Metal Storm logo
Archspire - Bleed The Future review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

197 users:
8.26
Band: Archspire
Album: Bleed The Future
Release date: October 2021


01. Drone Corpse Aviator
02. Golden Mouth Of Ruin
03. Abandon The Linear
04. Bleed The Future
05. Drain Of Incarnation
06. Acrid Canon
07. Reverie On The Onyx
08. A.U.M.


I know we like to joke about tech death and technical wankery, but holy shit!

Believe it or not, Archspire was actually one of the first modern technical death metal bands I got into. I was a pretty big Death fan already, but I didn't really listen to a lot of modern stuff. Sure, I knew Nile and other big names you couldn't always really call tech death bands. So before I listened to Necrophagist, Obscura or Beyond Creation, I had a friend recommend The Lucid Collective. It was during a moment when we'd have a friendly black metal vs death metal rivalry, but even so, that album quickly became a springboard into other stuff. The years have passed, and my relationship with tech death dwindled. I feel indifferent to most stuff, but I'm always glad when someone pushes the envelope.

Now I have to admit that Relentless Mutation is a better album than The Lucid Collective, but arrived in the part of my life when even the familiar name didn't really move me for the genre. Giving it a relisten now, for the purposes of this review, I feel like slapping myself. And giving Bleed The Future multiple listens, I remember the adrenaline rush you feel when you first realize that music can sound like this. Fast, relentless, brutal, so on and so on. I feel like now I am seasoned enough in tech death that things don't really get me that excited anymore and I'd like to think that I can set apart the middling from the gems. I heard my fair share of death metal that is fast, intricate, brutal, suffocating, and I'd argue that Archspire don't really come out as absolutely on top of the game in any of those. Instead, I think what's really fascinating about Archspire is their sense of flow.

Let's start with the vocals, since I assume that's the more obvious talking point. Oli Peters has a cadence that is often more reminiscent of technical and lyrical rappers (think Tech N9ne) than usual tech death vocalists, so the music also follows suit in building around that sense of flow that feels a tad unusual for tech death. And though I did say that I have heard bands even more intricate, there's really not much more you can ask from Archspire in terms of technicality and precision. There's an amazing cohesion between everyone involved, that only works with the way the production applies its polish in a way that would make most bands sound artificial, but Archspire benefit from that feeling of inorganic. It's loud and crowded, but, in a way, this is how the record is supposed to feel.

And a lot of times in tech death rhetoric, technicality is considered at odds with songwriting, meaning that the flashier a band gets, the less it seems like they care about the actual songs. Archspire are flashy, therefore soulless technical wankery. But then, why is so damn intoxicating? Even for a band that goes so above and beyond in all things tech death, there's a subtle sense of melody to it too. Melody that works more as a result of that flow I talked about rather than as a melodic sequence of notes that is memorable. I'm not yet sure how to stack Bleed The Future against the previous two Archspires, but what I can say now is that they certainly haven't plateaued yet, and I'm not sure what else you could possibly ask for a tech death album. Less is more. But sometimes more is more.






Written on 02.11.2021 by Doesn't matter that much to me if you agree with me, as long as you checked the album out.


Comments

Comments: 25   Visited by: 212 users
02.11.2021 - 19:37
Metal Spartan

Never heard these guys before, but based on what I just heard, they sound just like Dethklok...only at times faster. The vocals are identical.
Loading...
02.11.2021 - 19:41
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Metal Spartan on 02.11.2021 at 19:37

Never heard these guys before, but based on what I just heard, they sound just like Dethklok...only at times faster. The vocals are identical.

Now that you mention it, they do sound alike
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?


2021 goodies
Loading...
02.11.2021 - 20:59
theFIST

"soulless technical wankery"
i have to see them again, those guys are proud of being wankers on stage
----
http://metalstormmusicianscorner.bandcamp.com
Written by Warman on 07.11.2007 at 22:39
Haha, that's like saying "compose your own Metal album and upload it here, instead of writing a review of an album". :lol:
Loading...
02.11.2021 - 21:37
Batlord666

What bands would you say are more intricate? Currently I'm most impressed by Ophidian I's new album, and of course this new Archspire. Just curious!
Loading...
02.11.2021 - 22:10
Nejde
Green Devil
Did musclassia ghost write this review? It feels very un-Radu. Just kidding I actually asked Matt if he was gonna write the review and he said you would do it. Very well written and I totally agree with you. I've given the album about 20 spins already but I still hold Relentless Mutation a notch higher. And Drone Corpse Aviator is as good of an album opener as Involuntary Doppelganger. So far this album is in my top 3 of the year with BTBAM and Hannes Grossmann.
----
"When you are dead, you do not know you are dead. It's only painful for others. The same applies when you are stupid." - Ricky Gervais
Loading...
02.11.2021 - 22:35
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Batlord666 on 02.11.2021 at 21:37

What bands would you say are more intricate? Currently I'm most impressed by Ophidian I's new album, and of course this new Archspire. Just curious!

Hard to beat Defeated Sanity.
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?


2021 goodies
Loading...
02.11.2021 - 22:36
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Nejde on 02.11.2021 at 22:10

Did musclassia ghost write this review? It feels very un-Radu.

