Metal Storm logo
Krvna - For Thine Is The Kingdom Of The Flesh review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
7.6

16 users:
7.38
Band: Krvna
Album: For Thine Is The Kingdom Of The Flesh
Release date: December 2022


01. For Thine Is The Kingdom Of The Flesh
02. Gethsemane Ablaze
03. Veni, Vidi, Vici
04. The Flaming Hordes Of Basarab
05. In The Absence Of Gods...
06. ...Death Shall Have No Dominion


For Thine Is The Kingdom Of The Flesh is the second release by the new and impressive solo Australian melodic black metal project Krvna. This was released exactly one year to the date of the release of debut record Sempinfernus, and if traditional melodic black metal with ferociously fast tempo and catchy riffs is your thing, then I simply must recommend you give this one a shot, as this one-man act is certainly looking like a very promising prospect for the future of melodic black metal.

Now when you think of black metal bands from the top of the head, you will perhaps automatically first think of Scandinavian acts. You know, like Dissection, Necrophobic, Sacramentum, and perhaps maybe even Windir and Borknagar to a lesser extent, with album themes reminding you of those freezing cold wintery landscapes, with dark grim atmospheric settings perhaps? But those early days of black metal are pretty much all but over; now the genre has spread across all corners of the globe, reaching just about every country that has been lucky enough to be exposed to this mighty fine genre. As a result, each country seems to now have their very own underground black metal scene, so has been the case for Australia. Yes, black metal isn't just for the land of ice and snow, and this also goes for the melodic side of black metal too. After all, isn't Lucifer supposed to be surrounded by flames deep within the bowels of hell? I'm pretty sure it isn't cold in a place such as that. Anyway I'm babbling on, now on with the album in hand.

There is an overwhelming epic approach to the songwriting in this album, which hits you right away. Starting with the guitar work, it's magnificent indeed, and it's clearly that element that drives this album forward, from the super shredding solos to the highly melodic and catchy tremolo riffing. The harsh shrieking vocals and screams, although nothing out of the ordinary, match the music in just the right way, as they provide that highly passionate and sinister approach, sounding much as if he intends to keep his vocal style within the traditions of Scandinavian melodic black metal.

Each track has its own structural approach, with each one having its very own melodic riff pattern, and each song seems to have a slow build-up at the beginning, all of which lead into an aggressive ferocious tempo, with highly intense blast beats kicking in. There is the occasional experimentation thrown in too, so the album is not all necessarily straightforward, whether it be the atmospheric chanting at the beginning of "The Flaming Hordes Of Basarab", the symphonic choir at the beginning of the opening title track, or the acoustic passage of "Veni, Vidi, Vici" (not to be confused with Virgin Steele).

Simply put, For Thine Is The Kingdom Of The Flesh is as beastly as it is melodic, as melancholic as it is brutal, the riffs are highly addictive, the vocals are sinister as hell, and the lead solos will shock you to the core. To top it all, the album remains consistent, meaning no track will disappoint you. It's not entirely original, it's not exactly a work of musical genius, but it's highly recommended for those into the melodic side of black metal.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 7





Written on 18.12.2022 by And well there you have it.


Comments

Comments: 6   Visited by: 66 users
18.12.2022 - 22:25
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Truth about black metal that old days are gone, med times comes, and new bands plsys even better
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
18.12.2022 - 22:39
F3ynman2000
Nocturnal Bro
Quote:
After all, isn't Lucifer supposed to be surrounded by flames deep within the bowels of hell?

Well, according to Dante, he's somewhere cold. As Iced Earth put it:
Quote:

In a cold and timeless grave
...
Lucifer ... angel of light
Cast below - god of ice


Anyway, nice review - it's got me intrigued! I'll check it out ASAP
Loading...
18.12.2022 - 22:46
Rating: 8
AndyMetalFreak
A Nice Guy
Written by F3ynman2000 on 18.12.2022 at 22:39


Well, according to Dante, he's somewhere cold. As Iced Earth put it:
Quote:

In a cold and timeless grave
...
Lucifer ... angel of light
Cast below - god of ice


Anyway, nice review - it's got me intrigued! I'll check it out ASAP

Quite right! Thanks for pointing that out
Loading...
20.01.2023 - 18:57
Starvynth
i c deaf people
Krvna is one of the few band profiles I've added to the database not because of a user suggestion, but for my "personal pleasure".
I thought Sempinfernus was pretty great and have wondered ever since why no one seemed interested in this project. In fact, I didn't expect anyone to take any notice of this band after it was added to the database either, and I wasn't even surprised that the debut's album thread is nothing but a desolate wasteland to this day.

Six weeks later and I wake up to a review for the sophomore on the frontpage...
How did you even stumble across this?

However, I'm totally with you. This is nothing out of the ordinary, but f#ck me if it's not well done. Melodic black metal made in Australia may still be a niche product, but this is the best hommage to Scandinavian meloblack from Down Under I've heard in 2022.
----
signatures = SPAM
Loading...
20.01.2023 - 19:59
Rating: 8
AndyMetalFreak
A Nice Guy
I was currently going through a melodic black metal phase for a period of time last year when I happened to stumble across Krvna by chance whilst browsing through the MS database. For Thine Is The Kingdom Of The Flesh seemed to be a hit for me from the beginning so when the opportunity came for me to review it I had to take that opportunity. Thanks for adding the band to the database I hope they get more recognition.
Loading...
20.01.2023 - 20:00
Rating: 8
AndyMetalFreak
A Nice Guy
Written by Starvynth on 20.01.2023 at 18:57

Krvna is one of the few band profiles I've added to the database not because of a user suggestion, but for my "personal pleasure".
I thought Sempinfernus was pretty great and have wondered ever since why no one seemed interested in this project. In fact, I didn't expect anyone to take any notice of this band after it was added to the database either, and I wasn't even surprised that the debut's album thread is nothing but a desolate wasteland to this day.

Six weeks later and I wake up to a review for the sophomore on the frontpage...
How did you even stumble across this?

However, I'm totally with you. This is nothing out of the ordinary, but f#ck me if it's not well done. Melodic black metal made in Australia may still be a niche product, but this is the best hommage to Scandinavian meloblack from Down Under I've heard in 2022.


I was currently going through a melodic black metal phase for a period of time last year when I happened to stumble across Krvna by chance whilst browsing through the MS database. For Thine Is The Kingdom Of The Flesh seemed to be a hit for me from the beginning so when the opportunity came for me to review it I had to take that opportunity. Thanks for adding the band to the database I hope they get more recognition.
Loading...

Hits total: 815 | This month: 20