Metal Storm logo
Djevel - Naa Skrider Natten Sort review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.6

75 users:
7.99
Band: Djevel
Album: Naa Skrider Natten Sort
Release date: November 2022


01. Naar Taaken Tetner
02. Kronet Av En Væpnet Haand
03. Naa Skrider Natten Sort
04. Mitt Tempel Av Stierner Og Brennende Maaner
05. I Daudens Dimme Natt
06. Afgrundsferd
07. Her Visner Hver En Krans


Djevel are a Norwegian black metal project that have managed to retain an underground presence for quite some time now, and it saddens me when such bands go unheard of in the wide metal world for a particular length of time, especially when it comes to releasing top-quality black metal material such as this. So here's Djevel's eighth release, Naa Skrider Natten Sort, and well, what an album we truly have here!

Now in all seriousness, black metal doesn't really get much better than this. The songwriting is top-level stuff; it's right up there with the best in terms of modern black metal standards anyway. The thunderous sound from the blast beat drumming is exceptional, which is provided by no other than Emperor's legendary drummer, Faust. The vocal performance by Kvitrim is phenomenal, in which he gives off an evil presence, and sounds very much like that of Mgła's Mikołaj. Here we also have tremolo riffing at its very best, full of enchanting, hypnotising melody, with an incredibly sinister sound. However, the guitarwork isn't just about the tremolo riffing, as Ciekals' folkish acoustic guitar passages are also masterfully crafted. The lyrics are also stunningly written and poetic, bringing to life the old pagan traditions and folklore.

The atmosphere is captivating beyond belief; they create such vivid and imaginative soundscapes, which send the listener on an epic journey through Norway's breathtaking landscapes. You can actually visualise yourself in Norway's enchanting misty woodlands, or at times hiking along the many stunning rivers, lakes, and fjords, whilst looking up at the snow-capped mountain ranges. At times, it really makes you feel as if you're in another realm or at one with the beautiful Nordic nature. While speaking of atmosphere, l personally feel a strong connection with Vinterland here, particularly due to the chanting vocals (performed with utter perfection by Ciekals). These chants are used most effectively at the beginning of the track "Mitt Tempel Av Stierner Og Brennende Maaner", which, along with the wintery synths, play a major factor towards creating that incredible sound. However, the synths go beyond anything I've heard in recent years; they truly bring this album to life in ways you simply cannot imagine without listening first hand for yourself.

The build-up on the title track is an absolutely breathtaking example of this majestic wintery atmosphere, as the synths work incredibly well alongside the rolling thunderous blast beats and melodious hypnotic riffing, but each track has its own riff structure and separate atmosphere. Now I can't go without mentioning the bass work, which is truly remarkable, as you can hear the bass lines so clearly. This is actually unusual for this kind of black metal, as the bass is usually so far hidden back in the mix, or sometimes not even present at all.

This album sure as hell ticks all the right boxes for me; in fact, the only other band in black metal that has even come close to making me feel this exact same way is the mighty Mgła themselves, so believe me, Naa Skrider Natten Sort is one of those albums that doesn’t really come around too often.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 6
Production: 9





Written on 28.11.2022 by And well there you have it.


Comments

Comments: 15   Visited by: 140 users
28.11.2022 - 22:44
Rating: 9
Bjamm

Excellent revierw! I very much like this album, but your description also adds more to it.
Loading...
29.11.2022 - 07:16
Rating: 9
AndyMetalFreak
A Nice Guy
Written by Bjamm on 28.11.2022 at 22:44

Excellent revierw! I very much like this album, but your description also adds more to it.

Thanks I'm glad you like the review, and the album also
Loading...
29.11.2022 - 12:38
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
I like how you describe nature, take out fjords and it's Sweden
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
29.11.2022 - 13:41
Rating: 9
AndyMetalFreak
A Nice Guy
Written by Bad English on 29.11.2022 at 12:38

I like how you describe nature, take out fjords and it's Sweden

Thanks It's the kind of album that really makes me feel as if I'm in that scenic environment, or at least makes me very much want to be
Loading...
29.11.2022 - 14:10
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Written by AndyMetalFreak on 29.11.2022 at 13:41

Written by Bad English on 29.11.2022 at 12:38

I like how you describe nature, take out fjords and it's Sweden

Thanks It's the kind of album that really makes me feel as if I'm in that scenic environment, or at least makes me very much want to be
that is ts the whole concept about tr00 bm, not st. Ann, but nordic nature.
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
29.11.2022 - 14:34
Rating: 9
AndyMetalFreak
A Nice Guy
Quote:
Written by Bad English on 29.11.2022 at 14:10

Thanks It's the kind of album that really makes me feel as if I'm in that scenic environment, or at least makes me very much want to be
that is ts the whole concept about tr00 bm, not st. Ann, but nordic nature.

