Metal Storm logo
Come To Grief - When The World Dies review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

11 users:
6.45
Band: Come To Grief
Album: When The World Dies
Release date: May 2022


01. Our End Begins
02. Life's Curse
03. Scum Like You
04. Devastation Of Souls
05. When The World Dies
06. Bludgeon The Soul / Returning To The Void
07. Death Can't Come Soon Enough


Grief changes shape, but it never ends.

Sludge has become quite a versatile sound. For years we had sludge and stoner merged as categories in the Metal Storm Awards and there weren't much complaints. All sludge is also technically doom. Blackened sludge became almost a thing of its own. And you add "atmospheric" in front of it and it's suddenly post-metal. What at its core is a middleman between doom metal and hardcore punk has morphed in the decades since, and has permeated the DNA of other subgenres, and yet a very distilled version of it is still unmistakable. And a bunch of the bands that have started that, Down, Crowbar, Eyehategod, Melvins, all still kicking, still keep that distilled sludge as part of their sound. But there was more to 90s sludge than these bands. Now, a part of Grief's legacy has been awakened.

Come To Grief isn't really Grief. Though the band takes the name from the 1994 classic album of the same name, a name that also happens to include the original band name, only one of the current Come To Grief members also performed on the 1994 Come To Grief album. A lot of the ol' sludge royalty legitimacy comes from guitarist Terry Savastano, but drummer Chuck Conlon has also played on the final Grief record, so you have at least half of Come To Grief having been part of Grief. Because as much as I love sludge and especially this classic sound, I can't deny that I was mostly compelled to review this due to its connections to Grief.

And if you know how the classic sludge sound sounds like, and especially if you listened to Come To Grief (which you definitely should), you should have a pretty good idea of how When The World Dies sounds like. And even if all the sludge you listened to came from newer bands like Primitive Man and Thou, the lineage can be traced pretty clearly. Vocalist (and guitarist) Jonathan Hébert is the biggest surprise in the lineup, considering that he wasn't part of any other band I'm familiar with, and yet his corrosive voice is the vocal equivalent of broken glass shards, making Come To Grief sound a bit more in line with the newer sludge that Grief has influenced. And the vocals are not the only part that feels like old sludge rejuvenated by a feedback loop, with a lot of the slower tones finding a balance between crushing and groovy.

I can't necessarily find any drawbacks that I wouldn't raise to the entirety of the sludge genre, since this is pretty meat-and-potatoes, even with all its grooves and pace changes from slow to very slow. But as far as this sound is concerned, it found such a neat balance of old and new, amped up by Kurt Ballou's production and Jacob Bannon's guest vocal spots, condensing all the anger and misery in nearly 40 minutes.






Written on 28.05.2022 by Doesn't matter that much to me if you agree with me, as long as you checked the album out.


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 76 users
29.05.2022 - 15:03
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Interesting review, will check it out when returning to civilization
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
30.05.2022 - 18:11
Rating: 8
F3ynman2000
Nocturnal Bro
I wouldn't have thought this was sludge. More like a mix between doom and blackened death.

But, after all, I'm very new to sludge. I guess I need to check out those other bands you mentioned, because this impressed me!
Loading...
30.05.2022 - 18:35
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by F3ynman2000 on 30.05.2022 at 18:11

I wouldn't have thought this was sludge. More like a mix between doom and blackened death.

But, after all, I'm very new to sludge. I guess I need to check out those other bands you mentioned, because this impressed me!

This is basically the definition of sludge, but I can see why you would be mistaking it for something else considering how much the sound has been changing since, like if you've listened to post-metal/atmospheric sludge, this would seem pretty far from it. I do recommend listening to Down's NOLA, Acid Bath's When The Kite String Pops, Melvins' Houdini, Eyehategod's Dopesick, Crowbar's Odd Fellows Rest, and the original Grief's Come To Grief.
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?
Loading...
30.05.2022 - 18:39
Rating: 8
F3ynman2000
Nocturnal Bro
Written by RaduP on 30.05.2022 at 18:35

[ if you've listened to post-metal/atmospheric sludge, this would seem pretty far from it.

Yeah that's exactly where I was coming from (Mastodon, Neurosis)
Written by RaduP on 30.05.2022 at 18:35

I do recommend listening to Down's NOLA, Acid Bath's When The Kite String Pops, Melvins' Houdini, Eyehategod's Dopesick, Crowbar's Odd Fellows Rest, and the original Grief's Come To Grief.

Great! Will do!
Loading...
30.05.2022 - 18:47
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by F3ynman2000 on 30.05.2022 at 18:39

Written by RaduP on 30.05.2022 at 18:35

[ if you've listened to post-metal/atmospheric sludge, this would seem pretty far from it.

Yeah that's exactly where I was coming from (Mastodon, Neurosis)

Both great bands that I honestly like more than most sludge.
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?
Loading...
30.05.2022 - 19:33
Cynic Metalhead
Nasha Vich Paisa
Written by RaduP on 30.05.2022 at 18:35

Written by F3ynman2000 on 30.05.2022 at 18:11

I wouldn't have thought this was sludge. More like a mix between doom and blackened death.

But, after all, I'm very new to sludge. I guess I need to check out those other bands you mentioned, because this impressed me!

I do recommend listening to Down's NOLA, Acid Bath's When The Kite String Pops, Melvins' Houdini, Eyehategod's Dopesick, Crowbar's Odd Fellows Rest, and the original Grief's Come To Grief.


Wait, look at those references. Will check out it now.
Loading...
31.05.2022 - 11:09
Rating: 6
musclassia

Written by F3ynman2000 on 30.05.2022 at 18:39

Written by RaduP on 30.05.2022 at 18:35

I do recommend listening to Down's NOLA, Acid Bath's When The Kite String Pops, Melvins' Houdini, Eyehategod's Dopesick, Crowbar's Odd Fellows Rest, and the original Grief's Come To Grief.

Great! Will do!


Just to add onto this as you're getting acquainted to sludge, a few of those bands are quite abrasive, so for some more accessible sludge albums that aren't post-metal, I could also recommend Baroness - Blue Record, Kylesa - Spiral Shadow, Intronaut - Valley Of Smoke, SubRosa - More Constant Than The Gods and Kongh - Sole Creation. Those records, along with Radu's recs, will help show how broad the sludge umbrella can be; Come To Grief are definitely on nastier, and tbh purer, end of the spectrum
Loading...
31.05.2022 - 11:56
Rating: 8
F3ynman2000
Nocturnal Bro
Written by musclassia on 31.05.2022 at 11:09

for some more accessible sludge albums that aren't post-metal, I could also recommend Baroness - Blue Record, Kylesa - Spiral Shadow, Intronaut - Valley Of Smoke, SubRosa - More Constant Than The Gods and Kongh - Sole Creation.

Wow thank you so much for all the recommendations! Can't wait to explore those!
Loading...

Hits total: 904 | This month: 2