Metal Storm logo
Hatebreed - Hatebreed review


88 users:
Band: Hatebreed
Album: Hatebreed
Style: Hardcore, Metalcore
Release date: September 2009

01. Become The Fuse
02. Not My Master
03. Between Hell And A Heartbeat
04. In Ashes They Shall Reap
05. Hands Of A Dying Man
06. Everyone Bleeds Now
07. No Halos For The Heartless
08. Through The Thorns
09. Every Lasting Scar
10. As Damaged As Me
11. Words Became Untruth
12. Undiminished
13. Merciless Tide
14. Pollution Of The Soul
15. Escape [New Diehard Edit]

Five albums in and going strong, Hatebreed's self-titled effort sees the band firing on all cylinders and creating their magnum opus; the weapons are sharpened and the band are ready to strike. If you don't like what Hatebreed offer, then this album probably won't sway your opinion; if you're on the fence, however, this album will get you to commit to the band in a big way. This is the band at their best, the song writing is at its best and the album is full of some of the best metallic hardcore you will hear.

From the off the band hit the accelerator and have you hanging on for dear life as they tear through forty-two minutes of unrelenting hardcore. Though they drop the tempo in places, the songs do not let up in intensity one iota. If you want an album to pump you up then pop this in and prepare to "Become The Fuse".

The first ten tracks are the highlights of this record, a solid chunk of metal that will break through any reservations you have and will burst the bubble you keep yourself in. "In Ashes They Will Reap" is probably the first amongst equals if you want a single song to represent the album; dropping the pace but keeping up the unrelenting barrage, it is easy the best song of the band's career.

The band are at the peak of their powers. Jasta sounds like he is shouting just cm's away on the other side of the speakers and offers up some of the best lyrics of the band's career. The guitar work of Novinec and Lozinak just rip your ear drums to shreds with their sharp precise cuts. They may not offer up the most technical work but that does not dull their impact at all. Beattie's bass tone is thick and rumbles like thunder, leaving no space empty. "Everybody Bleeds Now" is an appropriate title because the sonic assault the band offer up is hard as nails.

The production work of Harris was simple but effective, sharpening the sound and finding a space for everything before sitting back and letting the music do the talking. It's all the album needs and Harris provides it.

The only stumbling block is "Undiminished", a song that is better in concept than execution. The idea of adding a space to breathe is welcome, but the song does not pull it off well at all, serving as a four-minute break that kills all momentum rather than adding diversity to the album. It's a small blip in the grand scheme of things though.

Put the album on, hit play and hold on, Hatebreed is an album that you roll with the punches to. If you find yourself able to resist slamming your fist on the desk or moshing then you may be dead; consult a medical professional at the nearest opportunity.

Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 6
Production: 9

Written by omne metallum | 10.05.2020

Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Hits total: 688 | This month: 2