Metal Storm logo
Maruta - Remain Dystopian review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
7.7

10 users:
7.50
Band: Maruta
Album: Remain Dystopian
Release date: May 2015


01. Genocide Interval
02. Hope Smasher
03. The Void WIthin
04. Minimal Progress
05. Protocol For Self Immolation
06. Absolutist
07. Stride Endlessly Through Scorched Earth [feat. Tomas Lindberg]
08. Submergence AKA Barren Oceans Of Infinity
09. Erode [feat. J.R. Hayes]
10. Stand In Defeat
11. Remnants Of Failed Utopia
12. I, Usurper
13. Durandal
14. Psalm For The Withered
15. Return To Zero
16. Slaying Jehova
17. Immune


The reason I suck at reviewing albums isn't (only) because I'm goddamn lazy. It's because albums like Remain Dystopian leave me speechless.

Just like Joe Pesci, Maruta doesn't fuck around. These guys keep it around 30 mins and that's that. I discovered them back when Forward Into Regression was released, which was also another little bomb to the groin. Their brand of grindcore mixed with technical death metal remains both sick and slick like a smooth serial killer. Thanks to the great production, the riffs and overall performance turn out rich but still really abrasive, like sandpaper that you want to make love with.

On a closer look it seems like everything got fine-tuned. The sound is clearer but at the same time punchier. I'd say even the songwriting got better as I'm left like "how the hell did they do that" more often than previously. On that note, major thumbs-up for the guitars as they sound massive and deliciously dissonant at times. Maruta also makes intricate tempo changes that not only separate the tracks from one another, but also set them apart a little bit from contemporary grindcore acts.

It pleases me to see bands growing and getting their well-deserved recognition. This is shown not only by Relapse Records taking the band under their wing but also through the stellar singers collaborating with the band. Tomas Lindberg and J.R. Hayes, legends from At The Gates and Pig Destroyer respectively, provide their know-how in two killer tracks. One can only hope that Remain Dystopian will be the entrance to even greater things to come. I'm already waiting for the next blast.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 8





Written on 29.08.2015 by An extremely lazy reviewer but he's so cute you'd forgive him for it.


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 111 users
29.08.2015 - 14:44
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Great one dude! These guys are pretty popular in my area, as I've told you, they migrate between a home base in Orlando and one in Miami, and I've seen them at venues in the latter city plenty of times. They always bring the party and wreck shit up.

Also... you've gained infinite respect for managing to somehow combine George Carlin and Joe Pesci references in a grind review.
----
Check out Apothecary's Favorite Bands Playlist, brotendo. One track per band.
Loading...
29.08.2015 - 20:29
Lit.
Account deleted
Considering how positive the review is, a 7.7 may be a tad low, ain't it?

I'm always up for a good grind album, though. I remember these guys being mentioned somewhere, but I haven't checked them out yet.
Loading...
29.08.2015 - 20:51
Karlabos
Meat and Potatos
^ Probably because Roy decided to make the average of the 4 particular ratings as the final grade.
Sometimes we feel that the album is soo good but when it comes to stop and think about grading those 4 particular aspects, they don't seem to reflect on how good the album is no matter what. Indicatess that there apart from those factors there should be something else contributing to the rating, maybe?
----
Rose is red, violet is blue. Flag is win, Baba is you.
Loading...
29.08.2015 - 20:57
Ilham
Giant robot
Cool reference bro.

I remember listening to this one when it went out and thinking that yes the chaotic nature makes it stand out, but it is also why I wouldn't come back to it much. I kinda like my grind to be at least a bit catchy.
Loading...
29.08.2015 - 21:32
mz

That Carlin reference made me laugh. Tnx man.
----
Giving my ears a rest from music.
Loading...
30.08.2015 - 13:51
X-Ray Rod
Skandino
Thank you all for the kind comments.

Written by Guest on 29.08.2015 at 20:29

Considering how positive the review is, a 7.7 may be a tad low, ain't it?
I'm always up for a good grind album, though. I remember these guys being mentioned somewhere, but I haven't checked them out yet.


Thryce made a very positive review of their previous album. So you knew the name back then. Really, check them out. It's good shit.

Written by Karlabos on 29.08.2015 at 20:51
^ Probably because Roy decided to make the average of the 4 particular ratings as the final grade.

In that case it would be a 8. Since 9+8+7+8 =32. 32/4 = 8.
I went a tad lower because while it is very good. It wasn't like it blew my socks off completely... Maybe just one sock. It's a great album from a band that can do even better.
Also, I felt like I tend to overrate albums most of the time when I look back at my reviews. I really dislike when I later find out I didn't love it THAT much.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
30.08.2015 - 14:11
Ilham
Giant robot
Quote:

In that case it would be a 8. Since 9+8+7+8 =32. 32/4 = 8.
I went a tad lower because while it is very good. It wasn't like it blew my socks off completely... Maybe just one sock. It's a great album from a band that can do even better.
Also, I felt like I tend to overrate albums most of the time when I look back at my reviews. I really dislike when I later find out I didn't love it THAT much.

Oh! So that's why I thought the rating was fair for this one . Good job!
Loading...
30.08.2015 - 14:48
X-Ray Rod
Skandino
Written by Ilham on 30.08.2015 at 14:11

Quote:

In that case it would be a 8. Since 9+8+7+8 =32. 32/4 = 8.
I went a tad lower because while it is very good. It wasn't like it blew my socks off completely... Maybe just one sock. It's a great album from a band that can do even better.
Also, I felt like I tend to overrate albums most of the time when I look back at my reviews. I really dislike when I later find out I didn't love it THAT much.

Oh! So that's why I thought the rating was fair for this one . Good job!


Hhahaha thanks. I want to start a trail of thought that more or less goes like "Write a review. Read it. Read your other reviews. Lower the rating." xD I recall we talked about this a while ago and I started thinking about it more.

Very few albums are as good as the first time you listen to them. Those albums are the ones that are usually 8,0 and higher imo.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...

Hits total: 4128 | This month: 7