Metal Storm logo
Sharon Janny den Adel


1996- Within Temptation - vocals (as Sharon den Adel)  
2017- My Indigo - vocals (as Sharon den Adel)  

Guest musician

1995 Voyage - vocals (as Sharon den Adel)  
1997 Silicon Head - backing vocals (as Sharon den Adel)  
1998 Ayreon - vocals (as Sharon den Adel)  
2000 After Forever - vocals (as Sharon den Adel)  
2000 Orphanage - vocals (as Sharon den Adel)  
2000 Paralysis - backing vocals (as Sharon den Adel)  
2001-2002 Avantasia - vocals (as Sharon den Adel)  
2002 Timo Tolkki - vocals (as Sharon den Adel)  
2006 Delain - vocals (as Sharon den Adel)  
2008 Armin van Buuren - vocals (as Sharon den Adel)  
2010 Oomph! - vocals (as Sharon den Adel)  
2011 For All We Know - vocals (as Sharon den Adel)  
2012 Leander Rising - vocals (as Sharon den Adel)  
2013 Timo Tolkki's Avalon - vocals (as Sharon den Adel)  
2016 Avantasia - vocals (as Sharon den Adel)  
2017 Tarja - vocals (as Sharon den Adel)  
2023 Timo Tolkki - vocals (as Sharon den Adel)  

Personal information

Born on: 12.07.1974


Sharon Janny den Adel (born 12 July 1974, in Waddinxveen, South Holland, Netherlands) is a Dutch singer and composer, best known as the lead vocalist and one of the main songwriters in the Dutch symphonic metal/rock band Within Temptation. She has performed with various bands since she was 13, including a blues rock band called Kashiro, and joined Robert Westerholt in Within Temptation in 1996.

Together with her partner, Robert Westerholt, den Adel is one of the founding members of Within Temptation. She has defined their work as epic and cinematic. Her vocals play a major role in the band's sound, despite having never received formal vocal training. Sharon sings in the mezzo-soprano range but her vocal quality is light and lyric despite her range. Before Within Temptation became famous, Sharon worked for a fashion company. As the band became more successful with their hit single Ice Queen, Sharon left the fashion industry to focus on music. She utilises her fashion expertise by designing her stage costumes and the band's merchandise.

Sharon den Adel has performed on-stage and in the studio with several notable bands, including Armin van Buuren, After Forever, De Heideroosjes, and Delain. She sang the part of Anna Held in Tobias Sammet's Avantasia projects, and the part of the Indian on Ayreon's rock opera Into the Electric Castle. She sang the vocals of one Timo Tolkki song, "Are You The One?", co-wrote and provided the vocals for the track "In And Out Of Love" from Armin van Buuren's 2008 album Imagine, and sang on the track "No Compliance" for Delain's album Lucidity, as well as working with the band Voyage on the track "Frozen" (not to be confused with the Within Temptation song of the same title)

Sharon den Adel and long-term partner Robert Westerholt have a daughter, Eva Luna, who was born on 7 December 2005, and with whom Sharon was pregnant during The Silent Force tour. They currently live near Hilversum, Netherlands with two cats, Haplo and Lola. On 22 February 2009, Sharon announced that she was pregnant with her second child, Robin Aiden Westerholt, whose birth was announced on the band's official website on 1 June 2009. Going by the name of Aiden, he was born premature at 32 weeks and 6 days. On November 26, 2010, Sharon announced that she was expecting another child which, due to complications with her previous pregnancies, meant that the band's 2011 tour dates would be rescheduled from Spring till Autumn. The birth of her son, Logan Arwin, was announced on March 31, 2011


Within Temptation
Studio albums
* Enter (1997)
* Mother Earth (2000)
* The Silent Force (2004)
* The Heart of Everything (2007)
* The Unforgiving (2011)

Singles and EPs
* Restless (1997)
* The Dance (EP) (1998)
* Our Farewell (2001)
* Ice Queen (2001)
* Mother Earth (2002)
* Never Ending Story (Promo only) (2003)
* Running Up that Hill (EP) (2003)
* Stand My Ground (2004)
* Memories (2005)
* Angels (2005)
* Jillian (I'd Give My Heart) (Promo only) (2005)
* What Have You Done (2007)
* Frozen (2007)
* The Howling (compilation/EP) (2007)
* All I Need (2007)
* Forgiven (2008)
* Utopia (2009)
* Faster (2011)
* Sinéad (2011)

* Mother Earth Tour (2002)
* The Silent Force Tour (2005)
* Black Symphony (2008)

Live albums
* Black Symphony (2008)
* An Acoustic Night at the Theatre (2009)

Guest appearances
* Embrace (Voyage, 1996) "Frozen"
* Bash (Silicon Head, 1997) "Hear"
* Into the Electric Castle (Ayreon, 1998) "Isis & Osiris", "Amazing Flight", "The Decision Tree", "Tunnel of Light", "The Garden of Emotions", "Cosmic Fusion", "Another Time, Another Space"
* Schizo (De Heideroosjes, 1999) "Regular Day in Bosnia"
* Prison of Desire (After Forever, 2000) "Beyond Me"
* The Metal Opera (Avantasia, 2000) "Farewell"
* Inside (Orphanage, 2000) "Behold"
* Architecture of the Imagination (Paralysis, 2000) "Fly", "Architecture of the Imagination"
* Fast Forward (De Heideroosjes, 2001) "Last Call to Humanity"
* Fooly Dressed (Aemen, 2002) "Time", "Waltz"
* The Metal Opera Part II (Avantasia, 2002) "Into the Unknown"
* Hymn to Life (Timo Tolkki, 2002) "Are You the One?"
* Pinkpop 2005 (De Heideroosjes, 2005) "Candy (Iggy Pop Cover)"
* Lucidity (Delain, 2006) "No Compliance"
* "Crucify" (De Laatste Show-band, Tori Amos cover live)
* Imagine (Armin van Buuren, 2008) "In and Out of Love"
* The Metal Opera: Pt 1 & 2 - Gold Edition (Avantasia, 2008) "Farewell", "Into the Unknown"
* Pure Air (Agua de Annique, 2009) "Somewhere" (Duet)
* Night of the Proms 2009 (John Miles, Katona Twins, Sharon den Adel) "Stairway to Heaven"
* Truth Or Dare (Oomph!, 2010) "Land Ahead"
* For All We Know (Album) (Ruud Jolie, 2011) "Keep Breathing"