Metal Storm logo
Before The Dawn - Trivia

While in the writing process for their third album, The Ghost, Saukkonen ended up with over 30 written songs. The first plan was to make a double album for Before The Dawn, but some of the material was slower, more melodic and darker than the songs chosen for The Ghost and Saukkonen wanted to take things further without any limitations that Before The Dawn might create.

The result was Saukkonen's solo project, Dawn Of Solace. The first album, entitled Darkness, features a melodic sound akin to that of Before The Dawn, albeit with a much stronger gothic metal and doom metal influence.
The lyrics of the song "Decade of Darkness" from the EP by the same name contains several song titles from the previous 5 albums.