Metal Storm logo
Guilt Machine - Biography




Guilt Machine is a musical project by Dutch musician Arjen Anthony Lucassen. Guilt Machine's debut album 'On This Perfect Day' was released in Europe in the summer of 2009.

In February 2009, Arjen announced in his website that he would be working on his new side project Guilt Machine. This project features a very limited line-up, comparing to other Arjen's side projects: Arjen Lucassen on the instruments and backing vocals, Jasper Steverlinck (Arid) on lead vocals, Chris Maitland (ex-Porcupine Tree) on drums and Lori Linstruth (ex-Stream of Passion) on lead guitar.

On March 9, Arjen announced that fans would be able to submit their own recorded material for a possible inclusion on the project. The material had to be sent in the form of a brief audio message containing the person's thoughts in his/her mother language, with a translation. The deadline for submission was on March 15.

With the announcement of the signing with Mascot Records, Arjen reported that more than 200 audio messages were sent, but only 19 would be included on the album. According to him, the languages range from Chinese to Tagalog and from French to Russian.