Metal Storm logo
House Of Atreus - Orations review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

9 users:
6.78
Band: House Of Atreus
Album: Orations
Style: Death metal
Release date: February 2024


01. Orations / Reascension Of Misery
02. Thy Wounded Sovereignty
03. Under An Accursed Dynasty
04. Morphos Of Degeneration
05. Cathedral Of Ancestry
06. Riding The Storm [Running Wild cover]

Gentlemen, please contain yourselves. The new Dune movie is still 2 weeks away.

House Of Atreus came on my radar in 2018, when they dropped their sophomore album with the artwork featuring
John Martin’s “Pandemonium” but actually isn’t. While I would be remiss in not pointing out my disappointment with the fact that the band doesn’t actually write about Frank Herbert’s Dune Chronicles, House Of Atreus offering Roman mythology as a lyrical theme instead wasn’t a bad alternative. For the most part, I quite enjoyed the album. Now, about 6 years later, these purveyors of SPQR Metal (for lack of better term) are back with Orations, a half hour – ish EP.

Point blank? It’s not quite as good as their previous LP, From The Madness Of Ixion, and the fact that it isn’t is reflective of a trend that can at times happen with bands pulling the “EP between two full lengths” move… said EP in turn doesn’t quite match the quality of the full length material. Sometimes noticeably, sometimes only slightly so. Thankfully with House Of Atreus, it’s more so a case of the latter. Orations ain’t as powerful as its predecessor may have been, but perhaps by a mere 10 – 15% margin of error.

The sound on this EP is noticeably a bit less brutal and unrelenting as was From The Madness Of Ixion, a bit less death metal oriented, and more embracing of a sound more akin to First Wave Black Metal. Very riffy, chugga chugga type, barelling songwriting that may very well remind the listener of bands such as Goatwhore or even some of the earlier, rawer material from Skeletonwitch. There may even be some influences of hard rock or heavy metal – type riffage lurking here and there, if you listen deeply enough for them, and in that, funny enough, House Of Atreus would certainly not be the first death metal band this year to embrace such external, non – death metal influences for their compositions. In a sense, this certainly makes their sound more original, having a very bouncy, groovy air to it at points that almost makes one think that this is somewhat like what a death metal version of Kvelertak would sound like. And the fact that the band chose a Running Wild cover to close with, I think, may indeed be a little wink wink nudge nudge * in this exact direction.

The downside of Orations lies in something of a situation like what happened with Bølzer when they released Hero. That is to say, in making their sound more melodic and more embracing of non death metal influences, House Of Atreus in turn make it a good deal less brutal than it was before. Of course, beauty is in the eye of the beholder (in the ear of the listener?), and this is a facet of Orations that will inevitably please some engaging with it, while simultaneously displeasing others. As far as this reviewer is concerned, however, while this may be more of a “good but not great” type release for House Of Atreus, it’ll still probably end up standing as a worthy intermission in between From The Madness Of Ixion and whatever LP they have cooking for us next.

Jupiter is calling, and He would have a word with you.






Written on 19.02.2024 by Metal Storm’s own Babalao. Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments

Comments: 10   Visited by: 75 users
19.02.2024 - 13:51
Lanthros

Atreides
Loading...
19.02.2024 - 13:54
Rating: 7
Auntie Sahar
Drone Empress
Written by Lanthros on 19.02.2024 at 13:51

Atreides

HE GIVES WATER TO THE DEAD
----
I am the Magician and the Exorcist. I am the axle of the wheel, and the cube in the circle. “Come unto me” is a foolish word: for it is I that go.

~ II. VII
Loading...
19.02.2024 - 14:05
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Huh, wasn't even aware this was an EP. It's slightly over where I'd draw the threshold but both the label and M-A call it an EP so it must be right.
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?
Loading...
19.02.2024 - 14:58
Rating: 7
Auntie Sahar
Drone Empress
Written by RaduP on 19.02.2024 at 14:05

Huh, wasn't even aware this was an EP. It's slightly over where I'd draw the threshold but both the label and M-A call it an EP so it must be right.

It was originally submitted as an LP. When someone changed it here to EP I was inclined to change it back at first, but after seeing exactly what you mentioned, I decided to let it be. I’m a firm believer in the “the release is whatever the band or label says it is, regardless of the runtime” principle
----
I am the Magician and the Exorcist. I am the axle of the wheel, and the cube in the circle. “Come unto me” is a foolish word: for it is I that go.

~ II. VII
Loading...
21.02.2024 - 21:11
Babkf

Atreus is from ancient greek mythology though not Dune
:
Loading...
22.02.2024 - 11:54
Rating: 7
Auntie Sahar
Drone Empress
Written by Babkf on 21.02.2024 at 21:11

Atreus is from ancient greek mythology though not Dune
:

Yeah, with all due respect.... you don't want to challenge me on the Dune novels. Class A Frank Herbert Super Nerd you're dealing with, right here

So, you are indeed correct, Atreus comes from ancient Greek mythology. Yet in the Dune novels, it is mentioned more than once that the House of Atreides that Leto I, Paul, and Leto II come from trace their lineage back to the House of Atreus on the original planet Earth, and that they consider Agamemnon one of their forefathers
----
I am the Magician and the Exorcist. I am the axle of the wheel, and the cube in the circle. “Come unto me” is a foolish word: for it is I that go.

~ II. VII
Loading...
22.02.2024 - 14:07
Babkf

I don't want to challenge you on your Dune knowledge.
I want to correct you on the fact that the band takes its name from ancient greek mythology and not from Dune.
Besides their name, it is evident in the titles of their songs and albums. Even their drummer has taken a name from greek words (bit cringe btw)
Loading...
22.02.2024 - 19:30
Rating: 7
Auntie Sahar
Drone Empress
Written by Babkf on 22.02.2024 at 14:07

I don't want to challenge you on your Dune knowledge.
I want to correct you on the fact that the band takes its name from ancient greek mythology and not from Dune.
Besides their name, it is evident in the titles of their songs and albums. Even their drummer has taken a name from greek words (bit cringe btw)

But this is something I already was aware of and mentioned in the review as a joke
----
I am the Magician and the Exorcist. I am the axle of the wheel, and the cube in the circle. “Come unto me” is a foolish word: for it is I that go.

~ II. VII
Loading...
25.02.2024 - 13:00
Not review related, but check your inbox, Auntie
Loading...
10.03.2024 - 15:24
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Best thing was Running Wild cover here hehe
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''
apos;'
[image]
I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...

Hits total: 911 | This month: 25