Metal Storm logo
(Dolch) - Feuer review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

18 users:
7.61
Band: (Dolch)
Album: Feuer
Release date: November 2019


01. Burn
02. Halo (Afraid Of The Sun)
03. A Funeral Song
04. A Love Song
05. Psalm 7
06. Mahnmal
07. Feuer


I don't always check our new album recommendations thread, but if whenever I did I found albums like (Dolch)'s Feuer, I'd drop by more often. And I'm glad I dropped by that one time.

Feuer is one of those albums that come pretty late in the year seemingly out of nowhere and suddenly all of my lists have to get shuffled over because I have absolutely no idea how to properly take them in. It's one of those albums you could tag as gothic, or as drone, or as avantgarde, or as doom, or even as meloblack at times, and you wouldn't be wrong. (Dolch) are a mysterious German duo who apparently dropped out of nowhere, but have actually been steadily releasing demos, splits and EPs since 2014. For some reason their logo (that knife in a triangle) did give me a few King Dude vibes, but that's also likely because they actually did have a split with him, not only that, but also one with The Ruins Of Beverast. And having also performed at Roadburn in 2017, all of these without having released a full length album, you could say that they do have the seal of approval from a lot of places.

So despite the splits and the aesthetic, there isn't such a strong neofolk presence in (Dolch)'s music. Sure, it's there, but they're closer to the neofolk of Chelsea Wolfe than of Sol Invictus in this case, coming much closer to a very gothic sound, which isn't surprising considering the album title (German for "Fire", because everybody knows that German is the most goth language) and their bandcamp profile picture. Led by powerful and entrancing female vocals, they channel both that gothic neofolk and neoclassical touch and a very hypnotic almost dronish doom, so they're like Dead Can Dance meets Sopor Aeternus And The Ensemble Of Shadows meets Wolvennest, maybe just a bit of meets Portishead too. And all of it courtesy of a label like Ván Records and with promises of it just being the first part of a trilogy of albums, with Nacht and Tod (German for "Night" and "Death"), seems like there's plenty of more darkness to come from this front.

Despite all of the influences and genres I named, the music on Feuer doesn't sound too disjointed or all over the place, it's rather cohesive in a single sound, as complex and as interesting as that sound is, it's just a darkness that seems to have been approached by a lot of artists from different directions. The songs are long and hypnotic, at times a bit too long for their own good, but the production is so immersive and the layering so engaging that I wouldn't have minded if they were even twice as long. The vocals do give just enough lines that could be considered catchy to keep us from falling to deep in the state, sometimes in English sometimes in German, all of this under a wall of droning guitars and at times almost DSBM-ish lo-fi riffs and thick soundscapes. The lack of variation would be more of a detriment if it didn't sound so full and lush, but I have to agree that the first half of the album is significantly more immersive than the latter half.

There's a bit of cutting that would've benefited Feuer, but it's undeniable that the soundscapes on this record are absolutely mesmerizing at times, and even at their most bloated they still hold a lot of beauty.






Written on 21.12.2019 by Doesn't matter that much to me if you agree with me, as long as you checked the album out.


Comments

Comments: 15   Visited by: 77 users
21.12.2019 - 14:14
nikarg
Mod
This is indeed a wholly immersive album, your description is very accurate.

Germany has really killed it this year. Atlantean Kodex, Fvneral Fvkk, Imperium Dekadenz, Lacrimas Profundere, Finsterforst, Temple Koludra, Disillusion, Eremit, Booze Control, the Sun Of The Sleepless & Cavernous Gate split, even Rammstein released a very good album, and these are just off the top of my head.
Loading...
21.12.2019 - 16:47
Rating: 9
Dinruth

I'm glad you like it I'm going to see them live at the House of the Holy Festival the second time now, and I am really looking forward to that, because live they are extremely - to put it in your words - mesmerizing .. I was able to lose myself in the music in the Austrian alps. An absolutely outstanding experience
Loading...
23.12.2019 - 00:22
Rating: 7
ScreamingSteelUS
Editor-in-Chief
I would have assumed that Gothic was the most goth language, but this isn't really my forte.

I'm wary of pronouncing that name ((Dolch), not "feuer"; I've got that one down), but this review intrigues me. Maybe I'll be able to listen to the album before 2021.
----
"Earth is small and I hate it" - Lum Invader

I'm the Agent of Steel.
Loading...
23.12.2019 - 09:59
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by ScreamingSteelUS on 23.12.2019 at 00:22

I would have assumed that Gothic was the most goth language, but this isn't really my forte.

