Metal Storm logo
The Faceless - Autotheism

8.3 | 319 votes |
Release date: 13 August 2012
Style: Progressive death metal, Technical death metal


290 have it
36 want it

01. Autotheist Movement I: Create
02. Autotheist Movement II: Emancipate
03. Autotheist Movement III: Deconsecrate
04. Accelerated Evolution
05. The Eidolon Reality
06. Ten Billion Years
07. Hail Science
08. Hymn Of Sanity
09. In Solitude

The best Death Metal album of 2012

Geoffrey Ficco - vocals
Michael "Machine" Keene - guitars, vocals
Wes Hauch - guitars
Lyle Cooper - drums
Evan Brewer - bass

Staff review by
The Faceless have come a long way already over a career that hasn't even spanned them a decade, proving with each release their ever-evolving skill and maturation as composers. First there was 2006's Akeldama, a release that most everyone would regard as their worst due to its *gasp!* deathcorish elements. Then came 2008, and the band stepped up their game with Planetary Duality, moving further away from their deathcore roots and into some more promising tech death territory. That album brought hope for them to push the new sound even further, and now with 2012's Autotheism, those hopes have been met, the band even further transcending the foolish scene kid wanderings of their past in the process.

published 09.03.2013 | Comments (6)

Guest review by
Many people criticize Autotheism as being a departure from The Faceless's previous direction, hoping that the progression from Akeldama to Planetary Duality would yield a third album even heavier and more technical than its predecessors. Autotheism is certainly in a much different vein from the band's previous efforts, being more progressive than technical, but it represents their creative and musical height, drawing on multiple influences to form what seems to be the true sound of The Faceless.

published 12.09.2013 | Comments (2)

Found in 34 lists
Top lists

Comments page 3 / 3

Comments: 64   Visited by: 940 users
08.05.2015 - 21:04
Rating: 9
High Fist Prog
The first half of "The Eidolon Reality" isn't that great, "Hail Science" is...I don't even know, and "Hymn Of Sanity" is mercifully short - the rest of the tracks are masterpieces. Every instrument is so intricately arranged into perfection - I wish I could give this a 10
08.05.2015 - 21:05
Rating: 9
High Fist Prog
Written by Moose on 13.09.2013 at 04:42
BtBaM's latest release made me think they were lightyears ahead of pretty much everyone.

You should probably go ahead and give that album a 10 then
28.07.2015 - 14:06
Rating: 8
I find this their most complete album till today. i am not in love with it but surely it has its moments and thats the first time they managed to master their unique sound.
Υou've sold your human essence to the cold world of dead and empty things... You're SOLD!
07.12.2017 - 11:21
Rating: 9
Stunning Cactus

I absolutely adore this album. Every brutal moment, every prog-tinged, vocoder-filled, shreddalicious passage its many great tunes offer.

Hits total: 25057 | This month: 34