Metal Storm logo
Usurper - Details Revealed For 10th Anniversary Reissue

More fine details have been posted on the Myspace blog of recently split Chicagoan extreme metal band Usurper. In November it was announced that a 10th anniversary re-release was in the works for the group's critically acclaimed CD EP 'Threshold of the Usurper'. Here are the specifics straight from the band's fingers:

"Greetings Warriors of Iron and Rust! This is just a quick update on the new Usurper album slated for early January 2008.

Actually it is not really a new album, it is a re-issue of our long out-of-print "Threshold of the Usurper" MCD. It does however have 2 unreleased tracks in addition to new killer artwork from JUHA VUORMA (Usurper: Skeletal Season/Autopsy fame), as well as never-seen-before photos, a 16 page booklet with extensive liner notes, and a new interview with founding members/songwriters Rick Scythe and General Diabolical Slaughter. This is a must have for anyone who followed Usurper over the years.

It will be released by Primitive Reaction Records (Finland) on CD and gatefold vinyl, and there will be a limited edition of 150 CDs and 50 vinyls that we will sell right here on which will be individually autographed by founding members Rick Scythe and General D. Slaughter."

The tracklist posted in the November announcement is as follows:

1. Necrocult Pt. 1 (The Metal War)
2. Slavehammer
3. Black Funeral (Mercyful Fate cover)
4. The Dead of Winter
5. Threshold of the Usurper
6. Anno Satanas (demo version)
7. Stormtroopin' (Ted Nugent cover - previously unreleased)
8. The 13th Son (previously unreleased)

Usurper decided to disband around the end of August 2007; their official statement can be found here, along with a much longer explanation from the perspective of guitarist Rick Scythe.

Band profile: Usurper
Posted: 01.01.2008 by Syk

Hits total: 1645 | This month: 4