Metal Storm logo
Yoth Iria - As The Flame Withers review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.0

279 users:
8.20
Band: Yoth Iria
Album: As The Flame Withers
Release date: January 2021


01. The Great Hunter
02. Yoth Iria
03. Hermetic Code
04. The Mantis
05. The Red Crown Turns Black
06. Unborn, Undead, Eternal
07. Tyrants
08. The Luciferian


It wasn't enough for Yoth Iria to surprise us with one of the best EPs of 2020; they also had to release exactly twelve months later one of the best melodic black metal albums you'll be lucky to listen to this year, in the form of a debut full-length.

Spearheaded by the founding members of Rotting Christ and Necromantia on bass and vocals, and further bosted by VIP members of the Greek extreme metal scene on guitar and drums (more info on the line-up in this review), Yoth Iria is an old recipe delivered in a fresh and engaging package. True to the ethos of Hellenic black metal, As The Flame Withers is an album of dark, epic and atmospheric black metal that is also chock full of melody and warmth (yes, warmth). This type of Mediterranean-originating black metal is not forged by the cold winds blowing over frostbitten lands like its Scandinavian counterpart, but has a certain kind of warmth and mysticism that envelops you - or slowly plunges you to the fiery depths of hell, depending on how you look at it. Listening to it feels like you are taking part in a process of initiation to the Hellenic black metal cult. This effect is achieved by both the production choice, as well as the actual music itself which is very ritualistic but also distinctly melodic and accessible.

As The Flame Withers is, for the most part, doomy, gloomy, slow-burning, and occult. Only the opening track and the first-revealed single, which was also included in last year's split release with Kawir, are rather fast-paced and menacing. "The Great Hunter" boasts an intro that is one of the most memorable you are going to listen to this year and the song stays gripping until the end, while "The Red Crown Turns Black" is stellar black metal incorporating Burzum's synths and Iron Maiden's melodies. The tracks between these two are equally, if not more, captivating but adopt a slower, esoteric, and - therefore - more immersive approach. My favourite is "The Mantis" due to its Triarchy Of The Lost Lovers vibe and The Magus's vocals that are at their most convincing Abbath/Dagon mix on this song.

My only gripe with the album is that both "Unborn, Undead, Eternal" and "Tyrants" feel somewhat underwhelming, compared to what precedes them. Granted, the first five tracks are top tier black metal but these two really could have been part of the last couple Rotting Christ albums (so not the best Rotting Christ albums). Fortunately, "The Luciferian" is a more than deserving closer; especially its second half gives me the chills because it has Passage To Arcturo written all over it.

This phenomenon of members of the old guard pairing with the younger guns is an experiment that worked for Katavasia and it seems to be fruitful for Yoth Iria too. The Hellenic black metal sound now proudly carries a 30-year history on its back, but bands like these are sure to keep the fire aflame for a lot longer.

"May the Gods have mercy
For the times that will come
The Empire of the Fallen One
Will devour the Sun"





Written on 11.02.2021 by Only way to feel the noise is when it's good and loud!


Comments

Comments: 11   Visited by: 194 users
11.02.2021 - 11:39
nikarg
Mod
Written by Bad English on 29.01.2021 at 19:33

This is where Nik should do some pen job , write reviev whit pen, scan it and upload

Because you asked for it.
Loading...
11.02.2021 - 11:42
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
I like this one even more than that Katavasia album, and it has been my fav black metal album of the year (until The Ruins Of Beverast came along).
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?


2021 goodies
Loading...
11.02.2021 - 12:21
nikarg
Mod
Written by RaduP on 11.02.2021 at 11:42

I like this one even more than that Katavasia album, and it has been my fav black metal album of the year (until The Ruins Of Beverast came along).

I guess that explains all the harassment since December 1st, last year

In case anyone is wondering, almost everything here gets done only because Radu is a f***ing dictator and we all do as he pleases.
Loading...
11.02.2021 - 12:23
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by nikarg on 11.02.2021 at 12:21

In case anyone is wondering, almost everything here gets done only because Radu is a f***ing dictator and we all do as he pleases.

I'm the king, man, I run the underworld, guy! I decide whose does what, and where they do it at! What am I, gonna run around and act like I'm some teenybopper somewhere, for somebody else's money? I make the money, man, I roll the nickels, the game is mine!
I deal the cards!
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?


2021 goodies
Loading...
11.02.2021 - 12:26
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Already know what album to harass you with next.
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?


2021 goodies
Loading...
11.02.2021 - 13:38
musclassia

God he's such a nag, isn't he

On topic: Great album, one of the most impressive of the still-young year
Loading...
11.02.2021 - 15:10
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by musclassia on 11.02.2021 at 13:38

God he's such a nag, isn't he

----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?


2021 goodies
Loading...
11.02.2021 - 22:02
tintinb

Great album, the title song Yoth Iria is my favorite. Really hard to find a single disappointing song in this album. Also the melodies are spot on. Almost feels like they are going the Necrophobic direction, which is pretty cool.
Loading...
12.02.2021 - 15:59
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Kstavasia won to me best greek bm album last year , this done it now. Earth has not seen something so good, from days when Charion was in diapers and God's was not create. Thus us equally good gift to us, as Fire for old people tousends of years ago.
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
12.02.2021 - 16:02
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Written by nikarg on 11.02.2021 at 11:39

Written by Bad English on 29.01.2021 at 19:33

This is where Nik should do some pen job , write reviev whit pen, scan it and upload

Because you asked for it.

Wow, that's something. Now go around and make pictures of your house.
Its ms a nomination worthy.
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
17.02.2021 - 23:16
Wise blind

Let me kindly disagree. In an album 10 to 10 , Unborn Undead Eternal is the best track.
Loading...

Hits total: 2632 | This month: 82