Metal Storm logo
Magnus Karlsson


1999-NA Midnight Sun - guitars  
2000-2003 Last Tribe - guitars, keyboard, backing vocals  
2005- Allen/Lande - guitars, bass, keyboards  
2005- Planet Alliance - keyboards, guitars  
2005- Starbreaker - guitars, keyboards  
2007- The Codex - guitar, keyboards  
2008- Primal Fear - guitars  
2009- Kiske/Somerville - guitars, keyboards  
2011- Magnus Karlsson's Free Fall - guitars, bass, keyboards, vocals  
2016- The Ferrymen - bass, guitars, keyboards  
2019- Allen/Olzon - guitars, bass, keyboards  
2020- Heart Healer - guitars, bass, keyboards  
2022- Ginevra - guitars  

Studio musician

2008 Bob Catley - keyboards, guitar solo  
2011 Ralf Scheepers - lead guitars, guitars, banjo, accordion, keyboards  
2017 Sinner - guitars, keyboards  
2019 Sinner - guitars, keyboards  
2021 Anette Olzon - guitars  

Live musician

2011 Ralf Scheepers - guitars  

Guest musician

2007 Primal Fear - guitars  
2011 Sinner - guitars  
2013 Anton Johansson's Galahad Suite - guitar solo  
2015 Level 10 - acoustic guitar  
2016 Place Vendome - guitars  
2017 Devoid (FRA) - guitars  
2019 Signum Regis - guitar solo  
2022 Mantric Momentum - orchestrations  

Personal information

Born on: 26.11.1973


Magnus attempted school to study classical guitar when he was 10 years old, later on he was very much into "The New Wave Of British Heavy Metal" of bands such as Iron Maiden, Dio, Judas Priest and Black Sabbath. His influences as a guitarist were Steve Morse, Steve Vai and Allan Holdsworth. He has played in various metal and fusion bands early on and developed a style which mixes metal and folk music.

His first critically acclaimed musical project was with the band Last Tribe, which has released three full-length albums.

In 2004, Magnus started to work as a session musician in a project put together by Frontiers Records, which had the intention to have two acclaimed heavy metal vocalists singing together as a duet. The project ended up featuring Magnus's two favorite singers nowadays, powerhouse vocalists Russell Allen (Symphony X) and Jørn Lande (Masterplan) and it was simply called Allen/Lande. The project already has three albums with all music and lyrics written by Magnus Karlsson, featuring a variety of hard rock and heavy metal songs with a progressive metal touch.

In the same year he also started to write music for a project with singer Tony Harnell (TNT), drummer John Macaluso (Ark, Yngwie Malmsteen) and bassist Fabrizio Grossi (Steve Vai) that would later on become the band Starbreaker.

In 2008, he worked with Magnum vocalist Bob Catley on his solo album Immortal writing all the songs himself .

Recently, Magnus joined German metal band Primal Fear making a big contribution to the band's songwriting. He also teamed up with the band's bassist and leader Mat Sinner to work in a number of projects released by Frontiers Records, such as Kiske/Somerville (another singer-duet project, featuring ex-Helloween singer Michael Kiske and American singer and vocal coach Amanda Somerville) and the first solo album by Primal Fear frontman Ralf Scheepers.