Metal Storm logo
Peter Tägtgren


1990- Hypocrisy - guitars, keyboards, vocals  
1994-1998 The Abyss - bass, drums, vocals  
1995-1996 War - drums  
1996- Pain - all instruments, vocals  
1998-2002 Lock Up - vocals  
2004-2005 Bloodbath - vocals  
2012-2014 Dynazty - vocals  
2015-2020 Lindemann - all instruments  

Studio musician

1996 Sorhin - drums  
1996 Algaion - drums  
2018 Immortal - bass  
2022 Joe Lynn Turner - guitars, bass  

Live musician

1988 Malevolent Creation - guitars  
1997 Marduk - guitars  

Guest musician

1995 Naglfar - backing vocals  
1995 Arckanum - vocals  
1996 Desire (SWE) - backing vocals  
1996 Fleshcrawl - additional vocals  
1996 Setherial - vocals  
1996 Therion - guitars  
1996 A Canorous Quintet - backing vocals  
1997 Dellamorte - vocals (as Peter "Tikhonov" Tägtgren)  
1997 Edge Of Sanity - guitars  
1998 Violation - backing vocals  
1999 Enthroned - backing vocals  
2000 Natron - vocals  
2000 Gardenian - keyboards  
2002 Mactätus - additional vocals  
2002 Eternal Gray - vocals  
2002 Solar Dawn - guitar solo  
2002 Tiamat - additional vocals  
2004 Kataklysm - vocals  
2005 Destruction - vocals  
2006 Celtic Frost - vocals  
2007 Children Of Bodom - keyboards  
2007 Nuclear Blast Allstars - vocals  
2008 Devian - additional vocals  
2008 Tarja - guitars  
2009 Sanctification - vocals  
2010 Exodus - backing vocals  
2011 Legion Of The Damned - vocals  
2011 Lock Up - vocals  
2011 The Unguided - vocals  
2012 Sabaton - vocals  
2013 Essence - bass  

Personal information

Born on: 03.06.1970


Peter Tägtgren (born June 3, 1970) is a Swedish musician. He is the founder, main composer, lead singer, and guitarist of the death metal band Hypocrisy. Although Hypocrisy is his main band, he has also worked on many other Swedish metal projects. These include Pain (industrial metal), for which he performs all instruments and vocals and composes all songs, Lock Up (grindcore/death metal), in which he was the vocalist, The Abyss (black metal), where he performed drums, bass and vocals, War (black metal), where he performed drums, and most recently Bloodbath (death metal), also with him on vocals. He also appeared as a live guitarist for the bands Marduk and E-Type.

Additionally, Peter Tägtgren is a renowned record producer in his own The Abyss studios, mixing and editing bands from all over Scandinavia, including Dimmu Borgir, Immortal, Children of Bodom and Skyfire.

Peter Tägtgren started playing drums at the age of 9 and later learned to play guitar, bass and keyboard. In addition to that, he is the singer of his two current bands, Hypocrisy and Pain.

After Tägtgren's first band Conquest disbanded, he decided to emigrate to the United States. There he became part of the death metal scene after some practice sessions with Malevolent Creation's guitarist, Phil Fasciana. Peter promised to show them his own recording contract and band within one year.

He started Hypocrisy(at this time a one-man project) and played all instruments himself. Tägtgren signed a recording contract with the independent record label Nuclear Blast.

During the recording of his album "Dancing with the Dead (Pain)", his heart stopped beating for several seconds. This event inspired him to write the song "Dancing with the Dead."

Additionally, Tägtgren "owns" a village in Sweden, called Pärlby. The village has about 120 residents and is about three hours northwest of Stockholm