Metal Storm logo
Artificial Harmonics

08.10.2006 - 12:05
BurbotsRevenge
Foetal Butchery
hey i'm a guitarist, and i'm having a lot of trouble with artificial harmonics. the thing where you supposedly play the string with your thumb as well as the pick to make a harmonic. i just cannot get it. i try and try and try, but t will never even sound anything like it.

does anyone have any hints, tricks, good site or general info on how to learn and practice artificial harmonics??
----
Dark death metal from Sydney: https://www.facebook.com/GolgothanRemains
08.10.2006 - 13:22
wrathchild
Staff
I suggest you use our pinky instead of your thumb, but then it's all about what is more convenient to you (Ylside would kill me and say the thumb method is better). It may sound even more difficult but I find it a less messy method.

After that, it's all about timing and length. Also, you'll have a hard time trying to play an artificial harmonic above the 15th fret.
Basically, just hit the string with the pick and the finger simultaneously and vary the distance. For example, let's say you want to play an AH at fret 10, you will hit the string with your pick somewhere about the 25th fret. If you hit it You can, for example, hit it round fret 20 and obtain a different AH.
----
La belleza no reside en lo que puedas crear, sino en lo que eres capaz de transmitir
Beauty resides not in what you're able to create, but in what you're able to communicate

Txus, Mägo De Oz
09.10.2006 - 17:31
Schlackass
Account deleted
Also, what you do with your left hand on your desired fret is important. You have to "wiggle" to get the right sound.

I use the thumb. How would you use the pinky??
09.10.2006 - 18:52
wrathchild
Staff
Written by [user id=3664] on 09.10.2006 at 17:31

Also, what you do with your left hand on your desired fret is important. You have to "wiggle" to get the right sound.