Metal Storm logo
Jarno Salomaa


1995-1998 Shape Of Despair - guitars  
1998- Shape Of Despair - guitars, keyboards  
1999-2000 Rapture - guitar  
2000-2005 The Mist And The Morning Dew - guitars  
2013-2015 Clouds - guitars  
2015- Counting Hours - guitars  

Personal information

Jarno Salomaa is a Finnish musician. He formed the funeral doom metal group Shape of Despair in 1995 under the name Raven (not to be confused with the NWOBHM band, Raven). Salomaa's first role was guitars and synth in Raven's Alone in the Mist, the first demo they made, although this demo weren't released to the public. Salomaa then proceeded to appear in the first CD produced under the name Shape Of Despair called Promo Tape 1998. While not a very grand name, the album contains the well-received songs of Quiet These Paintings Are and its outro entitled Outro.

An ex-member of the Finnish band Rapture, he is also a part of the doom/folk metal band The Mist and the Morning Dew with the roles of acoustic and lead guitars. Salomaa is still member of Shape Of Despair and currently appears to have no plans on retirement.