Find me a band that sings in Gothic and then we'll talk
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?
Loading...
23.12.2019 - 10:06
Rating: 9
Dinruth

Written by ScreamingSteelUS on 23.12.2019 at 00:22

I'm wary of pronouncing that name (Dolch)


quite a natural thing, since you do not have the 'ch' sound in English
Loading...
23.12.2019 - 10:24
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Dinruth on 23.12.2019 at 10:06

Written by ScreamingSteelUS on 23.12.2019 at 00:22

I'm wary of pronouncing that name (Dolch)


quite a natural thing, since you do not have the 'ch' sound in English

Should sound something like (Dawlh) in English with emphasis on the h, aye?
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?
Loading...
23.12.2019 - 11:03
Starvynth
i c deaf people
Written by RaduP on 23.12.2019 at 10:24

Should sound something like (Dawlh) in English with emphasis on the h, aye?

Far too complicated.
It's rather like an American would pronounce the imaginary word "dolge".
----
signatures = SPAM
Loading...
23.12.2019 - 11:04
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Starvynth on 23.12.2019 at 11:03

Far too complicated.
It's rather like an American would pronounce the imaginary word "dolge".

Damn it, I stand corrected
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?
Loading...
23.12.2019 - 21:20
Rating: 9
Dinruth

Written by Starvynth on 23.12.2019 at 11:03

Written by RaduP on 23.12.2019 at 10:24

Should sound something like (Dawlh) in English with emphasis on the h, aye?

Far too complicated.
It's rather like an American would pronounce the imaginary word "dolge".

Nope .. dolge would be pronounced /doldsch/ in english ... the DOL part of your imaginary word is correct, but the /ch/ sound is nowhere near the 'ge' in your imaginary word ... the /ch/ sound is produced when touching the palate with the middle part of your tongue and letting air through .. that's as near as I can get describing it with my narrow phonetic knowledge
Loading...
23.12.2019 - 21:38
Rating: 9
Dinruth

Written by Starvynth on 23.12.2019 at 11:03

Written by RaduP on 23.12.2019 at 10:24

Should sound something like (Dawlh) in English with emphasis on the h, aye?

Far too complicated.
It's rather like an American would pronounce the imaginary word "dolge".


then again, you are from Germany after all, where the /ch/ sound is much less distinct than where I am from
Loading...
23.12.2019 - 23:26
Starvynth
i c deaf people
Written by Dinruth on 23.12.2019 at 21:38

then again, you are from Germany after all, where the /ch/ sound is much less distinct than where I am from

Probably, and it's not just the difference between German and Austrian accents: people from my area (Cologne) tend not to distinguish the soft "ch" and the sharp "sch".
Anyways, meanwhile I got hold of lovely Julie to assist me and to prove I wasn't too wrong. Try copy/paste of "Deezer furgiftitter dolge sol teef in dynam curper stecken" for a good laugh.



Yeah, this is quite some interesting stuff and a very apt description of the album.
Too bad I'm not really digging the painfully repetitive, drony passages ("A Love Song") and the female vocals. I'm not saying they are bad - not at all - but I'm pretty sure the whole package would easily be much more to my liking if a male vocalist were involved. You caught my attention by shouting Portishead - but there can only be one Beth Gibbons...
----
signatures = SPAM
Loading...
24.12.2019 - 11:03
nikarg
Mod
Written by Starvynth on 23.12.2019 at 23:26

there can only be one Beth Gibbons...

qft

However, I do like her vocals a lot, they fit well the droney passages methinks and make the whole thing sound a bit more... gothic?
Loading...
24.12.2019 - 11:06
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Starvynth on 23.12.2019 at 23:26

but there can only be one Beth Gibbons...

For the love of God, I need another Beth Gibbons album in my life, whether with Portishead or not
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?
Loading...
24.12.2019 - 12:30
nikarg
Mod
Written by RaduP on 24.12.2019 at 11:06

For the love of God, I need another Beth Gibbons album in my life, whether with Portishead or not

I'm your Santa, Here you go.
Loading...
24.12.2019 - 12:48
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by nikarg on 24.12.2019 at 12:30

I'm your Santa, Here you go.

Eternal blessing upon thee and your descendants

That also happens to be one of my favorite classical pieces
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?
Loading...

Hits total: 2706 | This month: 9