Metal Storm logo
Anneke Van Giersbergen


1994-2007 The Gathering - vocals  
2007- Anneke Van Giersbergen - vocals, piano  
2014- The Gentle Storm - vocals  
2016- Vuur - vocals, guitars  

Studio musician

2009 Devin Townsend - vocals  
2012 Devin Townsend - vocals  
2014 Devin Townsend - vocals  
2015 Amadeus Awad - vocals  

Live musician

2008 Moonspell - vocals  
2011 Devin Townsend - vocals  
2014 The Gathering - vocals  
2015 Stream Of Passion - vocals  

Guest musician

1996 Farmer Boys - vocals  
1998 Ayreon - vocals  
2004 Lawn - vocals  
2006 Napalm Death - vocals  
2007 Ayreon - vocals  
2008 Moonspell - vocals  
2008 Within Temptation - vocals  
2009 Giant Squid - vocals  
2010 Maiden uniteD - vocals  
2011 Novembers Doom - vocals  
2011 Anathema - vocals  
2013 For Many Reasons - vocals  
2014 Cellarscape - vocals  
2015 The Gathering - vocals  
2016 Devin Townsend - vocals  
2017 The Fading - vocals  
2018 Amorphis - vocals  
2019 Moonspell - vocals  
2019 Vomitron - vocals  
2019 Timo Tolkki's Avalon - vocals  
2020 FB 1964 - vocals  
2020 Votum - vocals  
2021 Silver Lake - vocals  
2022 Devin Townsend - vocals  
2022 Docker's Guild - vocals  


Personal information

Born on: 08.03.1973

Official Website
show more
Anneke van Giersbergen (born March 8, 1973) is the former singer of the Dutch band The Gathering, now involved in a solo project called Agua de Annique. She has also worked with Lawn, Farmer Boys, Ayreon, Napalm Death and Moonspell.


van Giersbergen was born in Sint Michielsgestel, Netherlands. At the age of 8, she participated in soundmix contests. When she was 12, she was in her school choir. Anneke is a light soprano with a unique voice. Later on, she started taking singing lessons and joined her first band. She joined a few more bands before becoming part of the duo Bad Breath who played a mix of blues, jazz, folk and funk.
She finally joined The Gathering in 1994.

In 1998, she sang on the Ayreon album Into the Electric Castle, a concept album telling the tale of an alien entity 'kidnapping' 8 human souls from different times. Anneke portrayed an Egyptian woman from the time of the pharaohs.

On February 20, 2005, she gave birth to Finn, her son with husband Rob Snijders.

She appears on the album Rubicon from John Wetton and Geoffrey Downes on the tracks "To Catch a Thief" and "Tears of Joy".

She also appears on the 2006 album Smear Campaign (album) by the grindcore/death metal band Napalm Death, on the tracks "Weltschmerz" and "In Deference" "... for good effect and relevance to the track."

On June 5, 2007 it was announced that Anneke would be leaving The Gathering in August 2007 to focus on a new project, Agua de Annique,and spend more time with her family.

On November 24, 2007 she performed the song "Somewhere" with Within Temptation in Eindhoven.

Anneke also sings on the Ayreon album 01011001, released in early 2008. The character she portrays is one of the Forever, an alien being of the same race who kidnapped her character from Into the Electric Castle.

She sings on "Scorpion Flower" in the album Night Eternal (2008) from Moonspell. She was also involved in several interesting co-operations with the likes of Within Temptation ("Black Symphony" 2008), eccentric multi-talent Devin Townsend ("Addicted" 2009 & "Epicloud" 2012) and long-time friends Anathema ("Falling Deeper" 2011).

For four years, Anneke van Giersbergen has been touring successfully as a solo artist, both in her home country and across the globe. She has performed from Chile to Lebanon & from Mexico to Finland, as well as support for The Smashing Pumpkins and a special presentation in front of H.H. the Dalai Lama.

Her new album, "Everything Is Changing", not only reveals new strengths in her recognizable style, but really kicks it up a notch when it comes to taking Anneke's talents to a higher level, both lyrically and vocally. Have a listen, and everything might change.