Metal Storm logo
Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse

8.9 | 1017 votes |
Release date: 21 February 1994
Style: Symphonic black metal


1338 have it
103 want it
3 trade it

Disc I
01. Introduction
02. Into The Infinity Of Thoughts
03. The Burning Shadows Of Silence
04. Cosmic Keys To My Creations & Times
05. Beyond The Great Vast Forest
06. Towards The Pantheon
07. The Majesty Of The Night Sky
08. I Am The Black Wizards
09. Inno A Satana
10. A Fine Day To Die [Bathory cover] [bonus]
11. Gypsy [Mercyful Fate cover] [bonus]

As The Shadows Rise 7" EP 1994
12. The Ancient Queen [remastered edition bonus]
13. Witches Sabbath [remastered edition bonus]
14. Lord Of The Storms [remastered edition bonus]

Disc II [remastered edition bonus]
01. Introduction [alternative mix]
02. Into The Infinity Of Thoughts [alternative mix]
03. The Burning Shadows Of Silence [alternative mix]
04. Cosmic Keys To My Creations & Times [alternative mix]
05. Beyond The Great Vast Forest [alternative mix]
06. Towards The Pantheon [alternative mix]
07. The Majesty Of The Night Sky [alternative mix]
08. I Am The Black Wizards [alternative mix]
09. Inno A Satana [alternative mix]

The Alckerhaugen Tapes 1993
10. The Majesty Of The Night Sky [4-track pre-production]
11. The Burning Shadows Of Silence [pre-production rehearsal]
12. I Am The Black Wizards [rehearsal]

Top 20 albums of 1994: 2
Top 200 albums of all time: 99

Vegard Sverre Tveitan - vocals, guitars, keyboards
Tomas Thormodsæter Haugen - guitars
Terje Vik Schei - bass
Bård Guldvik Eithun - drums

Additional info
Some versions of the album have a 0.50 intro track as track 1, followed by the normal 8 tracks.
Recorded in July 1993 at Grieghallen Studios.
Produced by Pytten and Emperor.
All tracks re-mastered by Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios, 2014.
Front cover and 2014 logo by Necrolord.

Guest review by
Emperor released their first full length album "In The Nightside Eclipse" in 1994. At the time, Emperor's line-up consisted of Ihsahn on lead guitars, vocals and keyboards, Samoth on guitars, Tchort on bass and Faust on drums. This album is indeed a masterpiece album in the Black Metal genre. It consists of ten tracks including the bonus tracks "A Fine Day To Die" (Bathory cover) and "Gypsy" (Merciful Fate cover). Alver (bass), Trym (drums) and Charmand Grimloch (keyboards) make appearances on the two cover songs.

published 29.12.2006 | Comments (19)

Guest review by
Behold the greatest symphonic black metal release ever! "In The Nightside Eclipse" is one of the most important albums in the 90's Norwegian black metal scene. Consisting of 8 tracks plus two covers (Bathory - "A Fine Day To Die" and King Diamond's "Gypsy") this album has managed to show the listeners that black metal can be raw and extremely melodic at the same time.

published 11.05.2009 | Comments (10)

Found in 78 lists
Top lists

Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 33   Visited by: 1483 users
12.06.2020 - 13:09
Rating: 10

Immense, and grand. Epic and incommensurable. Pick the one with the bonus tracks, they rock. The cover from King Diamond, Gipsy, is probably the 3 most awesomely charged minutes I've heard in a long time. The best songs are well known, Into the Infinity of Thoughts, Inno a Satana, and I'm the Black Wizards.
03.02.2021 - 18:50
Rating: 9

Their second best album (after Anthems To The Welkin At Dusk) IMO
My Favourite Albums (ordered & rated)
Top 200 Overlooked Albums (with genres)
So I Heard You Like Wintersun... (Time II find new bands)
19.04.2021 - 17:31
Rating: 8
I don't know how to feel about the fact that my favorite song in there is the Bathory cover, great album nonetheless

Hits total: 29790 | This month: 90