I'm occasionally surprising.
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?


2021 goodies
Loading...
03.11.2021 - 05:08
sgtrobo

Written by RaduP on 02.11.2021 at 22:35

Written by Batlord666 on 02.11.2021 at 21:37

What bands would you say are more intricate? Currently I'm most impressed by Ophidian I's new album, and of course this new Archspire. Just curious!

Hard to beat Defeated Sanity.


new First Fragment
Loading...
03.11.2021 - 05:20
Lanthros

Ehhh. Judging strictly from the song added to the review.

Yeah tight as hell musicianship. There's no denying that.

However, what I hear is grind in the range of Cephalic Carnage without the humor and fun and melo/tech death trying for the mastery of Death without the soul.


It isn't bad at all. But it lacks that original spark.
Loading...
03.11.2021 - 06:32
TenebrisAlas

The spark is in the music...
Loading...
03.11.2021 - 08:05
Enemy of Reality

Technical brutal ultra fast music has its charm in the first couple of listens, after that it becomes just... boring. It's good for what it is, but in a week's time barely anyone will remember a single riff from this thing.
----
Looks like rain
Loading...
03.11.2021 - 09:18
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
No cryptopsy, goreguts or quo vadis
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
03.11.2021 - 10:57
Batlord666

Written by RaduP on 02.11.2021 at 22:35

Written by Batlord666 on 02.11.2021 at 21:37

What bands would you say are more intricate? Currently I'm most impressed by Ophidian I's new album, and of course this new Archspire. Just curious!

Hard to beat Defeated Sanity.


I'll have to give them another listen, I heard some single off of that last album and it didn't grab me. I think the production and art style made me think it was just brutal death.
Loading...
03.11.2021 - 10:57
Batlord666

Written by sgtrobo on 03.11.2021 at 05:08

Written by RaduP on 02.11.2021 at 22:35

Written by Batlord666 on 02.11.2021 at 21:37

What bands would you say are more intricate? Currently I'm most impressed by Ophidian I's new album, and of course this new Archspire. Just curious!

Hard to beat Defeated Sanity.


new First Fragment


Yeah, that album is astonishing!
Loading...
03.11.2021 - 23:49
nikarg
Mod
Written by Batlord666 on 03.11.2021 at 10:57

Written by sgtrobo on 03.11.2021 at 05:08

new First Fragment

Yeah, that album is astonishing!

Indeed.
Loading...
05.11.2021 - 02:07
J the Metallizer

Written by Enemy of Reality on 03.11.2021 at 08:05

Technical brutal ultra fast music has its charm in the first couple of listens, after that it becomes just... boring. It's good for what it is, but in a week's time barely anyone will remember a single riff from this thing.

Yeaaaaah, umm. This is definitely not for you😛 This record is particularly catchy within their discography but I could just as easily hum you riffs from their 2014 and 2017 releases.
Loading...
08.11.2021 - 09:11
Fallen Ghost
Craft Beer Geek
So this is how it sounds like when a dude is rap battling against Eminem while being in a metal band?
Loading...
09.11.2021 - 00:56
sgtrobo

Written by Fallen Ghost on 08.11.2021 at 09:11

So this is how it sounds like when a dude is rap battling against Eminem while being in a metal band?


no.
what a ludicrous thing to say
what's wrong with you.

this is how it sounds when a dude is rap battling against Eminem while being in a death metal mutated version of Dragonforce.
Loading...
09.11.2021 - 08:34
Fallen Ghost
Craft Beer Geek
Written by sgtrobo on 09.11.2021 at 00:56

this is how it sounds when a dude is rap battling against Eminem while being in a death metal mutated version of Dragonforce.



Of course, how could I be so wrong!
Loading...
10.11.2021 - 01:05
sgtrobo

It's ok, we're here to help each other
Loading...
11.11.2021 - 23:00
Arcesse Eum

Very impressed
----
As above, so below.
Loading...
17.11.2021 - 11:06
gavdann

Written by nikarg on 03.11.2021 at 23:49

Written by Batlord666 on 03.11.2021 at 10:57

Written by sgtrobo on 03.11.2021 at 05:08

new First Fragment

Yeah, that album is astonishing!

Indeed.

In a battle for which is better, this Archspire wins hands down for me.

I'm struggling to get past the ultra clean production style of the FF album. It barely sounds like metal to me.
Loading...
17.11.2021 - 11:07
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by gavdann on 17.11.2021 at 11:06

In a battle for which is better

Do they really need to fight?
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?


2021 goodies
Loading...
17.11.2021 - 11:10
gavdann

Written by RaduP on 17.11.2021 at 11:07

Written by gavdann on 17.11.2021 at 11:06

In a battle for which is better

Do they really need to fight?

No but I was continuing the rap battle theme. It's a virtual battle where no one gets physically harmed.
Loading...
24.11.2021 - 18:35
Steiner

Great album. Can't stop playing this one. These guys are doing some really interesting things plus I'm pretty sure their drummer is a cyborg.
Loading...

Hits total: 2212 | This month: 57