Dreadrealm - The Essence Of Winter review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.0

10 users:
7.90
Band: Dreadrealm
Album: The Essence Of Winter
Release date: April 2017


01. The Essence Of Winter
02. Norsemaiden's Lament
03. The Thin Veil Between Our Worlds
04. Fortress Of Decadence
05. Winter's Bane II - Lurkers In The Dark
06. Midwinter Feast At The Queen's Castle
07. Everwinter's Echo


Most of you probably aren't familiar with Dreadrealm, a new atmospheric black metal, one-man band from Estonia, for which the music, lyrics, vocals, instrumentation and production are handled exclusively by Metren Angerjärv. The Essence Of Winter is his project's debut and let me now tell you why you should do yourself a favour and get to know Dreadrealm sooner rather than later.

Atmoblack bands have been emerging by the dozen in the last few years and hence the style is now unfortunately overrun by boring and lacklustre acts. Recycled tremolo riffs, tree-root resembling logos, long and plodding compositions that forget to end and out-of-place blastbeats are some of their characteristics. On the other hand, Dreadrealm's logo is perfectly readable, the songs have very little fat that needs to be trimmed and both imaginative tremolo riffs and heavy chugs are used efficiently to create the desired atmosphere. To give you an idea, the sound and music is closer to Agalloch and Sun Of The Sleepless than it is to Enisum and Eldamar.

The Essence Of Winter conveys an aura of dark and cold isolation, but it is also deeply emotional and poetic. Soft and romantic acoustic sections trade off seamlessly with abrasive, razorblade-cutting electric guitar riffs. Eerie synths and heartfelt piano melodies are often in play to portray a dreamlike surrounding. Deep, harsh growls and howls, clean vocal harmonies, chanting and haunting whispers are used to express the beautifully written lyrics and it is a pity that we don't get more of those, since The Essence Of Winter is primarily an instrumental album.

Almost every aspect of the music is carefully crafted and placed where it needs to be. It is not just the instruments and the vocals that create this dense, chilly and captivating atmosphere. Real nature sounds can be heard too, like the Baltic Sea eating away the rocks of Estonia's beachfront in "Norsemaiden's Lament", the howling wind and the footsteps of a man (or a spirit?) entering the "Fortress Of Decadence" or the crackling sound of wood burning in the fireplace and the distantly heard chatting voices of the Queen's guests in my personal favourite and epic "Midwinter Feast At The Queen's Castle". Towards the end, the snow-blizzard of "Everwinter's Echo", along with whispering vocals and a weeping guitar melody, wraps up nicely the wide array of emotions experienced during the previous 38-odd minutes of the album.

The Essence Of Winter justifies its title by offering a black metal journey through old-growth forests, wuthering lands, scenic lakes and medieval castles. It is brimming with talent and passion and proves that you don't need the budget of a small country to produce inspired metal. Don't miss it.

"Cry, oh winter wind
Reap the world of warmth and light
For thou art too unkind
Bring an everlasting night"


 



Written on 10.11.2017 by I was into this music when you were still in diapers.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 48   Visited by: 151 users
11.11.2017 - 15:28
VIG
Dweller
Written by Paz on 11.11.2017 at 13:08

I hear a strong Dråpsnatt vibes here.. Especially in the middle section of "Winter's Bane II - Lurkers In The Dark". Am I the only one?

I do sort of, but I am not too familiar with them. They are in Metren's favorite bands list, so I wouldn't be surprised if he took lots of influence.
Loading...
11.11.2017 - 16:32
Metren
The What The?
Written by VIG on 11.11.2017 at 15:28

I do sort of, but I am not too familiar with them. They are in Metren's favorite bands list, so I wouldn't be surprised if he took lots of influence.


I love Dråpsnatt, but at the time of composing The Essence Of Winter, I hadn't listened to them in ages, I was more into classic Immortal albums, Agalloch and Lurker Of Chalice last winter.
----
Dreadrealm's Bandcamp with free downloads: https://dreadrealm.bandcamp.com/ (200 Free Downloads Every Month is Bandcamp's limit)
Loading...
11.11.2017 - 22:11
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by Metren on 11.11.2017 at 11:56

Written by M C Vice on 11.11.2017 at 08:25

Written by Bad English on 11.11.2017 at 08:07

that's what I tried to say, its like saying Vatican is same size in square miles as USA.

Subtitles, please? Anyone?


I'm guessing that in his analogy, I am Vatican and Varg is USA. Which is fair, since I've released just 1 album and I doubt I will ever create anything as awesome as Det Som Engang Var. Oh, and I also don't feel like stabbing unarmed people in the back 16 times...


