in something man?
Xnoybis - 13.04.2011 at 00:26  
Written by Elio on 13.04.2011 at 00:18

Written by Xnoybis on 12.04.2011 at 23:20

Written by Elio on 26.08.2009 at 12:48

Album is good, even if I'm not that much into funeral doom.

Also, since BitterCOld, caught the literary referencies, I'll add that the cover is a painting from the Romantic French painter Theodore Gericault, called The raft of the Medusa, with the story behind this being similar to the one already told by the reviewer.


incidentally, i made a point of checking out the painting at the Louvre last fall. really glad i did... although navigating the museum on almost no sleep and just fueled by coffee and adrenaline was a tad difficult.


did you graduate in something man?


Me? Sure. Russian Studies. lots of good literature. But the Mrs got a degree in Art History before earning a Masters in Education. She loves art, i love specific bits of it. Romanticism being one of those i like for the expressiveness. this piece has a great range of emotions from the despondent and dying at the bottom of the raft to the overjoyed at the top of the pyramid... The Louvre was my favorite art museum we hit thanks to the amazing range of content... as opposed to some of those in, say, Florence, who had a laser-like focus.
Elio - 13.04.2011 at 00:29  
Written by Xnoybis on 13.04.2011 at 00:26


Me? Sure. Russian Studies. lots of good literature. But the Mrs got a degree in Art History before earning a Masters in Education. She loves art, i love specific bits of it. Romanticism being one of those i like for the expressiveness. this piece has a great range of emotions from the despondent and dying at the bottom of the raft to the overjoyed at the top of the pyramid... The Louvre was my favorite art museum we hit thanks to the amazing range of content... as opposed to some of those in, say, Florence, who had a laser-like focus.


hah, I was referring to your new username and so I thought you could have just got a degree in something. btw both Russian literature and Art are awesome, you and your wife have surely a lot to food your souls with.
Mr. Doctor - 13.04.2011 at 00:35  
Written by Elio on 13.04.2011 at 00:29

hah, I was referring to your new username and so I thought you could have just got a degree in something.


If I'm not mistaken, he changed his username as a way of mocking the current wave of doctors in MS.
Elio - 13.04.2011 at 00:38  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 13.04.2011 at 00:35

Written by Elio on 13.04.2011 at 00:29

hah, I was referring to your new username and so I thought you could have just got a degree in something.


If I'm not mistaken, he changed his username as a way of mocking the current wave of doctors in MS.


hah I see. Hopefully I will claim a MD title in the next years aswell

well, enough off-topic in the review of this good album.
Frost Beast - 12.10.2011 at 15:59  
Written by InnerSelf on 29.08.2009 at 14:51

This is truely a masterpiece , loved it even more than their debut
the way the album flows is wonderful and as you said the vocals are great
"Redemption Lost" just gives me the chils
nice review

I've heard Redemption Lost several times before, but I only checked out the whole album yesterday. Awesome, as you said, and the flowing of the whole music is just kickass. As I listened, I didn't notice that the tracks changed; They're all linked together in one way or another!
InnerSelf - 12.10.2011 at 19:49  
Written by Guest on 12.10.2011 at 15:59

Written by InnerSelf on 29.08.2009 at 14:51

This is truely a masterpiece , loved it even more than their debut
the way the album flows is wonderful and as you said the vocals are great
"Redemption Lost" just gives me the chils
nice review

I've heard Redemption Lost several times before, but I only checked out the whole album yesterday. Awesome, as you said, and the flowing of the whole music is just kickass. As I listened, I didn't notice that the tracks changed; They're all linked together in one way or another!


Can't get enough of Ahab my thoughts about this album never changed since the day I wrote those words and maybe I love it now even more
Opethian - 19.08.2012 at 05:55  
A total Masterpiece from Start to finish Also the vocals are amazing! Daniel really did an Incredible job on here! Its too bad 'The Giant' was a disappointment

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Ahab - The Divinity Of Oceans 7.5 31.05.2011 by Zender 1.8
Reviews Terzij De Horde - A Rage Of Rapture Against The Dying Of The Light 5 14.07.2010 by Ozman
Reviews The Belonging - An Immortal Creation 4.5 30.06.2011 by Richard
Reviews Kozeljnik - Null: The Acheron Of Multiform Negation 4.5 16.04.2013 by ANGEL REAPER
Reviews Somnus Aeternus - On The Shores Of Oblivion 4.5 27.09.2013 by Wohma



Hits total: 6597 | This month: 46