Metal Storm logo
Disbelief - Biography





The band was formed in 1990, but did not become one solid line-up for several years. They began with Karsten Jäger, Oliver Lenz, and drummer Markus Gnap, with guitarist/bassist Denis Musiol joining later. They released their first demo the following year. After two more demo tapes, five years, and the replacement of Gnap and Musiol with Tommy Fritsch, Jochen Trunk, and Kai Bergerin, they released their self-titled album in 1997. Their second album, Infected, was released in 1998. A year later, they replaced Fritsch with Jan-Dirk Löffler and received a new recording contract from Massacre Records. After a few more albums, they became signed to Nuclear Blast, which distributed their 2004 record Spreading the Rage to North America and helped them to gain a wider fanbase. After reinstating Fritsch into the band, they released 66Sick in 2005, also in America. Lenz left the band in late 2006 and was replaced by Jonas Khalil; however, the band's seventh album, Navigator, was still released in late February of 2007.

(source: here)

For more than 15 years Disbelief have matured their absolute unique sound with every new album and have become absolutely outstanding and incomparable. The band has worked with different producers like Andy Classen (Legion Of The Damned and others), who did the debut Disbelief (1997), the follow up Infected (1998), as well as Worst Enemy (2001) and Spreading the Rage (2003), Heinz Hess (Harmful u.a.), who did the album SHINE (2002) with a very individual sound, Tue Madsen (The Haunted u.a.) whose excellent work made 66 SICK (2005) being the band's most successful album to date and now finally Michael Mainx (Böhse Onkelz a.o.), who produced the new milestone Navigator (VÖ 23.02.2007 Germany, 26.02.2007 worldwide) with his incredible experience and the result turned out the heaviest, most sophisticated and variable Disbelief album to date! "Live on stage" Disbelief did impress right from the beginning with their intensity on tours with among others Six Feet Under, Bolt Thrower, Death Angel, Pro-Pain, 3x No Mercy-Festivals and lately Ektomorf gave the band a great worldwide reputation as uncompromising individualists! Showcases on big open air festivals like Wacken (1998, 2004), Dynamo (1998), With Full Force (2004, 2006), Summer Breeze (2002, 2003, 2005), Up from the Ground (2004), Party-San (2003) and more worldwide, as well as support shows for Slayer and Anthrax, konnten Disbelief always were able to please big crowds and had their fan-base steadily growing! Both video clips "Sick" and "Rewind It All" got airplay on VIVA 2 and made the name DISBELIEF a well-known trademark in metal! Despite the departure of guitarist and founding member Oliver Lenz (2006) the year 2007 promises to be a great one for the protagonists Karsten "Jagger" Jäger (voc), Kai Bergerin (dr), Thomas "Tommi" Fritsch (g) and Jochen "Joe" Trunk (b) with the support of their new/old label Massacre Records and the video clip for the title track "Navigator", to be the most successful in Disbelief history!

(source: Locomotive Music)