Metal Storm logo
Discordance Axis - The Inalienable Dreamless review

Bandcamp music player

38 users:
Band: Discordance Axis
Album: The Inalienable Dreamless
Style: Grindcore
Release date: 2000

01. Castration Right
02. The Inalienable Dreamless
03. Sound Out The Braille
04. Oratorio In Grey
05. Vacuum Sleeve
06. Angel Present
07. The Necropolitan
08. Pattern Blue
09. The End Of Rebirth
10. Loveless
11. Radiant Arkham
12. Use Of Weapons
13. Jigsaw
14. Compiling Autumn
15. The Third Children
16. A Leaden Stride Of Nowhere
17. Drowned
18. Sega Bass Fishing [2022 Reissue bonus]
19. Ikaruga [2022 Reissue bonus]
20. Berserk [2022 Reissue bonus]

Discordance Axis is one of those bands you'll either hate or love, there's no middle position with this grindcore band from USA. I heard their CD "Jouhou" and I thought it was bad but still I decided to check their "masterpiece" The Inalienable Dreamless after a lot of recommendations. This CD impressed me in a weird way, so I will review this album right now, and I'll try to explain this odd experience.

Let me start by saying this? "The music in this album sucks"? this album lacks talent, every song is very similar to the next tune, everyone who loves this band always say "dude, this band is like?so cool? and sounds like Pig Destroyer" well they couldn't be more wrong. Discordance Axis does not sound like Pig Destroyer at all. This pseudo "experimental" music lacks extravagance and the songwriting in general is repetitive and tedious. Ok, the vocals are abrasive and they have no bass player, but that's all (Note: JR Hayes has that kind of vocals yes, but he has another thing called versatility). I found some cool riffs in the album, but those riffs become boring after you hear the same path and scale in every song.

"Discordance Axis" sometimes sounds impressive but after a while you'll be able to hear what this band is really about. The music apparently is technical but if you pay more attention to the tunes you'll hear every "complex" riff is built with the same scale and variations only come in the speed and some frets. The drumming is just ok?very fast but average. The only song I actually loved was "A Leaden Stride of Nowhere". This track has indeed some variations and catchy riffs. It starts with a cool sequence with the drums and the guitars, then obligated riffs all along the song over and over again. Boring? Well, not exactly. This song actually sounds good even though it is the same sequence of riffs every 5 seconds with some cool deviations and bridges.

So, originality? Come on the only original thing is that the album comes in a DVD case! That's all! The music is just not complex and of course not at all experimental. This band is even more plain than regular grindcore. At least the production has a good quality and the album has one good song...

Follow: A Leaden Stride of Nowhere

Recommendable if you like: Agoraphobic Nosebleed, Human Remains, The sound of a lot of blenders blending nuts and cookies at the same time.

Written by Herzebeth | 27.04.2005


Comments: 1   Visited by: 46 users
15.02.2009 - 03:54
Account deleted
I wholeheartedly disagree with this review. It sounds like you went in hating this album before you even listened to it.

Hits total: 3765 | This month: 19