Your album is 100 times better as any Burzum
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
11.11.2017 - 22:15
Metren
The What The?
Written by Bad English on 11.11.2017 at 22:11

Your album is 100 times better as any Burzum


Thanks
----
Dreadrealm's Bandcamp with free downloads: https://dreadrealm.bandcamp.com/ (200 Free Downloads Every Month is Bandcamp's limit)
Loading...
11.11.2017 - 22:16
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by Metren on 11.11.2017 at 22:15

Written by Bad English on 11.11.2017 at 22:11

Your album is 100 times better as any Burzum


Thanks


its true,
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
12.11.2017 - 19:38
tea[m]ster
Au Pays Natal
Written by Metren on 10.11.2017 at 15:53

Yes, yes You should

I will give this a listen and give you my honest-to-goodness opinion fellow MSer....no hurt feelings tho, ok?
----
rekt
Loading...
12.11.2017 - 20:29
Metren
The What The?
Written by tea[m]ster on 12.11.2017 at 19:38

I will give this a listen and give you my honest-to-goodness opinion fellow MSer....no hurt feelings tho, ok?


Feel free to bash away!
----
Dreadrealm's Bandcamp with free downloads: https://dreadrealm.bandcamp.com/ (200 Free Downloads Every Month is Bandcamp's limit)
Loading...
13.11.2017 - 01:55
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Zaph on 10.11.2017 at 14:36

Agreed. Sorry Tanner!

I'm offended.

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 10.11.2017 at 14:39

You mean MS user active in the forums.

Sup nerd
----
forever bummed out // Sometimes Pro Motocross racer, check my instagram @tanner741
Loading...
15.11.2017 - 20:51
derelictdame
Hey that's the Skyrim font
Loading...
16.11.2017 - 05:38
Metren
The What The?
Written by derelictdame on 15.11.2017 at 20:51

Hey that's the Skyrim font


Viner Hand ITC it is indeed, it should be in most word programs. Didn't even remember that Skyrim had it, though I do love that game to death.
----
Dreadrealm's Bandcamp with free downloads: https://dreadrealm.bandcamp.com/ (200 Free Downloads Every Month is Bandcamp's limit)
Loading...
19.11.2017 - 19:25
MvonSutherland
Is there a CD version on this album?
Loading...
19.11.2017 - 20:27
Metren
The What The?
Written by MvonSutherland on 19.11.2017 at 19:25

Is there a CD version on this album?


Not at the moment. I am planning on it though, once I've saved up some money. Pressing a CD in Estonia is somewhat costly. There's only one company that does it and their minimum amount is 300 copies as far as I know.
----
Dreadrealm's Bandcamp with free downloads: https://dreadrealm.bandcamp.com/ (200 Free Downloads Every Month is Bandcamp's limit)
Loading...
19.11.2017 - 21:54
MvonSutherland
Written by Metren on 19.11.2017 at 20:27

Written by MvonSutherland on 19.11.2017 at 19:25

Is there a CD version on this album?


Not at the moment. I am planning on it though, once I've saved up some money. Pressing a CD in Estonia is somewhat costly. There's only one company that does it and their minimum amount is 300 copies as far as I know.


Thanks for your answer!
I do not listen music from files except moments when I am checking new music. That is why I was asking for the CD...
Your album sounds very interesting. I am going to listen it more carefully as soon as possible. Cheers!
Loading...
19.11.2017 - 22:33
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by Metren on 19.11.2017 at 20:27

Not at the moment. I am planning on it though, once I've saved up some money. Pressing a CD in Estonia is somewhat costly. There's only one company that does it and their minimum amount is 300 copies as far as I know.

You will easily get 300 buyers. And I don't know if you can try a company not based in Estonia.
----
on and on south of heaven

Loading...
19.11.2017 - 23:30
Metren
The What The?
Written by nikarg on 19.11.2017 at 22:33

You will easily get 300 buyers. And I don't know if you can try a company not based in Estonia.


I don't really care about making a profit on CD sales or even breaking even, I just need to get the funds to have the CDs pressed. I'll probably set the final price pretty low, so more people could afford the album too.
----
Dreadrealm's Bandcamp with free downloads: https://dreadrealm.bandcamp.com/ (200 Free Downloads Every Month is Bandcamp's limit)
Loading...
21.11.2017 - 22:48
MvonSutherland
Written by Metren on 19.11.2017 at 23:30

I don't really care about making a profit on CD sales or even breaking even, I just need to get the funds to have the CDs pressed. I'll probably set the final price pretty low, so more people could afford the album too.


In my opinion it is better to spend some more money and press nicely mastered CD with interesting designed booklet and cover. 10-20 Euro/US Dollars for the CD are not big money and looks like this is standard price for the new CD (underground bands and well known bands as well).
Loading...
22.11.2017 - 08:54
Paz
News Man
20 euros for a CD? I'd rather buy a vinyl
----
Follow me on Instagram:

Loading...
22.11.2017 - 16:16
R.Baldur
The Massenger
Nice atmospher and cover
----
Long Live Metal Music ...
Loading...

Hits total: 2445 | This month: 2445