Metal Storm logo
Spirit Possession - Of The Sign​.​.​. review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.0

34 users:
7.29
Band: Spirit Possession
Album: Of The Sign​.​.​.
Style: Black metal
Release date: March 2023


01. Orthodox Weapons
02. Second Possession
03. Of The Sign...
04. Inhale The Hovering Keys
05. The Hex
06. Practitioners Of Power
07. Hierarchical Skin
08. Enter The Golden Sign
09. The Altar

Of The Sign of what? OF THE RIFF, OF COURSE!

Now that I’m back from this year’s Roadburn festival (Hey, Rod, that was a month ago), I can finally return to reviewing. So naturally I have to start with one band I wish I had seen at the festival but had to miss not one, but two times in a row! That’s the curse of having too broad of a taste when it comes to black metal. I enjoy my bright, uplifting Deafheaven or the mesmerizing, epic Wolves In The Throne Room. But I also enjoy riffs for days. I want an amount of spikes so large that it would make Vlad Tepes blush. Bullet belts so obscene they will call the cops on me. I love the devil and his filthy music. Spirit Possession delivers on all fronts and I can’t stop being disappointed that I missed their two shows. I’ll let you decide if the trades I made were justified or not.

Spoiler: They weren’t. I should have just cloned myself. So anyway, Of The Sign… sees Spirit Possession return since their debut 3 years ago. Thrash-y black metal is the game here, much like last time. There is a strong emphasis in referencing the giants from the first-wave of black metal as well as continuing with their marvelous maelstrom of free-form riffs that defy all decent order of things. Every twisted riff contorts around your skull and disorients you, pretty much like that sixth drink you had while waiting for the main band to show up. This is the type of music to bash your body around as your battle vest disintegrates after being soaked in beer and blood for too long. That kind of fun.

It’s admirable how much this Canadian duo can pack in 40 minutes with the bare minimum. From the get-go you’ll be assaulted by slithering riffs, alarming soloing and chaotic drumming that is deliciously bouncy. Fans of the newest Negative Plane will find plenty of catchy moments here but with the savagery of Hellhammer added to the mix. The non-linear style of composition is akin to Sabbat (JPN), who also deploy an unpredictable way of moving through speed-metal inspired riffs.

There are not really any differences between this album and Spirit Possession’s self-titled debut. Except for one thing: The production has clearly been improved upon in order for you to truly appreciate each galloping riff and ear-piercing solo. Yet it never sounds too polished or contained.

This is a prime rendition of crazy black metal with hints of speed and thrash metal. I never think of black metal as party music but Spirit Possession are definitely proving me wrong here. UGH!



Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 6
Production: 9





Written on 16.05.2023 by A lazy reviewer but he is so cute you'd forgive him for it.


Comments

Comments: 5   Visited by: 68 users
17.05.2023 - 15:19
I picked their new cassette and first album up because of this review.
Loading...
18.05.2023 - 03:30
X-Ray Rod
Skandino
Staff
Written by TexasDeathRattle on 17.05.2023 at 15:19

I picked their new cassette and first album up because of this review.


Oh that’s really nice to hear! Cheers and hope you enjoy the other album too!
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
18.05.2023 - 16:07
Written by X-Ray Rod on 18.05.2023 at 03:30

Written by TexasDeathRattle on 17.05.2023 at 15:19

I picked their new cassette and first album up because of this review.


Oh that’s really nice to hear! Cheers and hope you enjoy the other album too!



I've been listening on Bandcamp since yesterday!
Loading...
18.05.2023 - 16:15
nikarg
Staff
Written by TexasDeathRattle on 17.05.2023 at 15:19

I picked their new cassette and first album up because of this review.

This is the best comment a reviewer can receive.
Loading...
05.07.2023 - 12:16
Auntie Sahar
Drone Empress
"RIffs for dayz" BM, they remind me a bit of Wode in that regard. Really fun band, and good review too. These guys are touring with Bell Witch soon, pretty sweet combination right there.
----
I am the Magician and the Exorcist. I am the axle of the wheel, and the cube in the circle. “Come unto me” is a foolish word: for it is I that go.

~ II. VII
Loading...

Hits total: 1618 | This month: 32