Metal Storm logo
After Forever - After Forever

8.3 | 383 votes |
Release date: 20 April 2007
Style: Symphonic progressive metal


469 have it
21 want it
1 trades it

01. Discord
02. Evoke
03. Transitory
04. Energize Me
05. Equally Destructive
06. Withering Time
07. De-Energized [feat. Jeff Waters]
08. Cry With A Smile
09. Envision
10. Who I Am [feat. Doro Pesch]
11. Dreamflight
12. Empty Memories
13. Lonely [thinbox and digipack bonus]
14. Sweet Enclosure [bonus]

Floor Jansen - lead vocals, choir vocals
Joost van den Broek - keyboards
Sander Gommans - guitars, vocals
Bas Maas - guitars
André Borgman - drums
Luuk van Gerven - bass

Additional musicians:
Dorothee "Doro" Pesch - vocals
Jeff Waters - guitar solo
Amanda Somerville - choir vocals
Previn Moore - choir vocals
Rannveig Sif Sigurdardottir - choir vocals

The City Of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra

Additional info
Produced by Gordon Groothedde.
Recorded and engineerd at Rooftop Studios, Holten & Studio Eternia, Reuver, Netherlands.

The City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Richard Hein.
Arranged by Joest van den Broek.

Digipack version includes bonus track:
13. Lonely (03:26)

Bonus tracks for Japan:
13. Lonely (03:26)
14. Sweet Enclosure (05:03).

Staff review by
After Forever calls this album their "past, present, and future" and they're not kidding. You'll find classical symphonic elements like on their debut, bombastic Decipher-era rhythms, straight up metal Invisible Circles-style, and most importantly a continuation of the dominating progressive step forward they took with Remagine. As was evident on Remagine, the addition of Joost van den Broek on keyboards has been invaluable to this band. His compositions seem to take them to the breaking point of their talent and what an incredible ride it is!

published 29.04.2007 | Comments (18)

Found in 19 lists
Top lists


Comments: 5   Visited by: 513 users
30.01.2010 - 19:45
The Summoner
Some call this a good concluding album for After Forever, and I would have to agree. The band could never touch their classic album Decipher. Without breaking any new ground After Forever's self-titled holds more worth than any of the post-Jansen discs and is a worthy finale.
31.01.2010 - 16:22
Rating: 7

It is the one album of AF i listened. Very good. Nice orchestral works.
I like especially Transitory, Cry with a smile, Dreamflight and Empty memories.
03.09.2010 - 00:15
Account deleted
I really like this album. I miss this band very much. Imo, AF is better than ReVamp. But, ReVamp just started, maybe they will change my mind in their future releases, I hope.
16.07.2011 - 08:16
Rating: 8

@Lovecraft: I absolutely agree. I've had the ReVamp album for months now, and still can't listen to it all the way through without missing After Forever's sound. I really hope their next release changes my mind too.

As for this album, I love it. There's a little bit of everything here. After Forever went out with a bang with this release.
02.07.2013 - 10:44
Rating: 8
M C Vice
Who was the male singer on Dreamflight?
"Another day, another Doug."
"I'll fight you on one condition. That you lower your nipples."
" 'Tis a lie! Thy backside is whole and ungobbled, thou ungrateful whelp!"

Hits total: 12159 | This month: 10