Your quite right, black metal isn't just about Satan worship, corpse paint, goat's heads and flaming blooded crosses on stage, there's nothing wrong with that however, it's just there's the other side to the genre aswel, like you say nature themes play a huge part in black metal too. You have it raw and nasty, and you have it atmospheric and beautiful.
At the end of the day to me music is about how it makes me feel, and that's why I greatly admire black metal as a whole, and it's a genre thst continues to impress me.
Loading...
29.11.2022 - 18:01
Rating: 9
DarkWingedSoul

Review has reached its purpose, i will check this out....and have a feeling i will like it thanks.
Loading...
29.11.2022 - 18:04
Rating: 9
AndyMetalFreak
A Nice Guy
Written by DarkWingedSoul on 29.11.2022 at 18:01

Review has reached its purpose, i will check this out....and have a feeling i will like it thanks.

Thanks I hope you will like it too.
Loading...
29.11.2022 - 22:30
Rating: 10
necros4dead

I fell in love with this band from Blant Svarte Graner . I like all of their albums after Blant.... , but this is their best after Blant.... for me
----
Lost In The Battlefield Of Opposite Extremes...
Loading...
30.11.2022 - 00:04
Rating: 9
AndyMetalFreak
A Nice Guy
Written by necros4dead on 29.11.2022 at 22:30

I fell in love with this band from Blant Svarte Graner . I like all of their albums after Blant.... , but this is their best after Blant.... for me

That's a great album too from what I remember, I will have to dig through the rest of their discography at some point they're a quality band.
Loading...
30.11.2022 - 11:33
Rating: 7
musclassia

I listened to the Djevel album last year and pretty much thought it was fine but unremarkable, so was going to skip this one, but felt I had to give it a go since there I saw so much passion in your review while proofing it I'm just on the last song now - I still don't really hear anything particularly special in it, but I can see why you would like it so much, and I'm glad you found a record that works so well for you
Loading...
30.11.2022 - 11:45
Rating: 9
AndyMetalFreak
A Nice Guy
Written by musclassia on 30.11.2022 at 11:33

I listened to the Djevel album last year and pretty much thought it was fine but unremarkable, so was going to skip this one, but felt I had to give it a go since there I saw so much passion in your review while proofing it I'm just on the last song now - I still don't really hear anything particularly special in it, but I can see why you would like it so much, and I'm glad you found a record that works so well for you

Thanks I've heard so many similar albums to this recently, some of which I haven't taken a fancy too, some I found to have a decent atmosphere but nothing special, but this one particular album seems to have really done something for me. I find the whole wintery atmosphere moving, however it's the opening track and the title track in particular that really stand out for me.
Loading...
02.12.2022 - 05:02
no one

I have listened to the last two albums and never really understood the hype (the drummer maybe?) good but nothing that stands out, maybe this album will change my mind, or maybe I just need more listens.
----
Unable to connect to the database
Loading...
05.12.2022 - 14:11
Rating: 10
terroriser

I think the review matches the album in its brilliance
I am always on look out for good black metal album, especially that recently, amidst current progressive metal epidemy, those are difficult to find. After reading such a enthusiastic review I was really excited to sit in my chair with headphones on and started to listen.

I have to say I had no experience of Djevel before so I didn't know what to expect. And I was pleasantly surprised. I love this album becuse it brings echoes of my long gone youth days and albums like Blood Fire Death, Twilight of the Gods or slightly more recent Worship Him. It is nostalgic ride into past bringing back very pleasant memories of places and people i almost forgot ever existed
Loading...
05.12.2022 - 14:44
Rating: 9
AndyMetalFreak
A Nice Guy
Written by terroriser on 05.12.2022 at 14:11

I think the review matches the album in its brilliance
I am always on look out for good black metal album, especially that recently, amidst current progressive metal epidemy, those are difficult to find. After reading such a enthusiastic review I was really excited to sit in my chair with headphones on and started to listen.

I have to say I had no experience of Djevel before so I didn't know what to expect. And I was pleasantly surprised. I love this album becuse it brings echoes of my long gone youth days and albums like Blood Fire Death, Twilight of the Gods or slightly more recent Worship Him. It is nostalgic ride into past bringing back very pleasant memories of places and people i almost forgot ever existed

Thanks I felt strongly passionate about this release, even after my first listen, which only happens every so often. This is a band which has always escaped my attention in the past, but after listening to this I realised what I missed out on, and there are many more albums that bring back this nostalgic feeling for us to discover
Loading...

Hits total: 1667 | This month: 191