Metal Storm logo
Kelly Carpenter


2003-2006 Outworld - vocals  
2004-2006 Beyond Twilight - vocals (as Kelly Sundown)  
2008-2017 Darkology - vocals  
2011- Epysode - vocals  
2012- Zierler - vocals (as Kelly Sundown)  
2014-2015 Iron Mask - vocals  
2016-2018 Adagio - vocals (as Kelly Sundown)  
2017- Civil War - vocals (as Kelly Sundown)  

Live musician

2007 Adagio - vocals  
2013-2015 Firewind - vocals  

Guest musician

2009- Samuel Arkan's Origins - vocals  
2009 Crimson Glory - vocals  
2015 Ethernity - vocals  
2016 Nightmare - vocals (as Kelly Sundown Carpenter)  
2016 Noveria - vocals  

Personal information

Also known as: Kelly Sundown

Official website
show more
His first international release was the highly acclaimed BEYOND TWILIGHT - SECTION X (2005), replacing vocal great Jorn Lande - (Ark, Masterplan). Section X went on to receive rave reviews from metal fans and critics alike. Sundown's dark, dramatic and vocally schizophrenic performance and here earned him great praise and a place among the top vocalists in metal today.

In 2006 his American based band OUTWORLD, released its self titled and debut album. In a performance often described as inhuman, Sundown's voice and melodies aggressively rip and tear their way through the churning technical guitar work of shredder Rusty Cooley, painting a bleak picture of Orwellian dystopia. The disc garnered high marks for it's over the top performances and original sound.

In September 2007, the singer fronted ADAGIO for a very successful Japanese Tour.

Shortly thereafter Sundown joined forces with DARKOLOGY, a band conceived by guitarist Michael Harris (Vitalij Kuprij-Thought Chamber) & drummer Brian Harris (Firewind-Zanister-Kenziner) with bassist Mike Neal. The debut album, Altered Reflections scored great reviews and admiration for its powerful homage to old school, technical heavy metal.

Later that year CRIMSON GLORY would invite Sundown to pay tribute to the late great singer "Midnight" at Prog Power USA X. Other special guests included : Rock (Rob Rock), Mark Boals (Royal Hunt), Wade Black (Crimson Glory/Leatherwolf), Zak Stevens (Savatage/Circle II Circle), Lance King (Pyramaze/Balance of Power), Nils K. Rue (Pagan's Mind), Chris Salinas (Zero Hour/Power of Omens), Ronny Monroe (Metal Church), Andy B. Franck (Brainstorm/Symphorce/Ivanhoe), Michael Eriksen (Circus Maximus), David Vanlanding (Crimson Glory/Michael Schenker Group)

Sundown's next project was EPYSODE-OBSESSIONS, a supernatural thriller concept album with singers and musicians from : Ayreon, Pain of Salvation, Communic, At Vance/Thunderstone, Beautiful Sin, Ethernity and more. Released on AFM Records (2011), the album received glowing reviews for its fantastic performances, superb melodies and raw emotional force.

At the end of 2012 GUS G (Firewind-Ozzy Osbourne) contacted Sundown about the possibility of collaborating together. After an audition with the band in Greece he would become FIREWIND's frontman for the entire year of 2013. Playing over 40 live shows including: Sweden Rock, Summer Breeze, Bloodstock Open Air, Wacken's Full Metal Cruise, a 5 week US/Canadian tour and a headlining tour of Australia.