Metal Storm logo
Borknagar - Winter Thrice

8.3 | 346 votes |
Release date: 22 January 2016
Style: Melodic black metal, Progressive black metal


280 have it
38 want it

01. The Rhymes Of The Mountain
02. Winter Thrice
03. Cold Runs The River
04. Panorama
05. When Chaos Calls
06. Erodent
07. Noctilucent
08. Terminus
09. Dominant Winds

Top 20 albums of 2016: 15

Andreas Hedlund - vocals
Simen Hestnæs - bass, vocals
Lars Are Nedland - keyboards, vocals
Øystein Garnes Brun - guitars
Jens F. Ryland - guitars
Baard Kolstad - drums

Guest musicians
Kristoffer Rygg - vocals

Session musicians
Simen Daniel Børven - bass
Pål Mathisen - vocals

Additional info
Recorded from October 2014 to June 2015.
Drums recorded at Toproom Studio, October 2014.
Guitars recorded at Crosound Studio, January-May 2015.
Keys, FX and synthesizers recorded at Mezzanine Studio, May 2015.
Vocals recorded at Waves Studio, Mezzanine Studio and Oak Hill, November 2014-June 2015.
Bass arranged and recorded by Simen Daniel Børven.
Mixed and mastered by Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios, Örebro, June 2015.

All songs written by Øystein G. Brun except "Panorama" written by Lars A. Nedland.
All songs arranged by Borknagar.
Produced by Øystein G. Brun and Borknagar.

Original nature photos by Thor Erik Dullum.
Cover, layout and design by Marcelo Vasco (

Staff review by
Borknagar have spent the last two decades - pardon the cliché - doing their own thing. Never much concerned with publicity or reception of their work, as it appeared, they put out a number of solid releases, played a show or a small tour here and there, and otherwise elegantly avoided the big stage. Various lineup changes entailed a broad stylistic variance throughout their discography, ranging from fierce black metal tunes to warm symphonic harmonies with a slight avant-garde twitch while several recurring themes act as modest leitmotifs in their sound today. For their 20th anniversary, Borknagar return with a special release: one assembling all four singers the band had over the years on a single album: Winter Thrice.

published 23.01.2016 | Comments (16)

Found in 48 lists
Top lists

Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 33   Visited by: 1019 users
16.03.2016 - 12:35
Rating: 10
Night Angel

Awesome album from the awesome band! The atmosphere of this music makes me shiver! The vocals of Vortex are beautiful together with guitar riffs of Brun and Ryland! Thhe first really magnificent release of 2016!
09.07.2016 - 18:37
Rating: 9
Metal Addict
I like this album quite a lot. I would even dare to say that it's their best one in years. It does not sound revolutionary, but it seems the band has long since found its sound and just keeps on polishing it.
The real standout for me is the majestic title track, but all the songs are great.
"And we are not who we think we are
We are who we're afraid to be"
- Lux Occulta "The Opening of Eleventh Sephirah"
10.07.2016 - 17:58

Hits total: 18922 | This month: 6