Metal Storm logo
Kauan - Sorni Nai review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.8

241 users:
8.58
Band: Kauan
Album: Sorni Nai
Release date: October 2015


01. Akva
02. Kit
03. Khurum
04. Nila
05. At
06. Khot
07. Sat


Touched by grace once more, the Russian band known as Kauan carries on with their folkish doom atmospheric brilliance with another composition that spans the whole album. After the impressive Pirut, I was a little weary when Kauan's mastermind Anton Belov announced that this was going to be another epic composition. After all, how could it compare to the sheer genius of Pirut? So yeah, I was a fan of the band coming in, but this album does not disappoint. Let me rephrase that. It has all the makings of a classic masterpiece for years to come.

Their music is somewhere midway between post-rock and folk with classic music and doom influences. This is not your traditional metal album. It is slow, self-reflective and fascinating music. Sorni Nai narrates the journey of the unfortunate hikers involved in the infamous Dyatlov Pass incident. This is a sure way to expand your culture. With haunting female voices from Alina Roberts Belova and the emotions brought forth by the string instruments of Anatoly Gavrilov, Alexandra Altukhova, Julia Makarenko and Vladimir Babutin, this album crafts an eerie atmosphere where joy, wonder, fear and hope rival with unknown and horror. As usual, the voice and riffs of Anton Belov paint this amazing story. And yes, the vocals are in Finnish as expected.

This Russian band has some amazing albums under his belt, yet Sorni Nai manages to rival, if not surpass their recent efforts. This is a definite must-listen for 2015, especially if you like your music pensive and on the quieter side. If you are ready for a trek in the snow towards your perdition, listen to Sorni Nai and enjoy being there.

When music embodies art, think no further than Kauan.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 8





Written on 07.11.2015 by Bringing you reviews of quality music and interesting questions such as:

"A picture is worth a thousand words. How many words is a song worth?"

I have only got so much patience and skills, you do the math.


Comments

Comments: 7   Visited by: 318 users
07.11.2015 - 23:24
Marcus
Doit Like Bernie
Great review - wonderful to see Kauan keep churning out solid albums and getting love on Metalstorm.
Loading...
08.11.2015 - 00:54
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
There are theories that aliens were involved on hikers death, they bodies were mutilated, and like burned in heavy fire
locals say that mountain name in local means ''place where we should not go''
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
08.11.2015 - 02:00
Nihil Aeternum

Very good review. I love this album.
Loading...
09.11.2015 - 08:06
toxx
Supreme being
Written by Bad English on 08.11.2015 at 00:54

There are theories that aliens were involved on hikers death, they bodies were mutilated, and like burned in heavy fire
locals say that mountain name in local means ''place where we should not go''


The bodies weren't really mutilated, although some of them had massive internal injuries, but no signs of damage on the outside of their bodies. One of them was found missing her eyeballs and tongue. Very intriguing story. I wonder what happened to them? There are shitloads of theories though.

Good review too! One of my favorite albums this year, for sure!
Loading...
09.11.2015 - 12:33
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Written by toxx on 09.11.2015 at 08:06

Written by Bad English on 08.11.2015 at 00:54

There are theories that aliens were involved on hikers death, they bodies were mutilated, and like burned in heavy fire
locals say that mountain name in local means ''place where we should not go''


The bodies weren't really mutilated, although some of them had massive internal injuries, but no signs of damage on the outside of their bodies. One of them was found missing her eyeballs and tongue. Very intriguing story. I wonder what happened to them? There are shitloads of theories though.

Good review too! One of my favorite albums this year, for sure!


its mutilation to me, some say they were under UFO engine and ppl run nacked from it in a snow, they would die anyway
in USA ppl lives everywhere, Russia non lives in Sibiria so in USA many ppl can see UFO

People problem is they use bible as source, and base all as bible says, but when evidence proves workd or building is older, scientists , Vatican people can not explain and don't talk about it,
Bibel is example about time travel, UFO landing --- Jacobs Leather, even nuclear explosion in Sodom and Gomorrah.
What happened whit Da Vinci in 2 lost years ... time travel, space travel,s ounds crazy, but there are no other logical explanations about unexplainable things
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
11.11.2015 - 18:27
hide

Quote:
Let me rephrase that. It has all the makings of a classic masterpiece for years to come.

Hello, i'm sorry to have subscribed for this but it's bothering me a little. Many review here aren't really long, that's ok but when i read something as dithyrambic as this I hope for more arguments. Even if it's not exactly on topic just something that justify such words. I won't throw any rock because i wouldn't be able to write as well as most here but still i like reading good reviews that make me feel their passion for the metal.
Anyway I'm listening to Kauan right now, it's good, really, but maybe i'm missing something to hear a masterpiece, something that may have been written in the review to complete my understanding of this band.
Loading...
12.11.2015 - 02:38
Dream Taster
The Enemy Within
Written by hide on 11.11.2015 at 18:27

Hello, i'm sorry to have subscribed for this but it's bothering me a little. Many review here aren't really long, that's ok but when i read something as dithyrambic as this I hope for more arguments. Even if it's not exactly on topic just something that justify such words. I won't throw any rock because i wouldn't be able to write as well as most here but still i like reading good reviews that make me feel their passion for the metal.
Anyway I'm listening to Kauan right now, it's good, really, but maybe i'm missing something to hear a masterpiece, something that may have been written in the review to complete my understanding of this band.

I hear you. I tried for days to put that justification in writing but I was never happy with it. So I decided to let the music speak for itself, seeing that it is available for streaming without limitations.
Loading...

Hits total: 10504 | This month: 8