Metal Storm logo
Russell Allen


1995- Symphony X - vocals  
2002- Star One - vocals  
2004- Russell Allen - vocals, guitars, bass, keyboards  
2005- Allen/Lande - vocals  
2011- Adrenaline Mob - vocals  
2013-2018 Trans-Siberian Orchestra - vocals  
2014- Level 10 - vocals  
2015-2022 Joel Hoekstra's 13 - vocals  
2019- Allen/Olzon - vocals  

Studio musician

2016 Magni Animi Viri - vocals  

Guest musician

2000 Ayreon - vocals  
2004 Genius: A Rock Opera - vocals  
2009 Cycle Of Pain - vocals  
2010 Avantasia - vocals  
2010 ReVamp - vocals  
2012 Takayoshi Ohmura - vocals  
2013 Magnus Karlsson's Free Fall - vocals  
2013 DGM - vocals  
2013 Timo Tolkki's Avalon - vocals  
2014 Iced Earth - vocals  
2014 Noturnall - vocals  
2017 Ayreon - vocals  


25.03.2011 Symphony X

Personal information

Born on: 19.07.1971


Russell Allen (born July 19, 1971 in Long Beach, California) is the singer of the American progressive metal band Symphony X.


Before working with a rock band, he was a jouster at a Medieval Times Dinner Theater. He was introduced to the band Symphony X by former singer Rod Tyler. Allen has been the lead singer of Symphony X since 1995, releasing six studio albums and one live album with the band. His first solo album, Atomic Soul, was released April 25, 2005. As well as singing he also plays the bass when performing songs from Atomic Soul live. He is referred to in various circles as "Sir Russell Allen", he is credited as such on Arjen Lucassen's Star One albums, because of a joke that Arjen made knowing Allen's former "job" as a jouster.

In the summer of 2005 he went on tour with Symphony X on Dave Mustaine's Gigantour alongside such bands as Dream Theater, Megadeth, and Nevermore. In the same year, he also made part of a duo melodic rock project with singer Jørn Lande (Masterplan) called Allen/Lande, which already has three albums, all released by Frontiers Records and performed & composed by Swedish guitarist Magnus Karlsson (Primal Fear, Starbreaker).

It is said that Russell is in the works with guitarist Mike Orlando for a second solo album that may be released in the mid summer of 2011. In addition to being on tour with Symphony X, he is also currently working on another project with Mike Orlando and former Dream Theater drummer Mike Portnoy called Adrenaline Mob, also featuring bassist Paul DiLeo and Stuck Mojo/Fozzy guitarist Rich Ward, with an album to be released in 2011.