Metal Storm logo
Desultory - Biography



Desultory is one of the early Södertälje-based death metal bands and formed in 1989.

In 1991 they recorded a demo called Death Unfolds at the famous Sunlight Studios with producer Tomas Skogsberg. This demo was released as the Forever Gone limited edition mini-album in 1992 together with a later demo called Visions. Desultory have released several albums, including 1993's Into Eternity, 1994's Bitterness and 1996's Swallow The Snake, all under Metal Blade Records.

Stefan Pöge left the band in 1995, thus leading to Swallow The Snake being written and recorded without him. This explains the drastic change in style.

They disappeared in 1997, with Håkan, Klas, and Thomas continuing as a side project called Zebulon.

In 2009, 13 years later, Desultory inked a deal with Pulverised Records.