Metal Storm logo
Early Moods - Early Moods review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

50 users:
7.96
Band: Early Moods
Album: Early Moods
Release date: August 2022


01. Return To Salem's Gate
02. Live To Suffer
03. Early Moods
04. Defy Thy Name
05. Memento Mori
06. Last Rites
07. Curse The Light
08. Damnation
09. Funeral Macabre


The first thing that came to my mind when I listened to Early Moods was: “Fashion changes, but style endures”.

I know that a quote by Coco Chanel is one of the most unlikely opening lines you expect to read in a traditional doom metal album review, but I cannot find a better way to express my conviction that, despite all the evolution and the branching out of metal in the last 50+ years, the back-to-basics style will always be a winner, but only when done rightly and respectfully.

Early Moods have not reinvented the wheel. Au contraire, they are using a formula that has been done time and time again. They take the trad riffs and the groovy rhythms of bands like Black Sabbath, Pentagram, Witchfinder General, and Trouble, they spice it up with some Iron Maiden and Angel Witch melodies, they have a darker Sean Harris (Diamond Head) to sing on top, and the end product, leaning more to the doom metal side rather than the heavy metal one, is irresistible. You cannot go wrong if you go classic, provided that the style is not the only thing that is right on the money. The songs have to be worthy of that classic sound, too.

From the upbeat opener “Return To Salem’s Gate” to the epic closer “Funeral Macabre”, the band puts down quality riff after quality riff and gripping solo after gripping solo. The guitars are lightly fuzzy and the vocals have some reverb, so that the album showcases a little bit of a stoner-y character, but not too much, thankfully. The song “Early Moods” is a highlight, following the Black Sabbath paradigm of having the same band name, song title, and debut album title, but my personal favourite is “Damnation”; it sounds as if Alice In Chains are doing an alternate take of the main riff of Metallica’s “Sad But True”, and it has a magnificent solo.

Everything about this release is cool: the black and white band photo, the actual look of the band members (check out the vocalist’s afro), the ‘70s-style logo, but, most importantly, the music. I am a sucker for this type of doom metal, but I am also very difficult to convince because the best of this has already been done, in my opinion. This is why most bands that just go for the retro sound, without the songwriting chops and the musicianship to justify the throwback, end up in my trash bin. Early Moods’ debut will end up in my year-end list instead.





Written on 09.09.2022 by Only way to feel the noise is when it's good and loud!


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 86 users
09.09.2022 - 08:46
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
If by early moods they mean how grumpy I am in the morning, I vibe
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?
Loading...
09.09.2022 - 09:17
Rating: 8
AndyMetalFreak
A Nice Guy
Written by RaduP on 09.09.2022 at 08:46

If by early moods they mean how grumpy I am in the morning, I vibe

I second to that I'm not a early morning person but then this album should certainly Bright up your morning
Loading...
09.09.2022 - 09:24
nikarg
Mod
This album is morning glory.
Loading...
09.09.2022 - 11:57
Rating: 10
RazMan

Thanks for the short but on-point review! I agree with this 100%. Also this resonates with me: "I am a sucker for this type of doom metal, but I am also very difficult to convince because the best of this has already been done, in my opinion." I feel exactly the same. I listen to everything I can find in this genre, and very rarely find anything that I really like. This album is a banger though and I will for sure I revisit it occasionally years, and possibly even decades from now.
Loading...
09.09.2022 - 17:02
nikarg
Mod
^ Thanks for the feedback. I would like to start making my reviews shorter and more on-point, but tbh I don't always succeed. This one is actually 423 words, so it is not that much shorter than the 500-word limit that almost all of us repeatedly ignore

I feel that trad doom and trad heavy metal are difficult genres if you are a new band, because just having the right sound is not enough. New acts need to have really good songs to be able to compete with the giants. Otherwise, I'd much rather listen to Master Of Reality or Piece Of Mind for the umpteenth time, than some new band's watered-down plagiarism.
Loading...
10.09.2022 - 07:57
Rating: 10
RazMan

I agree. Many bands rely on the sound too much. But I also find that a lot of them have really poor vocalists and lyrics which sometimes ruins otherwise decent albums.
Loading...
11.09.2022 - 13:29
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Good work man, I like the 70's music , but somehow, long hair and jeans n letter (unless you're cowboy or 60's biker) looks best from 90's to now.
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
11.09.2022 - 13:33
Netzach
Planewalker
Written by nikarg on 09.09.2022 at 17:02

^ Thanks for the feedback. I would like to start making my reviews shorter and more on-point, but tbh I don't always succeed. This one is actually 423 words, so it is not that much shorter than the 500-word limit that almost all of us repeatedly ignore .

There's a 500 word limit? Just kidding, I know there is. Wait, there's a 500 word limit? Oh, just kidding. Wait...?

Yes it's indeed a good skill to be able to say more with less like you did here.
----
"I swore I would scratch and crawl my way back into the world of the living, and I have DONE IT!"
- Sarevok Anchev
Loading...

Hits total: 718 | This month: 718